Number plate help -66 Mustang

Calais

Number plate help -66 Mustang

Not sure if we have any car nuts on here but for my 21'st Bday I've decided to treat myself and purchase my dream car. A 1966 Ford Mustang fastback.

It's now sitting in my driveway but I need help choosing some custom plates for it. Obviously being a 1966 model, it's got sentimental value to Saints supporters so I wanted to incorporate that into a number plate somehow?

Any ideas ??

Re: Number plate help -66 Mustang

Hit the boundary.

StAng 666

howlinwolf

VERY nice choice in car there Calais !
66 was a great year in more ways than one :-)
How about STK 66 ?
You can try different combos on the Vicroads site to see what's available.
Forget GT 066 as that's mine :-)
Love to hear all about the car. Is it an A code ? GT ? Lefty ?

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11

kosifantutti wrote:Hit the boundary.

seriously who cares about the plates

we want pics and full details of the car including options
8-)

howlinwolf wrote: How about STK 66 ?
I'd be surprised, no, STUNNED, if that was still available :shock:

If you are evil
BLZBUB !
If you are a wit
FWIT66 !
If you want a saints reference
ST K 66 !
OURS66 !
1 PT 66 !
If you want a ford reference then goodluck cos all the good ones went years ago .

The fact that you drive a classic car is in IMHO more than enough to demonstrate your good taste and appreciation of what real motoring is.

No need for a vanity plate... leave those for wanna-be's in their plastic fantastic rice-burner kitsch cars.

One of the old-school styled Vic white on black plates would be a nice touch, and far more dignified.

Enjoy the car. 8-)

PS: I'm with Matt... post us some pics and specs please.
PPS: Calais, looks like you need to change your SS alias...? :wink:

I had a white 66 mustang with red white and black interior but no custom plates when I was a young man. Mine was a dog of a car and cost me a fortune. It spent more time getting fixed than driving.

Megamaguire

S t. K. H W Y 6 6

The boy can play and we can build a defence around him that will have respect.

gringo wrote:I had a white 66 mustang with red white and black interior but no custom plates when I was a young man. Mine was a dog of a car and cost me a fortune. It spent more time getting fixed than driving.
True.

I reckon unless one is mechanically minded, buy a classic that has been restored (and add electronic ignition).

kosifantutti wrote:Hit the boundary.
Good choice.

OK- who else has a '66 classic?? Mine- a '66 21 window deluxe VW microbus! Thus the username.

the invisible and the non existent look very much alike

Dave McNamara wrote:
gringo wrote:I had a white 66 mustang with red white and black interior but no custom plates when I was a young man. Mine was a dog of a car and cost me a fortune. It spent more time getting fixed than driving.
True.

I reckon unless one is mechanically minded, buy a classic that has been restored (and add electronic ignition).

Mine had been "restored" in mexico badly before importing. It had Californian pollution gear which made it stall all the time and had two transmission recos in 2 years. i had a few other classics and always put electronic ignitions in all of them after that. It is def a good idea if you want to drive them like a modern car rather than look at them.

A microbus would be pretty nice. I keep dreaming of getting time to restore a square back type 3 VW from the mid to late 60s- 66 sounds pretty good.

Calais

289 V8 Mustang, Black interior, 2+2 fastback. Semi restored although I prefer to change a few things to my liking before I get it registered,Starting with the brakes, It takes the car about a mile on the pedal before it stops lol.

Thanks All. I've only got one picture on this computer at the moment, I'll upload a few more when the sun is out ( Might be a while )

http://i44.tinypic.com/xoqd1c.jpg

howlinwolf

Looks nice Calais.
From observations looks like it has just had a respray ? No badges/stripes etc.
Looks to be lowered. Any details on that ? Reverse eye leafs ?
Drum brakes on the front ? Is it a C code ?
Red 66 fastback mustang. What's not to like ? :-)

PM me if you want any help. I've had a bit of experience with these old girls.

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11

Calais wrote:289 V8 Mustang, Black interior, 2+2 fastback. Semi restored although I prefer to change a few things to my liking before I get it registered,Starting with the brakes, It takes the car about a mile on the pedal before it stops lol.

Thanks All. I've only got one picture on this computer at the moment, I'll upload a few more when the sun is out ( Might be a while )

http://i44.tinypic.com/xoqd1c.jpg

the good thing about them is you can literally buy everything new and different grades. Mine had kelsey hayes discs and a power booster and were still s*** so I had some Aussie falcon ones put on and they were miles better. mine had a RHD conversion and was really out of whack after that and the camber never adjusted properly and kept scrubbing tyres out.

I had an old valiant that had non power assisted drum brakes and you literally had to use 2 feet to stop it. Now that was bad brakes.

Sweet ride though. Fastbacks look heaps nicer- mine was a hardtop.

THEDOC

felix

WTF WAZITHINKING

STUNG

DUSTY ON ICE

wont be long and youll be able to buy a 2015/16 one

looks ok calais
fastback is the only way to go imo
coupes look average, ive always thought that
get discs all round elec ign just for starters

tbh i wouldnt go the custom plates
over here six digits like ;saints; costs about 200 a year on top of rego
7 digits is about 300 a year on top of rego
complete waste of money imo and money you could spend on the car itself

cars
money sucking pits
im due to nearly spend around 1800 on mine
just for servicing and a few bits and bobs

get it all running schmicko and get out cruising!!!

howlinwolf wrote:VERY nice choice in car there Calais !
66 was a great year in more ways than one :-)
How about STK 66 ?
You can try different combos on the Vicroads site to see what's available.
Forget GT 066 as that's mine :-)
Love to hear all about the car. Is it an A code ? GT ? Lefty ?
Grant Thomas wasn't playing then was he? ;)

I forgot one thing.

Along with the electronic ignition, must have head restraints.

No way I'd be game to drive a car that didn't have those. You do not want whiplash. :(