Saints vs North - Match Thread

Re: Saints vs North - Match Thread

Devilhead wrote:Milneys been our best player I reckon
I think he leads our center clearances, from the forward pocket

paddy

Hughjarce wrote:The biggest problem with some of our supporters is that they had unrealistic expectations where we will finish this year. With an ageing list combined with inadequate recruiting over the past 6 or so years we must rebuild and persist with our young players. Remember what 1999 to 2002 was like?

no supporter should ever expect zero effort
Last edited by paddy on Sun 02 Jun 2013 6:43pm, edited 1 time in total.

mad saint guy wrote:Ferguson is nowhere near the level. Embarrassingly slow when he gets the ball

Lets pick him out. how is the AA Sam Fisher going? People blem the backline when heaps of goals are kicked. Look where it starts and thats in the middle.

paddy wrote:
Hughjarce wrote:The biggest problem with some of our supporters is that they had unrealistic expectations where we will finish this year. With an ageing list combined with inadequate recruiting over the past 6 or so years we must rebuild and persist with our young players. Remember what 1999 to 2002 was like?

no supporter should ever expect zero effort
exactly we have the right to expect effort. This is appalling.

Roo two
but he held the ball up there for an easy punch - its all about me hey Nic?

Hughjarce

Greg T wrote:
Maybe, but surely we are not this bad ,this quick.....
The decline can happen very quickly. What happened after 1997? it was a pretty rapid decline (retirements of some champions, loss of form for our good ordinary players, average recruitment, etc)

To accomplish great things we must not only act but also dream, not only plan but also believe.

Greg T wrote:

Said that last week. There is issues at the club IMO.
Yes, we aren't as good as we were, but the on-field structure and match-ups don't look right to me. Morale is also clearly pretty bad One would surmise that there is more than one hand on the tiller in the football department, and that the hands aren't pushing in the same direction.

mad saint guy wrote:Ferguson is nowhere near the level. Embarrassingly slow when he gets the ball

Lets pick him out. how is the AA Sam Fisher going? People blem the backline when heaps of goals are kicked. Look where it starts and thats in the middle.
If Sam Fisher is even 60% fit, I'd be very surprised.

we just strung five possessions together - result - goal
yeah geary

meher baba wrote:

If Sam Fisher is even 60% fit, I'd be very surprised.

maybe Caroline Wilson wasn't making it all up!

It won't be easy but I'm going to force myself to watch the rest of this game. See if there is something there for the future.

Hughjarce

We will not get consistency out of our young players. Some weeks they will look great and other weeks out of their league. At least well will eventually get improvement out of them. Our older players (with the exception of Roo) will not get any better, in fact they are getting worse!!.

Relax this will be a tough year but at least our expectations will be reset for FY14.

To accomplish great things we must not only act but also dream, not only plan but also believe.

Bring on Webster. Anyone that runs And takes on the game needs to be on the field.

bigcarl wrote:It won't be easy but I'm going to force myself to watch the rest of this game. See if there is something there for the future.
Brave man big carl

were the issues there before the carlton, Crows, bulldogs, games or just suddenly this week?

Hughjarce

bigcarl wrote:It won't be easy but I'm going to force myself to watch the rest of this game. See if there is something there for the future.
Absolutely agree. It might be hard to take right now but that's exactly what I am going to do. Their is always hope for the future!!!

More baffling to have a defensive player as our sub.

2nd half cant be as bad as the first.........................can it ?

sasaint

Both correct. Ferguson is looking like the next Raph Clarke. And our weakest area is clearly midfield. Bring in Curren for a run.

Patience young grasshopper
Hughjarce

sasaint wrote:

Both correct. Ferguson is looking like the next Raph Clarke. And our weakest area is clearly midfield. Bring in Curren for a run.
To be honest we are weak on every line.

Greg T wrote:

In your opinion were there issues at the club when we beat Carlton 3 weeks ago??

sasaint wrote:

At least you gave him a half of footy. Seriously some of you guys better be under the age of 20 because you just have no idea of the pain we are going to go through in the next 5 years.

plugger66 wrote:There is issues at the club IMO.
What issues, Plugger? Players not playing for the coach? Fitness? Attitude? Can you be a bit more specific?

whiskers3614 wrote: maybe Caroline Wilson wasn't making it all up!
Caroline was spot on - but you cant say that here

What an undisciplined rabble, did Watters throw away the book on defensive coaching(or coaching in general)? Probably the worst midfield effort I have seen in 20 years from us, and I've seen some bad ones.