Saints consider first female president

Re: Saints consider first female president

Cairnsman wrote:Hopefully the board will always have one or more members that have played the game. Having some technical knowledge of the product can be very helpful.

Like Kennet, Eddie, Brayshaw and so on.
No. Not like them. I'm not sure if you know but I don't think they played the game. Maybe they played juniors or something like that. But the more successful boards these days have one or more members that have played the game like Collingwood and the Hawks.

Legendary wrote:
evertonfc wrote:Key tenet of a good president: get the club front and centre in the public and media's view and NOT JUST WHEN THERE'S A SCANDAL.

Otherwise, you're down there with Bulldogs/Melbourne/North, which, it terrifies me to say, is the space we have come to occupy.

How come successive Geelong presidents have never done this?

Club will be in the media big time come the NZ game.

At the moment the AFL love the Saints and what we are doing, they love the way we have embraced NZ, love the talent we have on our board and our new sponsor. Source: member of AFL executive in a conversation in the last fortnight.

Don't need to be a media whore to be a good President.

The AFL may love us but our supporters dont. We would have close the lowest membership of any Victorian club. We need members. How we get them is the hard part. I still think someone out in the peoples eye doesnt hurt.

Legendary wrote:
evertonfc wrote:Key tenet of a good president: get the club front and centre in the public and media's view and NOT JUST WHEN THERE'S A SCANDAL.

Otherwise, you're down there with Bulldogs/Melbourne/North, which, it terrifies me to say, is the space we have come to occupy.

At the moment the AFL love the Saints and what we are doing, they love the way we have embraced NZ, love the talent we have on our board and our new sponsor. Source: member of AFL executive in a conversation in the last fortnight.

The AFL may love us but our supporters dont. We would have close the lowest membership of any Victorian club. We need members. How we get them is the hard part. I still think someone out in the peoples eye doesnt hurt.
Having a media savvy president though is not necessary for developing your clubs profile. Eddie, Kennet and Brayshaw have a profile all on their own so that works/worked for those individuals and their clubs in a complimentry way. In the case of the Pies and Hawks it just augments their existing marketability. The boards sole objective is corporate governance and executive management.

Batnoe wrote:was girlfriends with Deborah Hutton
That seals it. The perfect politically correct appointment. Female and gay! A PC marketer's dream. Anyone know how she's actually performed ?

White Winmar wrote:
That seals it. The perfect politically correct appointment. Female and gay! A PC marketer's dream. Anyone know how she's actually performed ?

I just gave Hutton a call and she told me she was very good.

Legendary wrote:

sam barracks for the saints...was it she that you were chatting to...?????

oops...you said executive ...not commission...take it back then....

White Winmar wrote:
the two of them used to live in tassie together, but that was 5 or 6 years ago....

falka

White Winmar wrote:

Gold!!

Cairnsman wrote:Hopefully the board will always have one or more members that have played the game. Having some technical knowledge of the product can be very helpful.

hahaha. I just had a mental image of Kennet trying to kick a footy. In my mind it looked like that time John Howard bowled that infamous cricket ball but worse.

I think the main thing for me from the article- is we have a pretty bloody high quality Board atm. So the contenders all look pretty decent.

What are the big issues for the club? Membership and Sponsorships IMHO. So someone who can help on that front would be a bonus.

Cairnsman wrote:

No. Not like them. I'm not sure if you know but I don't think they played the game. Maybe they played juniors or something like that. But the more successful boards these days have one or more members that have played the game like Collingwood and the Hawks.
Yes but clearly you dont have to have played the game to be the President of Premiership Club.
Jack Rush would be cool though.

:shock:

Didn't know this. Hutton is very beautiful!

kimberly saint

Cairnsman wrote:Ohhh Geee! Here we go. You give em an inch and they think they are rulers.

I only talk tough when my wife isn't around

You might only give them an inch Cairnsman :D

(Apologies to SainterK, PeytonPlace, bratty, and the other female posters here for that flagrantly sexist joke)

:lol: :lol: :lol: needed a laugh today

White Winmar wrote:

That is Gold :lol:

Moorabbin Man

At this point in time we need a bold (ala Butters) or high profile President to create excitement around the place and draw good players and sponsors. Look at the job Koch has done at Port Adelaide (their membership this year is higher than ours!!!). I wonder if anyone has had the foresight to tap Shane Warne on the shoulder?

Moorabbin Man wrote:At this point in time we need a bold (ala Butters) or high profile President to create excitement around the place and draw good players and sponsors. Look at the job Koch has done at Port Adelaide (their membership this year is higher than ours!!!). I wonder if anyone has had the foresight to tap Shane Warne on the shoulder?
+1000.

Warne...

Hmm.

Would be high profile, but not sure if he'd be any good.

Eric Bana?

We could only hope.

SainterK wrote:Warne...

Hmm.

Eric Bana?

We could only hope.
Michael Klim?

Moorabbin Man

SainterK wrote:Warne...

Hmm.

Eric Bana?

We could only hope.
How would Warne be less capable than Eddie? Remember its the Presidency not CEO.

Well for a start he complained a lot about 'Saints Footy' and wasn't even a member at the time.

I always had him pegged as quite an emotive guy, so I guess he'd be passionate, just worried he'd be the kind of pres that makes the papers for the wrong reasons.

SainterK wrote:Well for a start he complained a lot about 'Saints Footy' and wasn't even a member at the time.

I always had him pegged as quite an emotive guy, so I guess he'd be passionate, just worried he'd be the kind of pres that makes the papers for the wrong reasons.
Surely not, the guy is squeeky.

Megamaguire

Just hope St.Kilda Football Club are on the brink of landing the best president in the club's history.

Keep the recruiting standard high and do the homework and get the best PERSON possible for this important job.

G O S A I N T S !

The boy can play and we can build a defence around him that will have respect.

having seen his campaign poster, can I be the first to "Vote 1, Shane Warne"....

Moorabbin Man

Old Mate wrote:Surely a piss take? I reckon she'd be there for a bit of arse around the office and to make the boys sandwiches!
:D :D :D :D :D :D

Moorabbin Man wrote:
Old Mate wrote:Surely a piss take? I reckon she'd be there for a bit of arse around the office and to make the boys sandwiches!
:D :D :D :D :D :D
you two are game... :wink: