What a great day

saintsrus

Re: What a great day

One of the best three times as a saints fan along with th PF win against north in 97 and the game we beat Brisbane with swarters goal

Before Im 85

I can assure you the three boys were totally overwhelmed with the entire Saints family staying behind and joining in their celebrations post game. Congratulations members. The future is good.

tony74 wrote:I can assure you the three boys were totally overwhelmed with the entire Saints family staying behind and joining in their celebrations post game. Congratulations members. The future is good.
No true Saint would have been anywhere else. Feel really sorry for those that were not able to be there - those are the moments that clubs and cultures are built upon. A tribal moment.

Those moments are invaluable to young players, but equally are invaluable to young fans. Moments that make them realise they are part of something that is bigger than themselves.

It is games like yesterday where once again you know that you are part of CLUB, and it is not just an entertainment business.

It was a grand day to be a Saint.

My very young nephew has never seen a saints loss- amazingy in this tough year

and apart from pretending to be an umpire- seems to have picked up the 'hold the ball in the air' action- remains very easy to involve in the game.

I wonder if I can convince them to Live in Victoria. :)

ChelseaGuy wrote:Pretty much lost my voice from the yelling and screaming today. Was a nice send off for the three.
Yep pretty hoarse today too...

Was a bizarre game....more like a party atmosphere than footy....I reckon Ross Lyon got in on the act, just let our forwards go in the last qtr!

howlinwolf

We also had a wonderful day.
Possibly the best way we could end a season such as it was. It felt like an exhibition match or tribute match which i guess it was but didn't seem like a game for premiership points.
I think the three retirees appreciated it. The great thing was they were all one club players !
Afer the game I noticed I had some bruising on my left hand. Got carried away a bit with clapping. The applause could have been cordinated a bit better :-)

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11

tony74 wrote:I can assure you the three boys were totally overwhelmed with the entire Saints family staying behind and joining in their celebrations post game. Congratulations members. The future is good.

out of curiosity- and because I was unable to stay

anyone go to the Victory room

How was it in the Victory room- any chance the audience were quiet during speaches ,,,,,,,..

Blakey was overwhelmed for sure.

He was beaming.

He did a little fist dance after his speech, was classic.

Blakey was overwhelmed for sure.

He was beaming.

He did a little fist dance after his speech, was classic.
I felt that one was directed to Bakes and co who were in that corporate box at the Lockett end,.

I heard Mini say on the radio this arvo that he'd spoken to some of the boys and they rated that as good as a final win.

It was the most emotional I've been at a game since BJ took that mark and kicked that goal.

Days like these remind us why we love the Saints.

jonesy wrote:Must admit,I have been one of the guilty one's who has lost there passion each Saturday for the saints the last year or two...since GF2 basically.
I have found it hard to find any enjoyment, but wasn't going to miss today. Thought it was great,one of the better saints days I can remember for a long long time.

Found myself getting very emotional at the end, brought back memories of how close the older guys got, how so so close. These three have been great stalwarts through that era, and it felt like the end of another chapter today(until Lenny and co go next year)
Ditto.

Great day for the young Saints fans and us oldies too! I took my son along and when Kos picked up his son at the end that's when I felt a lump in my throat and I was reliving 2009 and 2010 all over again

The way Kos, Blake and Milne got involved in the play in the last quarter and kicking sausage rolls and celebrating with their team mates when the game was done and dusted was such a fantastic tribute.

Well done to the club for organising the on field send off at the end. What a wonderful finish to the careers of 3 terrific footballers.

markp wrote:I heard Mini say on the radio this arvo that he'd spoken to some of the boys and they rated that as good as a final win.

It was the most emotional I've been at a game since BJ took that mark and kicked that goal.

Days like these remind us why we love the Saints.

station?

snoopygirl

out of curiosity- and because I was unable to stay

anyone go to the Victory room

How was it in the Victory room- any chance the audience were quiet during speaches ,,,,,,,..

No players were interviewed after the game, but Michael Nettlefold spoke briefly.

I know all our young blokes need games into them ( and the ones that have yet to debut ) but what they witnessed yesterday was invaluable. Many of the young brigade were extremely nervous before yesterday's game, as the build up was immense from within. To see how those three were treated by both club and supporters gives the young ones an indication of what hard work can produce. That game can fast track our new players.

It looked like a great day on from the TV coverage. Almost a festival atmosphere, or a carnival atmosphere. It was awesome to just see the guys enjoying their footy for the first time in... 8 years? I haven't seen that sort of enjoyment since around 2004-05 where the guys were winning and having fun doing it. Remember when players used to spot up Gehrig for fun, to help him get to certain milestones, etc.

It was just great to watch, and I loved seeing Milney kick a few in his final game including one classic crumbers goal :D

An amazing day, I took my son and daughter to experience a special Saints day. I was over whelmed with emotion at times, happiness & sadness. These boys deserved the ultimate glory, I can only imagine what it's going to be like when Lenny, Dal Santo & Roo retire. In a new era of fee agency sending off 1 club players will become fewer by the season but this was important for the new boys playing in our team to understand what it means to be a Saint. We may only have 1 Premership but we are a foundation club littered with great champions & our recent history is greater than most. 4 Grand Finals in 15 odd years & 2 minor premierships & 2 NAB Cup finals is nothing to sneeze at.

Loved it. Just loved it.

Best game since 2010 Prelim.

Winmar

Yesterday was just brilliant. It's a long time since I enjoyed a game quite that much. Winning finals is brilliant, but in terms of individual games leaving you on a high, it was right up there with any I've been to. The last quarter was party time. I got a level 2 seat from the club as a free upgrade and moved behind the goals at the Lockett end for the last quarter. Fantastic.

fugazi wrote:
ChelseaGuy wrote:Pretty much lost my voice from the yelling and screaming today. Was a nice send off for the three.
Yep pretty hoarse today too...
Also just about lost my voice. Yelled all game

I'm also still a bit croaky.

Sat up on the Moorabbin Wing - haven't sat there all year as you usually wind up with a seat right up the back unless you get there early.
But what a great atmosphere as we cheered our lungs out for the boys.

Congrats to all the Moorabbin Wing people.

As I said before, although it was arguably a meaningless match in terms of points, it was one of the most uplifting matches ever.
What a great way to send the boys off.

So glad I made the trip down for it! Was just an unbelievable atmosphere. Standing ovations after Milneys goal was just fantastic! Well done St Kilda and well done to all the fans!

Sock Puppet

True Believer wrote:
No true Saint would have been anywhere else. Feel really sorry for those that were not able to be there - those are the moments that clubs and cultures are built upon. A tribal moment.

Those moments are invaluable to young players, but equally are invaluable to young fans. Moments that make them realise they are part of something that is bigger than themselves.
wrote:
wrote: Image
my care factor
Plus 1 :!:
Plus 1. 8-)

Great day for the club and the supporters. One of the best days I've had at the footy, it was like a party from start to finish. It really did feel like the old Moorabbin days.

Great that the players were up for it too. Steven, Montagna, Dempster, Geary, Ross, Ledger and Curren all had career high disposals. Not to mention the team's record disposal total.

Moorabbin Man

WinnersOnly wrote:
bergsone wrote:TO EVERYONE involved today.......................................Thankyou
Here here what a wonderful send off to 3 champions of our football club !

I think it also showed today that Ross LYON still has a place in his heart for the Saints - so thankyou also Ross !
HERE HERE