God Saad's goal routine annoys me

I cant stand it. It frustrates me like no other routine I have ever witnessed. Worse than Lloyd's.

The thing is I hope it continues to annoy and frustrate me about 6-8 times a game.

Why so many walking steps? He only needs to take 5 or so as he runs two steps before kicking it.

A bit like Lyon being coach. Frustrated by execution, loved the results. :D

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
always_a_saint

Re: God Saad's goal routine annoys me

It's hilarious!! I laugh every time he does it. Especially when the opposition player on the mark is looking at him like 'is this for real??'

Best thing about it is he rarely misses!

will always be a saint...no matter what.

bring home that premiership boys
Kate

I couldn't care if it started with a hand-stand and finished with a forward-roll, as long as that ball keeps on sailing though the big sticks.

avid

I love it!

Something unique like that is something important for the game.
I love him being ours.

Love it as well.

His taught all the million dollar players a technique on how to kick a goal.

joffaboy wrote:I cant stand it. It frustrates me like no other routine I have ever witnessed. Worse than Lloyd's.

The thing is I hope it continues to annoy and frustrate me about 6-8 times a game.

Why so many walking steps? He only needs to take 5 or so as he runs two steps before kicking it.

A bit like Lyon being coach. Frustrated by execution, loved the results. :D
its great and he 90% in kicking them so i say keep going Saad!

I would like to see Roo employ this technique. It's not too late in his career, it would show that he's still learning and it would improve his game.

I like it,him and JK's from the eagles,comical,but both excellent set shots.

You could picture the old days of 'fast forward' doing a skit on Saad's technique, the walk would go for about 57 kms, they'd keep cutting to it right throughout the 1 hour show

Watching him on replay and yes it is annoying, but it would be annoying to opposition supporters, but I love his accuarcy

It's better than Josh Kennedy's of WC. The bloke looks like he's having an epileptic fit.

It's hilarious to watch.
But I'd like to see the whole team adopt that style.
(and the % success rate)

Playon

I love it even more now that the afl tried to change the rule so he couldn't do it any more.
Perhaps when you see someone carrying something down the street you can think of Saad

Old Mate wrote:It's better than Josh Kennedy's of WC. The bloke looks like he's having an epileptic fit.
players should throw their washing at him then....sorry.

Listening to SEN during the game yesterday, they described his set shots as "Pushing the Pram" which I thought was a very apt description and also hillarious.

He's a dead-eye-dick. He's the AFLs version of Hazem El Masri.

Hazem was an NRL player who played for Canterbury and was their goal kicker. He had a very distinct and deliberate preparation and never missed. Oh and he just happens to hold the record for most points kicked in the history of the game. Let’s hope SAAD can emulate his feats.

like it,got time to go to fridge,get another beer and not miss any action

St Lenny

Personally I love it. He is Milney's apprentice and I love both of them.

Three things I note about his kicking for goal. First, most of his run up, or walk up, is spent looking at the goals, helping in the "visualisation phase". This is a big positive. There are some players who never look at the goals at all, and miss, eventhough they kick the ball in exactly the direction that they aimed it - to miss. Second, his limited run (and lack of forward momentum) to kick (about three steps) results in the ball going much higher than the kicks of most other players. This may be a problem in windy grounds, especially for angle shots. Third (not unconnected to point two) he kicks with a bent knee, which is not the text book approach. Tony Lockett (70% eff) always had a straight leg, although Matthew Lloyd (69% eff) always had a bent knee. As an aside, it appears that even if he is in the best position possible (like twenty out directly in front), he is never going to get a hand-pass from Terry Milera.

perfectionist wrote:Tony Lockett (70% eff)
Closer to 75%, I think, when kicking for goal.

avid wrote:Something unique like that is something important for the game.
Yep, with so many robots out there, it's good to see a homemade technique flourishing. Ironically, he looks a bit like a robot when performing his comical routine.

oh when the

his arms do not move when dropping ball on to foot unlike
most players who wobble their arms while kicking

i don't read his posts...and care even less for his views....but the headline itself is enough to give me the irrits... happys routine works...leave the boy alone ffs... :roll: :roll: :roll:

ps...i actually love his routine...it gives the opposition the sh!ts... :twisted:

stinger wrote:i don't read his posts...and care even less for his views....but the headline itself is enough to give me the irrits... happy's routine works...leave the boy alone ffs... :roll: :roll: :roll:

ps...i actually love his routine...it gives the opposition the sh!ts... :twisted:

You dont read them? Really who would have known. I think even the queen has heard you dont read them as you tell us so often. The funny thing is i reckon you do occasionly have a quick look.

Siposstar#2

A perfect routine as he goes back far enough so that he is walking straight towards the goals. As he walks in his body is ready for the kick. Ball pointing straight down.(to many players spin the ball in their hand as they kick it)
He continually checks his body is facing straight at his target takes his few faster steps, looks down at his boot/footy brings his arm up dead straight and kicks through the footy with his leg and boot following straight through towards his target and the way he's been walking. This allows the ball to go dead straight!!
The reason he gets a bit to much air sometimes is because he leans back a tad to much on his run up. Similar to a golf swing.
Lean over the ball get perfect angle. Lean back get to much air.

Formerly posted as magnifisaint 35

Siposstar#2 wrote:A perfect routine as he goes back far enough so that he is walking straight towards the goals. As he walks in his body is ready for the kick. Ball pointing straight down.(to many players spin the ball in their hand as they kick it)
He continually checks his body is facing straight at his target takes his few faster steps, looks down at his boot/footy brings his arm up dead straight and kicks through the footy with his leg and boot following straight through towards his target and the way he's been walking. This allows the ball to go dead straight!!
The reason he gets a bit to much air sometimes is because he leans back a tad to much on his run up. Similar to a golf swing.
Lean over the ball get perfect angle. Lean back get to much air.
You guys are probably right about the physical stuff, but I think it's actually more a mental routine.

The problem for a lot of guys is that they overthink it, like in golf or sex or any other physical activity. Focusing too much on what you're doing is actually a bad thing. Your body knows what to do, so you actually need to be able to get your mind out of the way. Saad's long run up strikes me as almost a meditation, a way of removing the focus and putting the body on autopilot.