Siposs - Any chance he's going to make it?

You don't often see guys with the raw talent of Arryn Siposs, but he seems to be stagnating. At 21 years old and with 25 games under his belt he should be well-placed to take the next step and become AFL standard. But he doesn't seem to be. Zero senior games so far this year and not even named emergency.

So what's going on with Sippo? Here's some of the comments from his VFL games this year.

VFL Practice Match
"Sippo was good. He had 15 possessions but he didn’t kick a goal. So that’s probably the area we need to work on with him. He’s a long kick so he can penetrate from distance. He’s been working a lot on his defence because we’ve been critical at times of him for not applying pressure, but that part of his game was really good on the weekend. His tackling and intensity was good. There was one bit of play where he impacted the game on the half-back line and then took a mark 50 metres out from goal, so it’s that sort of work-rate that we really like and what is required from him."

VFL Round 1
"Sippo played up forward and won a lot of ball between the arcs, playing as a link-up type player. He’s a beautiful long kick and finished with one behind, so we’d like him to impact games more closer to goal – because that’s where he is most dangerous."

VFL Round 2
"Sippo gave us something defensively and offensively this week which was great. He laid tackles, took five marks and kicked one goal and four behinds. They were long range shots and we all know how penetrating his kick is but this week he got himself into more dangerous positions."

VFL Round 3
"Sippo looked dangerous when he went for his marks and it was a case of ‘see ball, get ball.’ He needs to back himself and fly for a few more, because when he goes for it, he rarely doesn’t take it. He also nailed two goals from two shots. What you get with Sippo, like Jack Billings, is really good ball use. He’s got excellent skills."

VFL Round 4
"He didn’t kick straight but Sippo had 15 touches so he is gradually increasing his possession rate and his defensive efforts. He wasn’t outstanding, but he was very good and got himself involved in every facet of the game."

Overall it sounds like they want him to get more of the footy, work harder in defence and kick plenty of goals when he gets the chance. Is that even realistic? The guy was a key forward at under-age level and now they're trying to make him a box-to-box midfielder. I'm worried we're trying to do too much with him - couldn't he just play specialist half-forward flank?

Apparently he's contracted for next year, which gives him a bit of leeway, but if he doesn't play an AFL game this year then surely he's odds on to fail. Anyone got opinions on Sippo?

Re: Siposs - Any chance he's going to make it?

He's a dud and should be delisted end of season, especially if we get a bunch of new great talent like we did this year.

Seemed to be on the up until he got a bit of press at the start of last season telling everyone how good he was !

Did this go to his head ?

PADDLEPOP1001

Needs to bang down the door like Wellar did until his work ethic matches his talent that won't happen,can't just put him on the forward flank in the seniors and hope , he needs to have a tank!Having said that would love him to make it with the skills he has,might need a year in the VFL to show him it won't come easy!

PADDLEPOP1000

look its in his hands really ... Richo seems to be the type who will reward guys for good form in the VFL so its up to him to beat down that door .. i think we all got a bit caught up in what Sippo could be and what he actually is ... the calls that he was going to be our answer for losing BJ i thing was perhaps the biggest stretch

imo can still make it as 3rd tall forward,often players seem to come on the scene,look great then go backwards,untill the penny drops and they realise talent alone isn't enough.As others have mentioned work your backside off son,otherwise your time may pass

bergholt wrote:You don't often see guys with the raw talent of Arryn Siposs, but he seems to be stagnating. At 21 years old and with 25 games under his belt he should be well-placed to take the next step and become AFL standard. But he doesn't seem to be. Zero senior games so far this year and not even named emergency.

So what's going on with Sippo? Here's some of the comments from his VFL games this year.

VFL Practice Match
"Sippo was good. He had 15 possessions but he didn’t kick a goal. So that’s probably the area we need to work on with him. He’s a long kick so he can penetrate from distance. He’s been working a lot on his defence because we’ve been critical at times of him for not applying pressure, but that part of his game was really good on the weekend. His tackling and intensity was good. There was one bit of play where he impacted the game on the half-back line and then took a mark 50 metres out from goal, so it’s that sort of work-rate that we really like and what is required from him."

VFL Round 1
"Sippo played up forward and won a lot of ball between the arcs, playing as a link-up type player. He’s a beautiful long kick and finished with one behind, so we’d like him to impact games more closer to goal – because that’s where he is most dangerous."

VFL Round 2
"Sippo gave us something defensively and offensively this week which was great. He laid tackles, took five marks and kicked one goal and four behinds. They were long range shots and we all know how penetrating his kick is but this week he got himself into more dangerous positions."

VFL Round 3
"Sippo looked dangerous when he went for his marks and it was a case of ‘see ball, get ball.’ He needs to back himself and fly for a few more, because when he goes for it, he rarely doesn’t take it. He also nailed two goals from two shots. What you get with Sippo, like Jack Billings, is really good ball use. He’s got excellent skills."

VFL Round 4
"He didn’t kick straight but Sippo had 15 touches so he is gradually increasing his possession rate and his defensive efforts. He wasn’t outstanding, but he was very good and got himself involved in every facet of the game."

Overall it sounds like they want him to get more of the footy, work harder in defence and kick plenty of goals when he gets the chance. Is that even realistic? The guy was a key forward at under-age level and now they're trying to make him a box-to-box midfielder. I'm worried we're trying to do too much with him - couldn't he just play specialist half-forward flank?

Apparently he's contracted for next year, which gives him a bit of leeway, but if he doesn't play an AFL game this year then surely he's odds on to fail. Anyone got opinions on Sippo?
he can obviously play...reckon the former coach destroyed his confidence and set him back two years...hope he makes it though....

no

I feel a bit sorry for some of these young guys who came to our club when we didn't have a proper development environment. Lyon ball all accounts barely dealt with any players outside his top 26. And Watters had a pretty muddled approach with players running around like headless chickens a bit. I think they've been a bit demoralised and confused about their roles. Young players need clear direction. But what is done is done and Sipposs needs to needs to compete like hell now to break the door down. Saunders, Webster and Curran have done it.

I reckon they are trying to turn him into a mid sized forward based on those VFL reports...could he be a Gunsten type?

I think he will be one of those players that gets a game more on following the coaches instructions then for,m. Once he gets his shot, hopefully he can show something

Not looking too good for him now. It's quite likely he'll still not have a senior game under his belt this year by mid season. By the second half of the season he'll be fighting to save his career.

Cairnsman wrote:I reckon they are trying to turn him into a mid sized forward based on those VFL reports...could he be a Gunsten type?
Yep
But Dunston = 193cm
In 2012 he kicked 39 goals as a 20yo.

Clearly Sippa is a very very talented player (calling him a 'dud' is just totally ridiculous) but where does he fit in at AFl level?
One issue was we had been so poor in the draft for 5 years we forgot what a really good kid actually was and then over -rated one was just ok.

May eventually be traded, or, one year soon he may help make up the compulsory delisting numbers

hayes66

Cairnsman wrote:I reckon they are trying to turn him into a mid sized forward based on those VFL reports...could he be a Gunsten type?
Yep
But Dunston = 193cm

Clearly Sippa is a very very talented player (calling him a 'dud' is just totally ridiculous) but where does he fit in at AFl level?
One issue was we had been so poor in the draft for 5 years we forgot what a really good kid actually was and then over -rated one was just ok.
Spot on. Look what we have drafted over the last few years. A best & fairest. A leading goal kicker. A potential centre half forward. A full back in a Grand Final side. A tagger who is now making a name for himself. Bloody hopeless.

hayes66

hayes66 wrote:
Yep
But Dunston = 193cm

Spot on. Look what we have drafted over the last few years. A best & fairest. A leading goal kicker. A potential centre half forward. A full back in a Grand Final side. A tagger who is now making a name for himself. Bloody hopeless.
Forgot a number one Ruckmen in the reigning premiership side. Shocking return.

Yep
But Dunston = 193cm

Agree Gora.

Some nonconstructive comments.

He has some good skills.

Question is, does he have the commitment?

I would love it if Roo would take this guy under his wing and show him what it takes.

Less skilled players have made it.

Maxwell comes to mind.

Pick 60-70 odd in a compramised draft. Expectations have been far too high.

8856brother wrote:Pick 60-70 odd in a compramised draft. Expectations have been far too high.
Maybe you're right. Ignoring the draft pick, what are his standout skills? He's a very good kick at goal, apparently - but he isn't exactly showing that. He's got a solid body and is a reasonably good mark. But at AFL level he's not a tall, so he needs more strings to his bow than that.

On the negative side, he doesn't seem to have the tank to run all day. Even at half-forward you need that in this day and age. So really he's not going to make it unless he can improve his running and workrate significantly.

I've heard he has swagger.

Is that a bad thing if he can back it up?

Jamie Elliot has swagger, cool calm, backs it up.

You don't have to "like" how a player carries himself, you can like the result?

He can't back it up K. He's a long kick. That's about it. He has ordinary fitness, has at best moderate skill by hand, isn't quick and isn't particularly penetrating with his passes. His field kicks go a long way but he doesn't have the skill or vision to pinpoint a player.

I don't think he'll make it and will be de-listed most likely at the end of this season.

What's the diff between a swagger and a fake head wobble?

SaintPav wrote:What's the diff between a swagger and a fake head wobble?
Swagger is strutting around knowing you can do something, and generally backing it up.

Faux head wobble was in relation to players who pretend they are chaing really hard, when they're not...one day I will record vision to show you. Heaps of players do it, plenty of blues did tonight

Richter wrote:He can't back it up K. He's a long kick. That's about it. He has ordinary fitness, has at best moderate skill by hand, isn't quick and isn't particularly penetrating with his passes. His field kicks go a long way but he doesn't have the skill or vision to pinpoint a player.

I don't think he'll make it and will be de-listed most likely at the end of this season.
We'd have to pay him out I think, pretty sure he was given a three year end of 2012?

This is how a mate of mine who knows his football sees Siposs (and Lee):

"Siposs always looks classy and does some nice things in the VFL but the way they play it’s every man for himself, go find your own footy … and he struggles to get into enough contests as does Lee in a very defensive and grinding game style. Will he make it or not – I think he is 50:50. He sure has the skills in my view but gets pushed out of too many contests, same as Lee."