Seb Ross

Re: Seb Ross

we've seen Ross we need to see some other from the zebs in the seniors then at seasons end make a decision on who goes forward and stick with them to see if they can bloom.

i heard that JObe in his start was not that great... so i'm hoping Ross Dunny few others can come good in the future.

The disappointing thing was that he looked really slow and lacked desperation

Watching Newnes playing good footy should remind people why we need to keep getting games into kids like Seb. He's not setting the world on fire yet but each game he gets a bit better. He could be a Sam Mitchell type if he gets it together. He's slow too and doesn't hinder him. North melbourne and Port had a lot of seb type guys that they kept playing and are only now starting to show why they were persisted with. We just have to trust that the people in charge of development are on the ball.

I didn't notice a lot at the game but finished with 19 touches first game back into the seniors...

Might have to check out the tape.

Seb needs time, and should play a few more games yet, for me he hasn't felt like he belongs yet, is still spectating…
Too early to judge either way...

Check-out the first quarter, 10:50 to go, when Tragic Joke kicks a point to take the Skunk score to 1-2-8.

:shock: I've heard Seb was slow, but like wow...

I'm now very much doubting he can make it unless we go back to playing on mud heaps... can Stewie perhaps sneak out under cover of darkness onto Dockedlands the night before we next play there...? :wink:

Such a shame, as in-close Seb is really good. In fact, being slower than me is the only obvious knock on his game... but unfortunately, that's almost certainly a terminal one. :(

Sadly, I'd be looking at getting Seb to Effndope... but not for soon to be banned players... in exchange for draft picks/upgrades. He was pick 25 in a compromised draft, so that's closer to 40-odd in a uncompromised draft... so I reckon we should be able to still come out in front.
Last edited by Dave McNamara on Sat 31 May 2014 11:42pm, edited 1 time in total.

Needs to be a dominant ball winner because he's got a lot of deficiencies, speed and spread the obvious ones.

He impresses me the first half. Had 13 touches and was winning a lot of footy on the inside. Then he went missing for the entire quarter. Had 1 touch in the third. Fitness a real worry.

Needs to be a dominant ball winner because he's got a lot of deficiencies, speed and spread the obvious ones.

He impressed me the first half. Had 13 touches and was winning a lot of footy on the inside. Then he went missing for the entire third quarter. Had 1 touch in the third. Fitness a real worry.

I can't recall ever seeing a player as slow. He is so slow, once a player, any player, is a couple of metres in front of him, he doesn't even bother to chase. Will be gone soon.

gringo wrote:Watching Newnes playing good footy should remind people why we need to keep getting games into kids like Seb. He's not setting the world on fire yet but each game he gets a bit better. He could be a Sam Mitchell type if he gets it together. He's slow too and doesn't hinder him. North melbourne and Port had a lot of seb type guys that they kept playing and are only now starting to show why they were persisted with. We just have to trust that the people in charge of development are on the ball.
Agreed - each game he improves just a bit. Nothing to lose by persisting with him for another 3 or 4 games. Id prefer to persist with Seb for a few more games rather than keep Jones in the team.

skeptic wrote:the seasons a write off

all of the players that are outside our best 22 are there because atm, they are not good enough.

when they get selected into the team, they are still not good enough.

the question is can they get better...? That's what we're trying to answer.

And the format to that answer is something like this... does the right things at Sandy, earns an opportunity, gets 4-5 games to settle and we see if they can improve enough

Maister got his chance and the answer looks like no.

After being heavily criticized and written off repeatedly for 2 odd years, Siposs and Milera have come back and at least shown some initial improvement

Stanley showed some improvement but seems to have regressed a little

Guys like Shenton and Ross are getting that chance now and Dunnell doesn't look far away.

You can't just write Ross off without him having his opportunity. He may not make it but it's unfair to judge him after 2.5 nonconsecutive games in total this season.

Guys like Jones, and Schneider have had their opportunity and they're not impressing... a player like Weller should have 5 more games at least under his belt. Not only have we gained nothing by playing Jones... we're further behind in the rebuild

The fact that we played CJ ahead of Ledger last season is and remains a joke
Agree with everything you said word for word except the last sentence. Ledger burnt the ball worse than CJ.

He suffers from looking like Newnes and Curren from a distance. I think he will be like Joey where he racks up numbers but no one notices.

gringo wrote:I thought he was okay tonight.

so did i ...and fortunately...so did the coach....20 odd possessions.......not too bad really........ :wink:

perfectionist wrote:I can't recall ever seeing a player as slow. He is so slow, once a player, any player, is a couple of metres in front of him, he doesn't even bother to chase. Will be gone soon.
rubbish...

perfectionist wrote:I can't recall ever seeing a player as slow. He is so slow, once a player, any player, is a couple of metres in front of him, he doesn't even bother to chase. Will be gone soon.
I agree unfortunately... He looks like a genuine natural footballer, just can't keep up with the game at this level.

Johnny Favier

BigMart wrote:Ross needs games.... He will grow in confidence

He'll always be a plodder/Accumulator
I hope I'm horribly wrong but he does remind me of Mark McGough...

Megamaguire

Seb Ross Developing

I couldn't help thinking how long it can take for a group of young players learning the ropes to be able to put it all together. Experience can make you look a hell of a lot better. Winning possession and defending seemed far from bad early on against the white n black but playing in sync and knowing the best option repeatedly or what's best to do in an instant is and will be a developing skill for a substantial number of our younger players.
Ross to comment on just one will i think get better with more experience and bring his potential physicality to bear on the game and thereby advantage the team going fwd.
Siposs has been with AR for only 10 games of an afl season so far. He has the potential to turn the corner anytime soon. Patience is needed but I can see good signs so far under AR.
The rest of this season and a good chunk of next will bring a better gauge of where many of our young players are at.
GO SAINTS!

The boy can play and we can build a defence around him that will have respect.

It took 6 years for Travis Boak to average over 24 disposals despite playing about 14 games in his first year and then nearly every game after that. Guys like Bastinac and Cunnington who are both around 22 are still only around the 20 disposal mark. Most kids take time.

Simple answer with Seb - if he can improve his aerobic running capacities he will make a reasonable player. If he cant he will be another failed Saints draft choice...

To me he never looks like he is extending himself with his running, he is happy to be in a constant cruise mode which is far too restricted for AFL.

Obviously the club see something in him so hopefully he can get to the capacities required?

"Richardson said youngsters Sebastian Ross, Brodie Murdoch, Luke Dunstan and Cameron Shenton had all shown positive signs against the Magpies."

...kind of puts things in perspective i think.....

I thought Seb was very good early... I'm going to disagree with the majority here & say that Seb will make it & become a very good player.

I hope he stays in the side for the rest of the year now & makes a few armchair experts eat their hats.

Seb is not going to be an explosive player who suddenly starts getting in the highlight reels and breaking the lines, but he may just steadily improve until he's got 50 games under his belt and become a reliable 22-26 possession per game clearance midfielder. He IS very good in contested situations and his skills aren't bad. He certainly needs to improve his running capacity and defensive pressure. He's not in the first 10 players I'd cut from the list so we may as well keep getting games into him and see if his endurance, confidence and consistency improve with experience. Same goes for Stanley and Siposs - they're physically able to compete but still a year or two off being in peak physical condition and are 20-30 games away from really getting a good feel for the pace and intensity of AFL footy. What we're seeing from these guys now is not likely to be what they're able to produce in a few years once they hit their prime.

Then again, maybe Seb really is too slow and will never have the tank to cement a spot in the side. Regardless, I'd rather find out for sure than continue to gift Jones games and wonder how much Ross could have improved.

Seb's cousin almost got delisted because he was as slow as a wet week, then he supposedly hooked up with a running coach one pre-season and away he went.

Maybe he still does it.. something for Seb to consider.

bobmurray wrote:Seb's cousin almost got delisted because he was as slow as a wet week, then he supposedly hooked up with a running coach one pre-season and away he went.

Maybe he still does it.. something for Seb to consider.
Or is it more to do with Jobe being on the gear?

Seb needs to look at videos of Greg Williams in his best years- another slow player, but used his skills and smarts to be a highly effective midfielder