Dermott loves our club now

Re: Dermott loves our club now

What is the core business of a footy club.... Winning games of footy

Who is the most responsible and accountable for that?

BigMart wrote:What is the core business of a footy club.... Winning games of footy

the club

Cairnsman wrote:
BigMart wrote:What is the core business of a footy club.... Winning games of footy

the club

Seems an obvious answer to an obvious question.

Cairnsman wrote:

the club

Seems an obvious answer to an obvious question.
yep

Can't believe the denigration of Brereton on here, just because he expresses a view(widely held by neutral AFL people rightly or wrongly).
He is in the media, he gets paid to say things. Saints are in the news and he expresses an opinion, BIG DEAL!
As for those denigrating his playing record based on cameos at the Swans & filth I have two things to say to you:
1)Check out Plugger's comeback season for comparisons
2)Checkout Brereton's performances in GF's and you will understand why Hawks' trophy cabinet is so big!

Fidelis

I've got a lot of time for Dermie as a match day analyst; reads the game unfolding as few others can.

On other matters, I don't particularly rate him and he's deeply conflicted in this current debate.

Nevertheless, he did say something yesterday that is worthy of some thought.

He took a dig at the leadership from the top and indicated that what happens at the Saints is that the footy department needs to run the whole show.

On reflection, we have lost at least 3 recent coaches now (GT, Watters and arguably Lyon) where the board felt the need to reign in the scope of their influence and where the coach has been reluctant to let go.

Perhaps the days of the soccer style manager who control everything like Sheedy and Malthouse (and their protégés) are gone.

We just can't seem to get the lines of authority and responsibility right.

Faithful Even Unto Death
Fidelis

I've got a lot of time for Dermie as a match day analyst; reads the game unfolding as few others can.

On other matters, I don't particularly rate him and he's deeply conflicted in this current debate.

Nevertheless, he did say something yesterday that is worthy of some thought.

He took a dig at the leadership from the top and indicated that what happens at the Saints is that the footy department needs to run the whole show.

On reflection, we have lost at least 3 recent coaches now (GT, Watters and arguably Lyon) where the board felt the need to reign in the scope of their influence and where the coach has been reluctant to let go.

Perhaps the days of the soccer style manager who control everything like Sheedy and Malthouse (and their protégés) are gone.

We just can't seem to get the lines of authority and responsibility right.

Faithful Even Unto Death

AFL coaches are an interesting breed. So are media commentators like Brereton. A lot of egos, so football clubs and those within football circles will always be butting heads at some point. Many, many people believing that that have the master plan and their way is the only way. This type of tussle has been going on inside football clubs since the game started. We do it a little bit more than others, and we have trouble keeping it out of the public eye. Carlton have and it recently with Ratten, Collingwood with Malthouse, Brisbane with Voss, Melbourne with Neeld, GWS with Sheedy. Clubs are alway looking for people with strong personalities. The problem with that is that you're more likely to have characters who won't back down or won't accept it when they're wrong.

Often, the stronger the personality, the greater the resistance.

This just goes with the territory, i'm afraid, and it'll keep happening

ralphsmith

Pelchen has drafted no good players and got rid of two coaches....indirectly?

Brereton is probably right.

Either way, we are now in a world of miserable s***. This misery will last for years to come.

What is dead may never die, but rises again harder and stronger.

whiskers3614 wrote:Can't believe the denigration of Brereton on here, just because he expresses a view(widely held by neutral AFL people rightly or wrongly).
He is in the media, he gets paid to say things. Saints are in the news and he expresses an opinion, BIG DEAL!
There's having an opinion - and then there's being ridiculously biased and conflicted. He couldn't have been more conflicted if it was his own son that had got the sack.

Do you reckon Paul Roos would have carried on like that if RL had of been sacked this year by the saints? It's why one is respected, and the other is respected for his playing ability only. Dermie just likes the sound of his own voice, and constantly gives his opinion in a smug way as if to be saying...I don't mind you having an opinion, but mine is the right one.

Most people's knee jerk reaction is 'the saints are a rabble, what a cluster f*** of a club.' However most people also now realise once the stories about Watters are emerging, that the saints did the only thing they could. Our mistake was obviously hiring him in the first place. Even Rohan Connolly said as much this morning. Because Derm has gone out of his way to have the most outspoken, most hysterical view, ppl are rightly dismissing him.

I don't pick my mates lightly...pfft. What a wanker.

Fidelis

Mind you Paul Roos did have a bit to say when Ross left (I think the phrase was "His position had become untenable") and was roundly criticized on this sight for what was read to be sticking up for his mate.

Faithful Even Unto Death

ralphsmith wrote:Pelchen has drafted no good players and got rid of two coaches....indirectly?

Brereton is probably right.

Either way, we are now in a world of miserable s***. This misery will last for years to come.
Without a top 10 pick we have added Ross, Marworth, Newnes, Lee, Hickey, Wright, Longer & Savage...

None are stars yet, but looking decent so far.

The recruiting seems fine, but the coaching dynamic is a worry though.

Pelchin..... Head of football

Or Head of Recruiting??

Because he gets credit for recruiting, but apparently the coach reports to him?

Verdun66

BigMart wrote:Pelchin..... Head of football

Or Head of Recruiting??

Why do you keep spelling Pelchen's name incorrectly?

Verdun66 wrote:

Or Head of Recruiting??

The real question is why does Pelchin (along with everyone else) spell his name incorrectly!

Verdun66 wrote:

Or Head of Recruiting??

Because he's a poor school teacher and poor school teachers can't spell.

Hallalj#3

All I heard was blah blah blah Josh Bruce is going to be a gun.. Thanks Pelchen..

Dermott loves our club
If our club is called dermott brereton , and looks remarkably like him, then yes...yes, he does.

Austinnn wrote:Also, re Watters lying; of course he did, as did the pres, as any professional would in that situation.

Watters rarely told the truth to the media, he thought he was a master manipulator, with team selection and other stuff, but it didn't take much to see through it. Couldn't trust a word that came out of his mouth in the end.

what makes you say that.

I admit he sounded good in the media. but why would you then go on to thnk you couldn't trust what he says?

saintly wrote:
Austinnn wrote:Also, re Watters lying; of course he did, as did the pres, as any professional would in that situation.

Watters rarely told the truth to the media, he thought he was a master manipulator, with team selection and other stuff, but it didn't take much to see through it. Couldn't trust a word that came out of his mouth in the end.

what makes you say that.

I admit he sounded good in the media. but why would you then go on to thnk you couldn't trust what he says?
more to the point....can you trust anyone in football??????.......of course not....

Bit of redirect.... Spelling?!

Adds a lot of weight to the debate.....

Mmm... Who has more footy credibility when it comes to understanding success

PELCHEN/SS apologists or Dermott Brereton??

BigMart wrote:Bit of redirect.... Spelling?!

When talking about a mate anyone but Brereton but i suppose if we thought he was right then you would say he was wrong. He is biased when talking about him and fair enough but that doesnt make what he said right.

BigMart wrote:Bit of redirect.... Spelling?!

"Thank God for St Kilda, because 17 other clubs are going to win before them,"
Brereton said

Like music to you ears huh?

In reality the core business of a football club is to give fans hope.

BigMart wrote:

Out of Pelchen or Brereton?
Pelchen definitely.
If Dermott couldn't kick a footy he would have been beaten to death by now.