Jack Newnes

Jack Newnes

Gee, I really like this kid. Fast-paced, high pressure game and he looked very composed. Mark him down for a 200 game player. Would like to see him pushed up to the wing at some point to see what he can do creatively, moving the ball into the forward line. I know all the excitement has been directed toward Siposs, but in my mind Newnes is just as impressive, if not more so.

Things looked very grim in relation to youngsters on our list 18 months ago. At least the club is starting to make up for five years of recruiting mediocrity.

Leo.J

Re: Jack Newnes

He made some errors early on but finished well.

The pressure of the game and the crowd size will do well for his development.

Rabbit in headlights, and just buffeted of the ball.... But kept at it and gave signs that he is gonna be a player

hungry for a premiership

I thought last night was an improvement on his first couple of games, but still not up to afl standard - unclean disposal, lack of composure and awareness, lots of errors, no real impact.

He may well turn out to be a ripper but personally I haven't seen anything convincing yet, unlike Saad, Milera, Simpkin, Siposs, Cripps, Ledger, Stanley who have made similar errors but who have also done other things that have been very, very convincing indeed....

I await for Newnes to do something "special" on the footy field....

"Too big, too strong, too whatever."

hungry for a premiership wrote:I thought last night was an improvement on his first couple of games, but still not up to afl standard - unclean disposal, lack of composure and awareness, lots of errors, no real impact.

He may well turn out to be a ripper but personally I haven't seen anything convincing yet, unlike Saad, Milera, Simpkin, Siposs, Cripps, Ledger, Stanley who have made similar errors but who have also done other things that have been very, very convincing indeed....

How did his opponent go? Not every player has to be special. Dont reckon Bakes was special when he first started. He played in the back pocket. Pretty hard to be special there. I thought he was ok.

Freebird

He appears to not have clean hands...perhaps it was nerves/big occassion/inexperience..as i do not get to any sandy games i can only assume this from saint games.

Rabbit in the headlights??? Surely, you must be kidding. This kid will be a REALLY GOOD PLAYER for us.

cross2012

cwrcyn wrote:Gee, I really like this kid. Fast-paced, high pressure game and he looked very composed. Mark him down for a 200 game player. Would like to see him pushed up to the wing at some point to see what he can do creatively, moving the ball into the forward line. I know all the excitement has been directed toward Siposs, but in my mind Newnes is just as impressive, if not more so.

Things looked very grim in relation to youngsters on our list 18 months ago. At least the club is starting to make up for five years of recruiting mediocrity.

Agree he looks like he's got it
Disagree he looked composed last night

Playing the kids like Newnes, Simkin, Siposs will come with some short term pain but long term gain.

If the season gets away from us later in the year, i hope we put more minutes into this group

hungry for a premiership

hungry for a premiership wrote:I thought last night was an improvement on his first couple of games, but still not up to afl standard - unclean disposal, lack of composure and awareness, lots of errors, no real impact.

How did his opponent go? Not every player has to be special. Dont reckon Bakes was special when he first started. He played in the back pocket. Pretty hard to be special there. I thought he was ok.

You can do something special from any position. There would have been moments early in Bakes career where he did something "special", i.e a tackle, an act where he really impacted a game, glimpses of the player he would be.

I'm not writing newnes off, but I'm not ready to mark him down as a 200 game player either... still a loooooooooooong way to go....

"Too big, too strong, too whatever."

Spped and intensity early saw him Sh*t himself a few times early, however will beenfit greatly from this and a OK second half showed this.
Perhaps being groomed to stay int he team when Fish back.

kaos theory

How old is this kid?

How many afl games has he played?

Given that, I think there are a lot of positives...

older saint wrote:Spped and intensity early saw him Sh*t himself a few times early, however will beenfit greatly from this and a OK second half showed this.
Perhaps being groomed to stay int he team when Fish back.
certainly did not sh*t himself

just a young player playing his fourth game after a being out of the side

adjusted well in 2nd half

certainly b bit to work with

hungry for a premiership wrote:You can do something special from any position. There would have been moments early in Bakes career where he did something "special", i.e a tackle, an act where he really impacted a game, glimpses of the player he would be.

I'm not writing newnes off, but I'm not ready to mark him down as a 200 game player either... still a loooooooooooong way to go....

something like 2% of players play 200 senior games so you are really going out on a limb there.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Thought the boy was good under real pressure. Just watched the replay again, he was very good in tight and looks like he will be a ripper.

trojansaint

83% disposal efficiency from 18 touches aint half bad (though granted a few of them were 2m handpasses). A bit intimidated? Yes. Composed? Moreso than others. Gonna be a very good player imo.

Can someone please explain to me what his position/job was last night?

If it was to man up against Shane Edwards/Jake King then geez he did not do that too well.

Coupled with 3 handball clangers in the first half alone...

I am all for new players coming in rah rah rah however (to me) he has done nothing in the 4 games he has played.

he made a couple of mistake but the important thing was he bounced back up, regained composure and attacked the ball to make up for his mistake. he's a first year player playing semi regular football at the highest level. he's going to make mistakes, the important thing is he's learning from them.

agree with everyone, he'll be a 200 game player

BigMart wrote:Rabbit in headlights, and just buffeted of the ball.... But kept at it and gave signs that he is gonna be a player
I think he did a little bit better than you.

Your "boy" Siposs played well.

The Redeemer wrote:Can someone please explain to me what his position/job was last night?

If it was to man up against Shane Edwards/Jake King then geez he did not do that too well.

I am all for new players coming in rah rah rah however (to me) he has done nothing in the 4 games he has played.

Agree, but he did better than Jamie Cripps at manning up (twenty metres behind his opponent). And yes, since his only thought when he got the ball was to handball it to someone else, he had some woeful clangers. His was unable to win a contest all night, but at least he looks like a footballer. We do seem to specialise in getting players who have no leap in their legs. Luke Ball is the last smallish player that we got who was able to jump off the ground.

perfectionist wrote:
The Redeemer wrote:Can someone please explain to me what his position/job was last night?

Agree, but he did better than Jamie Cripps at manning up (twenty metres behind his opponent). And yes, since his only thought when he got the ball was to handball it to someone else, he had some woeful clangers. His was unable to win a contest all night, but at least he looks like a footballer. We do seem to specialise in getting players who have no leap in their legs. Luke Ball is the last smallish player that we got who was able to jump off the ground.
I guess my point is what does he bring to the side at the moment?

If he brings nothing tangible well then he should make way.

I thought there was much improvement over the four quarters. He was very solid in the end, good leg too.

He did play better than me, and better than you....WTF are you talking about??

And yes, Siposs played nicely....in the time he was on.... Point??

Newnes is a first year player and has been used in a role that is super hard to play and was good early on but looked overwhelmed when one out too many times last night. I'm very confident of him being a very good long term player I just think he didn't look like he was ever on the front foot yesterday. Saad and Milera are probably 5 years older and the rest have all had an extra year of development at least.

level headed young man

interview post game
http://www.saints.com.au/video%20%20aud ... fault.aspx

Did ok wont be saying he 200 gamer just yet...