Jarryn Geary ... Cats target?

I know that Damien Barrett is a flog , but he mentioned on the Sunday footy show that Geelong are chasing Jarryn Geary.
It has been mentioned by some that he is a likely future captain.
I love the way he plays the game, he lacks a bit of polish but I think he's a keeper

Any thoughts?

Re: Jarryn Geary ... Cats target?

He grew up playing with Joel Selwood and they are great mates

cwrcyn wrote:He grew up playing with Joel Selwood and they are great mates
Maybe we can chase Joel Selwood then.

Unrestricted FA. It wouldn't surprise me.

Old Mate wrote:Unrestricted FA. It wouldn't surprise me.

He will be a simple one to keep if we want him.

Exactly

Surely this is just posturing from his management?

He'd be mad to go to Geelong and risk playing VFL.

The only reason we won't keep Gears is if we don't want him as we'd have a lot more cap space than the Cats.

I've always been a big fan of Geary's, but I don't think he's a good enough player to be made captain, though I think we should try pretty hard to retain him, how much would he command via free agency - 300-400?

Can't see him leaving.

Armo will be our next captain, not Geary.

Exactly

Surely this is just posturing from his management?

He'd be mad to go to Geelong and risk playing VFL.

The only reason we won't keep Gears is if we don't want him as we'd have a lot more cap space than the Cats.

I've always been a big fan of Geary's, but I don't think he's a good enough player to be made captain, though I think we should try pretty hard to retain him, how much would he command via free agency - 300-400?

Can't see him leaving.

I know we have the space in the cap but id hate us paying anywhere near 400k for a player like Geary. I would think he is no more than a 300K player.

plugger66 wrote:I know we have the space in the cap but id hate us paying anywhere near 400k for a player like Geary. I would think he is no more than a 300K player.
Yeah I was really trying to estimate his ceiling/floor in a free agency market which tends to pay overs… 400 max… though I can't see the Cats offering that much up… they have some decent players in a similar vein…

I think Ray is on roughly 275, so that is probably a close match talent-wise, but Gears is younger.

I think we can comfortably pay Gears 300 for 3 years, we can't afford to lose anymore players 23 - 28.

The obvious question surely has to be does Geelong have a need for a role player?

Geelong normally go for highly skilled types. Doesn't seem right.

Players vote on captain...

Heard this last week, persistent rumour.

Hope he stays, still underrated by some saints fans IMHO.

Mark Stevens reported this rumour saying that even Pelchin had acknowledged the whispers.

I can't see us losing in this situation really. Geary is good but to be frank, I'd like him to be pushed out of the side once Wright, Webster and Gilbert get back to playing.

We should offer him a fair deal, and if Geelong elect to pay him more than that, we'll go to the draft. Geary will not make or break our side.

Borderline afl standard . Got a big heart I will concede

If clubs had genuine interest I think the deal would get done within 5 minutes of trade week

jonesy wrote:Borderline afl standard . Got a big heart I will concede

If clubs had genuine interest I think the deal would get done within 5 minutes of trade week

He is FA so there isnt really any deal done.

Ok, so what compo would we receive for him?

jonesy wrote:

Depends on a few things but a guess would be end of second round.

jonesy wrote:

Take that in a heatbeat.

If we are to improve consistently in the next 24 months, there will be no spot for him. Simply a horrible kick and shocking decision maker that doesn't get a lot of the ball. Has guts, about it.
I'd send him on his way pretty much to free up the list space.. Shenton a much better bet right now, let alone Wright, Webster, Acres etc...

Sobraz wrote:
jonesy wrote:

Take that in a heatbeat.

If we are to improve consistently in the next 24 months, there will be no spot for him. Simply a horrible kick and shocking decision maker that doesn't get a lot of the ball. Has guts, about it.
I'd send him on his way pretty much to free up the list space.. Shenton a much better bet right now, let alone Wright, Webster, Acres etc...

Not sure he is that bad. Pick 38 isnt a great pick and we have plenty of list space if we need it.

It's a simple equation.

We offer him a fair deal, if perhaps slightly inflated and front loaded - in order to boost a Geelong counter-offer and thus the compensation.

If he stays, we've lost nothing. If he goes, we head to the draft with another pick.

Incredible. Apparently Geelong are interested, but some say he is totally crap.

I suppose thats how Geelong have won three flags and are currently No.20n the ladder, you know by making poor decisions on crap players.

Sobraz wrote:
Take that in a heatbeat.

Not sure he is that bad. Pick 38 isnt a great pick and we have plenty of list space if we need it.
Pelican will get an indication of compensation then make an assessment. End of second round is Band 4 from a 5 Band compensation system. Big difference between Bands 3 and 4. 3 would get us pick 22. If Geary were on around 400k over 3-4 years Band 3 would be likely.

Andreous

I would take pick 22 for Geary in a heartbeat!

Sobraz wrote:
Take that in a heatbeat.

Pelican will get an indication of compensation then make an assessment. End of second round is Band 4 from a 5 Band compensation system. Big difference between Bands 3 and 4. 3 would get us pick 22. If Geary were on around 400k over 3-4 years Band 3 would be likely.

Yep but 2 or 3 years on 350k may only get band 4. What did Betts and Silvia get last year? I cant find that out.

Saint wagga

Excellent team man with leadersgip skills, key age/games profile, very hard trainer, 'not a d**khead', solid depth good AFL standard player...offer him a good deal, perhaps a touch overs to keep him...it will be a mark of the man as to what he chooses if Geelong trump that...I'd love to see a bit of good old fashioned loyalty, both ways here, and I have a sneaky feeling there will be...Out of interest, do people rate Gears as good as Stevie Baker?