Geary and Maister

Re: Geary and Maister

The Fireman wrote:won't be around when we get back in gear.
About 15 wont be

Billings?

mate. give him a go.

you flog

QuestionOfAccuracy wrote:
I don't see him losing his position this year. Next year maybe his place in the side might be a bit more shaky.
Well this week he may have accidentally broken the fibula of one of the guys competing with him for a spot down back.

Midfield wise Ross, Acres and a few others will be lining up for a shot

Tom Curren has had a couple of quiet weeks, even allowing for the tagging role. So may be sent back to Sandi.

Geary was absolute crap today

Newman

I think Maister was a lot better when he was Wilkes! maybe revert to his old name and we'll see a better player.

digitally altered

saint6709 wrote:Maister may not get another game
Here's hoping... :cry:

If everyone tried as hard as Geary we would do well.

Maister is on borrowed time.
He shows potential. Seems to do everything right except mark the ball.

Enrico_Misso wrote:If everyone tried as hard as Geary we would do well.

Which is is biggest asset.

Maister is hopeless at AFL level. Just "providing a contest" is nowhere near enough for a supposed key forward. Give Lee a crack to see what he's really got, he showed some good signs toward the tail end of last season if I remember correctly. It's not little league where someones Mum is going to complain if her kid isn't getting a proper go so drop the bloke already, he's deserved it for 4 weeks now

Unfortunately, elite sport is about more that just trying. If trying hard was the main criteria for selection, we'd probably all be playing. I've followed Geary since his U/18 days, when he was overlooked in the draft despite being a B & F at the level. His shortcomings, even then, were obvious. They are even more obvious now. Never going to be more than an ordinary "trier". If we are going to challenge for a flag, he can't be part of our team.

White Winmar wrote:

Unfortunately, elite sport is about more that just trying. If trying hard was the main criteria for selection, we'd probably all be playing. I've followed Geary since his U/18 days, when he was overlooked in the draft despite being a B & F at the level. His shortcomings, even then, were obvious. They are even more obvious now. Never going to be more than an ordinary "trier". If we are going to challenge for a flag, he can't be part of our team.

I don't agree, I think he has plenty going for him and while he may never be a superstar he's a very good competitor. i saw some footage recently when I was looking on you tube with my kids and he has played some great footy when you look at highlights of other players. He set up goals and won the ball in tight. He has some great traits - he hasn't had a great start to the year but he's really having to step out of his comfort zone with a new coach and game plan.

I'll have to try and find that footage. He's a good competitor, but that's it. As for a highlights reel, even Maister's looks good. It's because they're compiled over time. Every team's highlight reels are going to look great, because that's the nature of "highlights". So Geary will have featured in the best bits also, painting him in a favourable light. Every hack in the U/18's has a good highlight reel. Geary has been consistently ordinary over 6 years or so. Never going to get better. That's the problem.

White Winmar wrote:If we are going to challenge for a flag, he can't be part of our team.
Agree to an extent, but at this stage in our list profile we still need Gears. I just think he's more suited to a dour back pocket rather than a mid. I think you can afford a couple of average kicks on the side, but you just don't want them in a position where they won't get too many.

White Winmar wrote:I'll have to try and find that footage. He's a good competitor, but that's it. As for a highlights reel, even Maister's looks good. It's because they're compiled over time. Every team's highlight reels are going to look great, because that's the nature of "highlights". So Geary will have featured in the best bits also, painting him in a favourable light. Every hack in the U/18's has a good highlight reel. Geary has been consistently ordinary over 6 years or so. Never going to get better. That's the problem.

It was actually looking up footage of Lenny and Riewoldt and Milney etc that my son was doing and I was surprised by how much Geary had set up the play or won the ball that came in to set the players up. He was actually involved much more than I remembered him. Obviously they don't show everything but he seems to be in the chain for plenty of highlights. He's in the leadership group so someone rates him.

White Winmar wrote:If we are going to challenge for a flag, he can't be part of our team.
Agree to an extent, but at this stage in our list profile we still need Gears. I just think he's more suited to a dour back pocket rather than a mid. I think you can afford a couple of average kicks on the side, but you just don't want them in a position where they won't get too many.
Agreed, he's the perfect back pocket. Wright has been playing in that position this year with Geary moving into midfield but that hasn't been hugely successful. I reckon he'll go back this week with Wright out and others will come into the midfield.

Yep. Agree with Bergholt. Anyone who plays through the midfield, must finish well on a consistent basis to set up scoring shots/scoreboard pressure. In today's footy, if the forward thrust is inaccurate, the ball "bounces back" very quickly and all of a sudden, through our own mistake, our backline comes under pressure.

I prefer Geary as a backline player.

I prefer him as a no line player.