Blakes game

Blakes game

TBH, was waiting for some comments on Blakes game back.

11 6 3 5

while his numbers are not stand out thought he played a serviceable game.

thoughts?

Re: Blakes game

Agree

kp83

Thought he was excellent is a (once again) undermanned backline.

What a great servant of the club he has been - kept rolling out for Sandy in cold, wet, windy conditions each week and was thus ready when called upon in the seniors due to injury. An excellent role model for our kids and we should all try to get along to the remainder of games this year to acknowledge his contribution to the club along with the likes of Kosi and Milney.

Go Saints!

so would u keep him on for 1 more year? as a back up mainly for a another depleted back line?

ShanghaiSaint wrote:so would u keep him on for 1 more year? as a back up mainly for a another depleted back line?

In a word no.

Blake has served his time well. To keep him on, would only keep a young future potential player from being developed. We won't be playing for a final 8 position next year.

Junction Oval wrote:Blake has served his time well. To keep him on, would only keep a young future potential player from being developed. We won't be playing for a final 8 position next year.
i hear u guys but if we fail to get a KB this daft/trade and we have the same issues with Gwilt Fisher again next year it would be nice to have Blake ava...
Last edited by ShanghaiSaint on Sat 10 Aug 2013 12:29pm, edited 1 time in total.

9 one %ers
the most of the side

do not underestimate the efforts of the blake

SW should be made accountable as to why Blake was withheld for so long from playing senior footy. It's a disgrace considering our injuries in the backline for so much of the season.

Junction Oval wrote:Blake has served his time well. To keep him on, would only keep a young future potential player from being developed. We won't be playing for a final 8 position next year.
which one?? :?

magnifisaint wrote:
which one?? :?
exactly, well maybe the Bull would we have him as a CHB? I'm a little confused where to play him atm???

Jason should be at the Club in some capacity next season.
If not as a player (backup) then as a coaching assistant/mentor/developmental guy.

I've had the pleasure of hearing him speak publicly and he shows all the signs of being a good communicator, especially to the younger players.

ShanghaiSaint wrote:
i hear u guys but if we fail to get a KB this daft/trade and we have the same issues with Gwilt Fisher again next year it would be nice to have Blake ava...
I was thinking the exact same thing. I kind of dismissed him this year but handy to have his height, work rate, courage and experience down back esp if it starts to go pear shaped next year. Young defenders need to learn from someone out there. Tough call. Depends who else retires/delisted. But has been a fantastic player for the club.

stjohnc

saintspremiers wrote:SW should be made accountable as to why Blake was withheld for so long from playing senior footy. It's a disgrace considering our injuries in the backline for so much of the season.
fair Dinkum,
If he played Blake then he would have come underfire for not playing young players,
or for playing an plder player who will probably not be at the club next year
SW can not do a thing right according to some.
Some posts are a disgrace

ShanghaiSaint wrote:so would u keep him on for 1 more year? as a back up mainly for a another depleted back line?
No
He is not big enough really for full back and we have plenty of young tallish flankers.

we also will have say 4 good draft picks plus any trades or free agents plus rookie elevations.

so we need to make space

Gave 100% as he allways does.
But his time has come.

Goes out as an enormously respected 200 gamer who got everything out of himself.

Most AFL players become susceptible to Soft Tissue injuries (mainly calf & hammy) after the age of 30. Blake is not any different. When fit next year, we have our share of senior back flankers - Gwilt, Gilbert, Fisher, Dempster. Younger support from Geary, Roberton, Wright, Simpkin.

"Hopefully," we will Trade for a decent Fullback. Blake would only be a "safety plug." We need to be looking further forward than that.

fair replies boys...

I believe Jason is quite happy to retire in three weeks.

Congratulations on a much underrated career!
Always gives 100%, unlike some others.

Blakey was easily one of our best last night right from the first bounce. 100% disposal efficiency and numerous 1% efforts indicate his value. Gave heaps of leadership down back and added much needed height. He did a good job on roughead after half time.

Interesting for me was we all know he has played above his height all of his career but, compared with our other backs last night, he looked a lot taller. That just highlights our lack of defensive manpower.

If we can find a way for him to continue for another season I will be happy. If not, Jason Blake can go out with grace as one of our most underated players and greatest club men of recent decades.

good post Trev i'm just happy he got a brownlow vote after all that service!

Gee I hope he hangs around the club after he retires in any capacity. If you look at the successful clubs, they encourage life time participation in the club culture from their past club champions and clubmen.

Bernard Shakey wrote:I believe Jason is quite happy to retire in three weeks.

Agree, it was like watching games from gone by with Blake in the ruck playing his heart out.

It probably will be his last season but we must recognise his contribution to this club.

Never complain, never explain The Blake.

I've always admired the attitude and character of "Joe" Blake, and agree with all the positive sentiments expressed about him in this thread. AFL clubs only thrive when they have their share of "Jason Blakes" on the roster. Salt of the earth and a good all-round man. Now I've said all that, do I think he should go on? The argument for his experience and guidance is persuasive, but the guy deserves the respect to be allowed to retire with dignity and in front of a full house at the "dome we call home" So my feeling is; give it away this year Jason, and hopefully the club will ensure that you are made a part of the coaching/mentoring team going forward.

Bernard Shakey wrote:I believe Jason is quite happy to retire in three weeks.

Agree

Keep him on until years end

Love the Blake!