Delistings???

Re: Delistings???

WinnersOnly wrote:TDL as much as he should go as it was a very poor trade, I imagine he would have been given a 2-3 year contract to cross the SAINTS. If he is to stay he needs to put on 5-8 kilos of muscle over the season. If he becomes a lot stronger he may be able to hold his own in one on one contests more often, as he is not quick enough to be a complete outside player.
He's 25 YO with 4 years in the system so I don't think he will be able to bulk up a lot from here…
I wonder if he has even been pushed - like X Clarke he was allergic to weights as he was concerned it would affect his speed !

Kickit wrote:I'm not that keen on delisting players like Lever, Simpkin, and Staley because they could still turn into something moving forward.
I think a better approach would be to try to trade senior players for draft pick upgrades.
So we keep potential maybe's, trade the proven, and pick up more maybe's?
I don't totally disagree, but they would want to get their new pickups correct.

WinnersOnly wrote:
WinnersOnly wrote:TDL as much as he should go as it was a very poor trade, I imagine he would have been given a 2-3 year contract to cross the SAINTS. If he is to stay he needs to put on 5-8 kilos of muscle over the season. If he becomes a lot stronger he may be able to hold his own in one on one contests more often, as he is not quick enough to be a complete outside player.
He's 25 YO with 4 years in the system so I don't think he will be able to bulk up a lot from here…
I wonder if he has even been pushed - like X Clarke he was allergic to weights as he was concerned it would affect his speed !
TDL is completely useless

AdelSaint

Can someone give me an example of an ex Sydney fringe player that has made it elsewhere???
I can think of plenty in reverse though.
Probably is some I cant think of but does worry me of our chances with TDL.

NextYear

Maybe not 'fringe players' but Schneider and Dempster have gone alright.

AdelSaint

Didn't count those as fringey's, especially as they helped roll us in the 2005 prelim unfortunately :(

Kickit

HitTheBoundary wrote:
Kickit wrote:I'm not that keen on delisting players like Lever, Simpkin, and Staley because they could still turn into something moving forward.
I think a better approach would be to try to trade senior players for draft pick upgrades.
So we keep potential maybe's, trade the proven, and pick up more maybe's?
I don't totally disagree, but they would want to get their new pickups correct.
I was thinking more "trade the soon to retire"

We could trade ( for example ) CJ and our pick in the 30s for a early 30's pick. Then we trade that pick and Sam Fisher for an early 20's pick. :mrgreen:

To be fair, I don't think Sydney have turned too many genuine fringe players into very good players… have they?

Kennedy was too young when he left to make a call really.

Shaw - starting 22 Collingwood

Mattner - starting 22 Adelaide

Mumford - starting 22 geelong

McGlynn - starting 22 Hawthron

Everitt/Morton/Armstrong still struggling

Richards has improved a lot, probably similar amount to Dempster with us though

Walsh is still a big Irish spud.

The Redeemer wrote:
someone who can kick 60 goals in a season at WAFL including i think 5 goals in a grand final against a south freo side chocked with AFL players is not completely useless

TDL is not a small fwd. he plays more like lecras and a marking version of milne

defacto wrote:
The Redeemer wrote:
someone who can kick 60 goals in a season at WAFL including i think 5 goals in a grand final against a south freo side chocked with AFL players is not completely useless

TDL is not a small fwd. he plays more like lecras and a marking version of milne

He isnt good enough. Its that simple. It was a really bad move getting him especially if we have to keep him for another year.

Tdl ain't up to it.
Too skinny and not even that quick.
And his kicking which is meant to be his great strength isn't even that flash.

Moorabbin Man

Con Gorozidis wrote:Outs:
So ok Milne Kosi the Blake and Saad.

Thats 4 outs.

Ins:

I think Curren comes on to the list - then probably two trades and probably we will probably draft 4. So thats 7 ins.

Means 3 have to drop off (or be traded)

Any ideas?

Ferg is probably gone, Simpkin had a shocking year and would be in trouble, Staley and Shenton would be nervous, Lever may be too. Wilkes, Milera and TDL would usually but think all are contract extended or still have a year to run. Jones is still uncontracted.
You'd have to have rocks in your head to let go of Simpkin.

defacto wrote:
The Redeemer wrote:

He isnt good enough. Its that simple. It was a really bad move getting him especially if we have to keep him for another year.
I'm not so sure, I reckon he's quite similar to Milne (not as quick or probably as good) but without him there he could play a role for mine.
He certainly has talent and appears to be an easy whipping boy on here....he was emergency for the Swans last year in the finals..can play..

maverick wrote:
defacto wrote:

I'm not so sure, I reckon he's quite similar to Milne (not as quick or probably as good) but without him there he could play a role for mine.
He certainly has talent and appears to be an easy whipping boy on here....he was emergency for the Swans last year in the finals..can play..

Well from the games I have seen him play for us he has hidden his ability very well. Milne wasnt keeping him out of the side this year, TDL form was keeping him out of the side.

No good only delisting rookies who arent on the list anyways.

We still need to find 3 actual de-listings.

Ill have a stab - Dunny, Lever and one of Dal or Fisher traded.

(Cant believe we contracted TDL for 2 years.)

Con Gorozidis wrote:No good only delisting rookies who arent on the list anyways.

We only need to find 3 more if what you say happens. We might need to delist no more or 10 more.

Con Gorozidis wrote:No good only delisting rookies who arent on the list anyways.

Lever, Jones, TDL, delisted - regardless of contracts

Blake Kosi, Milne - retired

Fisher, Ledger - traded

Saad - ? Rookie?

Upgrade Curren

Trade in Bruce, Michie,

Draft - 5

Maister, Siposs, Dunell, Milera - on notice for next year.

Lever, Jones, TDL, delisted - regardless of contracts

Blake Kosi, Milne - retired

Fisher, Ledger - traded

Saad - ? Rookie?

Upgrade Curren

Trade in Bruce, Michie,

Draft - 5

Maister, Siposs, Dunell, Milera - on notice for next year.

Dont know about Jones, still has some value as a tagger.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

joffaboy wrote:Dont know about Jones, still has some value as a tagger.
Most people would agree with you I think…

I've had enough of the head-less chook stuff…

I don't want valuable midfield experience eaten up by this guy… we're going to be smashed next year regardless…

He's a clogger at this point in time IMO.

joffaboy wrote: Dont know about Jones, still has some value as a tagger.
"Tagger??? Tag my arse!!!"

Dud Lane is a hack and should've been deleted by now

maverick wrote:

Well from the games I have seen him play for us he has hidden his ability very well. Milne wasnt keeping him out of the side this year, TDL form was keeping him out of the side.
You've said it yourself, we hardly gave small forwards a chance this year.
Because he plays similar to Milne, if Milne's there he can't play...
Let's see what he does next year.

Just because we signed him for two years doesn't mean we can't cut him...

maverick wrote:

I actually said we played to many of them. Most clubs are going away from small forwards and we had 4 one week.

maverick wrote:

I actually said we played to many of them. Most clubs are going away from small forwards and we had 4 one week.
which week was that? was that the week we had SFA in the cupboard to pick from? It's going to be interesting in trade week to see who gets cut and maybe some rationale behind team selections this year which clearly were heavily biased towards rebuild decisions and not trying to get into the top 4...last bit is take the pyth...

Cairnsman wrote:
maverick wrote:

which week was that? was that the week we had SFA in the cupboard to pick from? It's going to be interesting in trade week to see who gets cut and maybe some rationale behind team selections this year which clearly were heavily biased towards rebuild decisions and not trying to get into the top 4...last bit is take the pyth...

No it wasnt.