Milne, Saad or Milera

Re: Milne, Saad or Milera

BadRossco wrote:I agree that Curren deserves a go , problem is that he is a rookie and will need to promoted onto the playing list, the same applies to Shenton and Minchington. Dunell was the only promotion as far as I know.
Markworth can go onto the LTI list, freeing up a spot for a temporary promotion onto the main list if they so choose.

plugger66 wrote:3 isnt working and will probably never work. People have said Milney goes because of age but Saad and Milera arent young and arent improving. Maybe we get rid of both of them this week and look at other options. When Milne does retire Im not expecting anything much from either of those 2. If Michington wasnt injured he may have been worth a look at. Start Siposs forward with Milne ad bring in Curren. Got to look at him otherwise he may as well walk now.
Sounds good to me. 3 is too many and you can't afford to carry players who are one dimensional or cannot lay a tackle. If Saad is going to make a career out of playing ALF footy he needs to build a tank and rotate through the middle. Millera is a real worry.

We all know that Armo, Steven, Joey and Dal are very capable up forward and they should be rotating with Milne, Saad or Milera if we are going to run out games.

Milney added value to the team since he started helping the midfield (circa 2009) and I think that's one of the reasons he was able to take his game to another level. He improved his fitness, he learnt to think about dishing it off in heavy traffic and that in turn helped his game down forward

this thread proves that we have some totally out of touch supporters and frankly some of you people give me the sh its .
no respect or fair dinkum football knowledge.
any wonder why I rarely post on here these days

Milne has certainly silenced his critics.

Can only go on form - Milne and TDL in Saad out , Milera out until either can get 16 pressure acts in a game

Form...????? this my argument, Milne has always been selectable against most for years, I was told I was idol worshipping...seriously I'm a bit embarrassed for some of my so called fellow Saint supporters, I"m hoping the majority aren't on SS

Silenced his critics

On one game??

Over his career he has, but right now, he'd be sitting 15-20th in the B&F and has had a very average season... Tonight he played well, a standard expected more consistently of a player of his calibre...

If TDL somehow works his way to be ahead of Milera and Saad over a prolonged period of time then we should delist the three of them.

battye wrote:Milne has certainly silenced his critics.
It's round 11… half-way through the year, gee I hope he has one more ripper in him before round 23.

I rest my case

morons

Milne will retire, eventually. i'd dump Saad, Milera and Dennis down the lane and find a good one to replace the tip rat...when he goes.

Saad got 7 possies and a goal and should be an automatic
Inclusion next round.

Saad was a liability and did basically nothing but take away a midfield rotation. TDL was somewhat better as he took a few grabs around the ground but missed two very easy shots on goal and his tackling/pressure is a joke.

I believe one specialist small forward is all you can have in a balanced team and that should be Milne.

mad saint guy wrote:Saad was a liability and did basically nothing but take away a midfield rotation. TDL was somewhat better as he took a few grabs around the ground but missed two very easy shots on goal and his tackling/pressure is a joke.

I believe one specialist small forward is all you can have in a balanced team and that should be Milne.
I think I agree. Milne is still the best of them, and apart from that - Saad, Milera, TDL - I'm not convinced that a couple of mids resting down there would do much worse. The ideal of course would be Schneider fit and in form, but that seems increasingly unlikely.

Thought Dennis Lane was handy... But still not enough imo

Saad is an odd one, but it does seem like he is being carried by the team a bit. Don't know if he has the smarts to be an effective small. He may well be a good player if he was taller and bigger but that is not the case. Don't see him win many 1v1s, doesn't shrug enough tackles and can't take a mark. Although I havnt been impressed by Milera either. TDL was ok today but missed a couple of goals he should have nailed, but will see if he can back it up.

Question, Does a good performance against Melbourne in the next game actually mean anything if we win?

seano1

also a problem for our small forwards is the way the game is played or the game plan ..not sure which yet........they are not always around when the ball is kicked to the tall forward so there is no one crumbing the ball if dropped by the tall..WHERE THE F@#K ARE THEY COACH.

bobmurray wrote:Milne will retire, eventually. i'd dump Saad, Milera and Dennis down the lane and find a good one to replace the tip rat...when he goes.
yeh they just grow on tree's that will be so easy... :roll:

TDL was very good tonight. I'm not sure the TV showed what he does. he was used more like Milera is when he's playing. He gets around the ground and is getting back deep in defence to help out.

I watched him tonight closely and despite the fact Milney nearly kicked our total score he is just a small forward as seems Saad is. Saad wasn't awful just didn't dominate- he was a little unlucky at times losing footing or having the ball knocked out of his hands just as he was about to take off. he is worth persisting with.

gringo wrote:TDL was very good tonight. I'm not sure the TV showed what he does. he was used more like Milera is when he's playing. He gets around the ground and is getting back deep in defence to help out.

I watched him tonight closely and despite the fact Milney nearly kicked our total score he is just a small forward as seems Saad is. Saad wasn't awful just didn't dominate- he was a little unlucky at times losing footing or having the ball knocked out of his hands just as he was about to take off. he is worth persisting with.
Doubt the Horse misses him.. however they are a top team and....we are the saints.. go TDL, we need someone to replace Eddie and McQualter ...maybe you are the one.... :roll:

gringo wrote:TDL was very good tonight. I'm not sure the TV showed what he does. he was used more like Milera is when he's playing. He gets around the ground and is getting back deep in defence to help out.
Liked TDL tonight... would like to see him lead a bit more and demand the ball... but i think he showed a lot tonight and hope can keep it coming.

bobmurray wrote:

Doubt the Horse misses him.. however they are a top team and....we are the saints.. go TDL, we need someone to replace Eddie and McQualter ...maybe you are the one.... :roll:

Have some respect, Mini was given the poison chalice role of the defensive forward and in 2009 did a great job, once they worked him out his effectiveness dropped. Eddy wasn't able to become a star for us but I remember the bloke who played out the GF replay with a broken bone and then got his un ceremonious marching orders despite not being our worst. These guys did more for us than your negative bagging does.

TDL earned his spot through endeavour and didn't disappoint. I love the game of any player who puts in the required effort to help the team and he did that tonight. heaps seem to need a whipping boy and once they decide on who they can't let go. he could kick 10 goals and they see the one that missed.

Statistically Eddy was the worst in both GFs

Ranked at 44 on the ground

realdeal

Milne and Saad just don't complement eachother. TDL has some different qualities at least.. A poor mans Schnieder. Saad is doing not alot. He may work but not until Milne retires.
We can't have them all in the one team, we need that extra midfielder or runner.
Wright for Saad next game..?

TDL has some polish in his movements but lack confidence...