How do you define Toughness

Re: How do you define Toughness

Taken on a few more scary challengers than keyboard heroes having a go at me here.... Batting during yesterday's collapse was tougher than having a laugh at some ignorant comments on SS...

And

A differing opinion is different to a 'dumb one' teffers... Not sure you should be the judge there?

Still not sure on the epilepsy...

How does that influence his footy? If he has a seizure it may happen on the field, walking the dog or in any situation???

Given the medical support at a AFL footy ground... That's a pretty safe place to have a fit...

Do you think he has an increase chance of it happening?

BigMart wrote:Do you think he has an increase chance of it happening?
Well, yeah. Dehydration and exertion increases the chances, so does stress. I still wouldn't have thought the chance was that high that he'd have a seizure on field, but it's definitely an increased chance.

Still not sure that makes for "courage" or "toughness" though.

BigMart wrote:Taken on a few more scary challengers than keyboard heroes having a go at me here.... Batting during yesterday's collapse was tougher than having a laugh at some ignorant comments on SS...

And

A differing opinion is different to a 'dumb one' teffers... Not sure you should be the judge there?

I would hope you have taken on more scary challengers than people on here. I would hope someone older than my grandma has. Hardly a challenge on here.

PADDLEPOP1001

Once you have had a seizure it takes a lot to front up again let alone in front of 20 to 30 k of people anyhow just my opinion.Loved the Banger,Burkey,Burnsy,Barks and Lenny go about it GTrain was a tough boy to!

PADDLEPOP1000

Toughness= Luke Ball & Lenny
Baker = thug.

Baker
Tough and a thug.... A 179cm (disputable) he never took a backward step in any situation... He dished it and copped it... He was an extremely dosciplined tagger/Back pocket... Rarely beaten.

He did take some cheap shots... But he also NEVER failed to put his head over the pill

Hayes, Ball, Voss, Baker, Reiwoldt, Hudghton, Blake, Dempster, Jones and Kosi.... All very tough

Armo and Geary are also tough.... I think you'll find young Saunders will be extremely tough

BigMart wrote:Taken on a few more scary challengers than keyboard heroes having a go at me here....

I am your hero Dragit?

Easily impressed I see....

Btw
It wasn't a comment to pump myself up, more to down play the little effect the attempted bullying by cronies has on here...

It's water off an old ducks back!!!

Anyone forced to play above their weight - Trevor Barker playing full back. David Grant also played key position occasionally. Both were only 6 Foot.

G.Burns comes to mind imo,ran in very straight lines.....at the footy,wasnt a thug but wouldn't back down either.Usually in our best 3-4 players imo,in at times a ordinary side

BigMart wrote:I am your hero Dragit?

Btw
It wasn't a comment to pump myself up, more to down play the little effect the attempted bullying by cronies has on here...

Is it bullying if you think a person is writing crap. There are more than you on here who cop it for what they think. matter of fact quite often you seem to love it when people disagree with me and a couple of others. I wouldnt suggest though that I am being bullied because people disagree with what I say.

On the point of epilepsy, I would think the knowledge that you could have a seizure in front of a footy crowd, but you play anyway. That takes a certain type of toughness, or courage.

BigMart wrote:Ability to deal with adversity.... Tough situation, exertion needed, courage requirement, deal with pain, getting up after a big hit.... Toughness is more about what you can handle, not necassarily what you can dish out...

Not what the England Cricket team did yesterday....
And that's where Fiora failed miserably.

Known as both "Pav" and "Fiona" at times says it all. Unfair in that it wasn't his fault Richmond chose him over Pavlich, but Fiora with a bit of hardness could've done more to shake the tag.

BigMart wrote:It wasn't a comment to pump myself up, more to down play the little effect the attempted bullying by cronies has on here...
Mate, you have to learn to ignore. It's the Internet. People say stupid s*** all the time, no need to take it to heart.

And if you stopped responding it would save all of us a bunch of useless reading.

Middo

Teflon wrote:Mental toughness - BigMart knowing daily he'll be crunched on here by pluggs and co but still he fronts up day in/ day out...
Also takes out the "most dumb" category.

Jack Newnes happy to be a Saint !!!! PS and to hit a target !!!

Middo wrote:
Teflon wrote:Mental toughness - BigMart knowing daily he'll be crunched on here by pluggs and co but still he fronts up day in/ day out...
Really bored by BigMart and Plugger - no toughness there. Don't humour them.

jamesmc

BigMart wrote:Ability to deal with adversity.... Tough situation, exertion needed, courage requirement, deal with pain, getting up after a big hit.... Toughness is more about what you can handle, not necassarily what you can dish out...

Not what the England Cricket team did yesterday....
And that's where Fiora failed miserably.

Known as both "Pav" and "Fiona" at times says it all. Unfair in that it wasn't his fault Richmond chose him over Pavlich, but Fiora with a bit of hardness could've done more to shake the tag.

Maybe toughness is going out and playing a game of AFL, even though you know you aren't as "tough" as most of the other players.

Gershwin wrote:
Middo wrote:
Really bored by BigMart and Plugger - no toughness there. Don't humour them.
Yes but it takes toughness to back back into a pack if on coming vitriol...

Tough is coming onto Saintsational and slagging and threating other posters while keeping your anonymity.

BigMart wrote:I am your hero Dragit?

Btw

I'm glad you got the bette midler "gag" mate…

Also glad you are not affected by this so called bullying, I don't think anyone should be bullied - I certainly have not tried to bully you.

You do seem to have a bit of a persecution/messiah complex… As Berg's mentioned, this is the internet… if you write inflammatory responses, people will flame.

It's not personal. If Con, Gringo or Pluggs bang on about their cricketing achievements (or how muscular the players should be), I will have a poke at them too… I expect the same when I waffle.

What about this one?

bergsone wrote:G.Burns comes to mind imo,ran in very straight lines.....at the footy,wasnt a thug but wouldn't back down either.Usually in our best 3-4 players imo,in at times a ordinary side
very true....allof it....

magnifisaint wrote:Tough is coming onto Saintsational and slagging and threating other posters while keeping your anonymity.

i like your :mrgreen:

What are my cricket achievements Dragit?

Yes, you might know I play.... About 20 000 blokes per weekend do? What are my achievements?

And exactly who's messiah am I supposed to be?

The real reason I raise ire

I am willing to come on a 'fan forum' where many people idolise and hero worship the club and players and am willing to state negative things... Which given historical performances are often not too wrong
People tend to forget, that I post positive things also... They are still having a sook about a negative post I have made...

I support StK... But I do with two eyes