Watters wants mid-season draft

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/more-ne ... 6364975452

ST KILDA coach Scott Watters has called for a mid-season draft as he works to overcome a desperate shortage of ruckmen.

Reeling from the loss of No.1 ruck Ben McEvoy, the Saints have lost their best back-up man Rhys Stanley for an extended period.

Given the club started the season light on for genuine ruck options, Watters will on Saturday be forced to use 189cm defender Jason Blake and 197cm forward Justin Koschitzke at centre bounces against Sydney.

"I think a mid-season draft would provide all clubs with the flexibility to make some changes," Watters told the Herald Sun last night.

Re: Watters wants mid-season draft

Link for those that don't want or have the digital pass...
http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/afl ... 6364975452

My question would be ,
Did he raise the issue or
Was it presented by a journo

What could be an even better idea is, draft for flexibility BEFORE the season.

Reactive by the St Kilda FC....Get it right before the season starts even if you get a spud that can at least compete in the ruck.

Old Mate wrote:Reactive by the St Kilda FC....Get it right before the season starts even if you get a spud that can at least compete in the ruck.
I agree

Old Mate wrote:Reactive by the St Kilda FC....Get it right before the season starts even if you get a spud that can at least compete in the ruck.
I agree
Yes true but what's wrong with a mid season draft?

What about other teams with heaps of injuries?

We don't have many injured - just so happens to be 2 rucks and our CHB.

Fair call by Watters.

But if you have a mid season draft, in order to keep TPP under check how would it work?

Maybe you'd have to have less on your list at the start of the season and top it up mid season.

I love the idea. Would especially give some hope/light at the end of the tunnel to struggling clubs, which may be us in a few years!

bigcarl wrote:http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/more-ne ... 6364975452

ST KILDA coach Scott Watters has called for a mid-season draft as he works to overcome a desperate shortage of ruckmen.

Reeling from the loss of No.1 ruck Ben McEvoy, the Saints have lost their best back-up man Rhys Stanley for an extended period.

Given the club started the season light on for genuine ruck options, Watters will on Saturday be forced to use 189cm defender Jason Blake and 197cm forward Justin Koschitzke at centre bounces against Sydney.

"I think a mid-season draft would provide all clubs with the flexibility to make some changes," Watters told the Herald Sun last night.
May be he and Plechen better have a look at their List Management team and how the go about there business? Blind freddy could see this (ruckman) and our lack of height in defence as a huge hole in our list. Myself and I am sure a number of other people emailed and highlighted this an issues with the Footabll Dept last year - but they didn't even bother to respond and they are on good money to do what?

A mid season draft/trading period would work IMHO.

Give clubs, say, 1 week to trade and have a small 2 round draft at the end of the week.

I do however agree with the posts that state we should have addressed this issue BEFORE the season

Terrible, terrible list management has left us in this position.
Several people on this forum (yes including me) identified the need to draft another ruckman as a priority but Watters, Pelchen, Bains etc. have stuffed up the season by ignoring this obvious need.
We are not talking hindsight here, the need was glaringly obvious.

Very disappointed and just hope that poor old Blake can put his body and heart on the line one more time.

Injuries are part of footy

List management is why we pay these people large sums

Why tamper with that cause we are a ruck an or 3 down??

I'm a big fan of the recruiting in the last 2 years, but...

Beau Wilkes was recruited because we needed a back man, yet it was clear before he even came that he's far better as a forward.

Lever was recruited to be a ruckman, yet apparently ruck is not his best position, he's far better as a defender. He's young and everything though, so I suppose they've got time to 'reprogram' him.

I get nervous when players are played out of position. How about we get players who's best positions are the ones we need to find players for?

Austinnn wrote: Lever was recruited to be a ruckman, yet apparently ruck is not his best position, he's far better as a defender. He's young and everything though, so I suppose they've got time to 'reprogram' him.
Do we know that he was actually drafted to be a ruckman, or are we just making an assumption based on his height?

How about some list management....

Almost a laughable suggestion after the fact, makes us sound like whining amateurs.....

It was a live and hope list......

Hope we don't lose two rucks or two key defenders.....actually, we don't even have a key defender???

We also have two 30yo talls in the side

How many talls did we draft?? One who looks like a guy too skinny for basketball....

FFS
SACK EVERYBODY !!!!!!

mr six o'clock wrote:FFS
SACK EVERYBODY !!!!!!

"Yay!........ Go Sainters!"

Why would that help

Watters seems a good coach.

They made a big mistake on one list decision....Scott has admitted this

Triple M's Hot Breakfast With Eddie McGuire - 24th May
1) Kim Crow Interview
2) Harden Up
3) Harden Up Callers
4) Mikileaks
5) St Kilda Coach Scott Watters
6) Fire Drill
http://austereo.castmetrix.net/podcast/ ... 4thMay.mp3

Scott interview in Isolation is Up on saints.com.au
http://www.saints.com.au/radio%20interv ... fault.aspx

no

sax

I think a mid season draft is a great idea, as long as it only involves previously listed AFL players or mature aged rookies.
It would be great to have a 3 or 4 day trade period (no delistings), so it would depend on long term injuries or mid season retirements. Teams could trade there mid season draft picks to other clubs for unwanted players.
It's almost like the NBA & Soccer do. Besides, it is now proffessional.
Each team could have a max 2 picks each, order on current ladder position.
If every team was to have the same weekend off, they could re introduce State of Origin on that weekend!

Foundation Social Club Member No. 296

How would a mid season draft help right now??

By the time we picked up another Ruckman or defender Macca and Stanley or Gwilt and Fisher wil be back!,,

Sorry but we had our chance to compile a list in November, didn't get it right, therefore suffer the consequences

WinnersOnly wrote:
bigcarl wrote:http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/more-ne ... 6364975452

May be he and Plechen better have a look at their List Management team and how the go about there business? Blind freddy could see this (ruckman) and our lack of height in defence as a huge hole in our list. Myself and I am sure a number of other people emailed and highlighted this an issues with the Footabll Dept last year - but they didn't even bother to respond and they are on good money to do what?
This is hysterical, so the club should respond to every crackpot that emails them with list management ideas!!! Love to know how you would know more that guys like pelchen, Watters and our other list managers

The fat Cypriot dismissed the mid season draft with no reason given. Typical response.

What do you expect from the fat can't?

wally

which ruckman would we pick up? Many on here critised Pattinson being on the list.I think if Renouf would be worth looking at last year plus zac leaving so late caught us unprepared.