2014 List Management - Draft & Trade Discussion

Re: 2014 List Management - Draft & Trade Discussion

dragit wrote:Where's action jaxons at?
He's hard at work conducting exit interviews
of course

TDL and Dunell gone today so that makes 7 plus I reckon Schneider.

plugger66 wrote:TDL and Dunell gone today so that makes 7 plus I reckon Schneider.
Yup.

Hayes
Maister
Milera
Gwilt
Jones
TDL
Dunell

I'm expecting between 8-10 changes to the list. Schnieder and Fisher could go either way and I expect a surprise or two.

plugger66 wrote:TDL and Dunell gone today so that makes 7 plus I reckon Schneider.
Yup.

Hayes
Maister
Milera
Gwilt
Jones
TDL
Dunell

I'm expecting between 8-10 changes to the list. Schnieder and Fisher could go either way and I expect a surprise or two.
So from that list we have lost a 34 year old champ
A couple of good Indians that the game has probally passed them by
The rest for various reasons just didn't cut it
Thanks for your efforts,but am really looking forward to some young blood replacing them :|

aussie sainter

Probably add Milera to that list unless we can get a trade to SA for him

Big rumour on BF is pick 1 for pick 3, Jaksch and O'Rourke.

Old Mate wrote:Big rumour on BF is pick 1 for pick 3, Jaksch and O'Rourke.

That is likely to end up at pick 4. If true Pelchen does like multiple players. i hope that idea works. Im still not sold.

We would still get a good player with pick 4 and theres a possibility McCartin is still avail considering Roos publicly said he favours mids with early pics and GWS would be all over Petracca.

But thats a maybe instead of a certainty. I like the idea of trading the pick one but it is vital the other players we get can play the game. Melbourne did great last year. i hope we do as well.

Sam maclure saying we are working on a deal with gws which includes pick 1 for jacksch and a player

Thunda saying on bf that is pick 1 for pick 3 jacksch and O'rourke ..

I wouldn't do it if I was GWS.

Surely there's big question marks on O'Rourke?

Number 2 pick, but has done literally nothing in 2 years on an AFL list... At least Dom Tyson had shown a lot of ability when Melbourne off loaded pick 2 last year.. O'Rourke is a massive risk IMO..

I wonder how tempted we will be to trade Armitage…?

One of the few with trade value, may be considered too old for our next tilt.

Would weaken us severely again for next year, but it wouldn't surprise me if we looked pretty seriously at a big offer.

dragit wrote:I wonder how tempted we will be to trade Armitage…?

One of the few with trade value, may be considered too old for our next tilt.

Would weaken us severely again for next year, but it wouldn't surprise me if we looked pretty seriously at a big offer.
God, I hope not. He's finally showing some really good form and leadership, two things that will be very important in the next five years. Also, a big body to protect the younger guys in close.

But if we got a good offer, who knows?

ORourke is very soft and reminds me of Fiora he is that bad! Jaksch would be ok but would rather others on the GWS list...

Just had a squiz about Jacksch.
Only 4 games this year and 1 in 2013 (knee injury). Totally unproven at AFL level as yet.

Great if true,

I think at that pick we could have Brayshaw or even McCartin!

To me that defintely sounds like something Pelchen would go for. Hes a numbers man. He likes having 'more tickets in the chook raffle.' But we do need more Roosters and less chooks :-)

I reckon he will try for pick 1 for 3 plus player/s with GWS.

But probably still early days .... two months to go...
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Tue 02 Sep 2014 11:37pm, edited 3 times in total.

stinger wrote:2014 UNDER-18 ALL AUSTRALIAN TEAM

B: Harrison Wigg (South Australia), Ed Vickers-Willis (VicMetro), Josh McGuinness (Tasmania)

HB: Darcy Tucker (VicCountry), Caleb Marchbank (VicCountry), Angus Brayshaw (VicMetro)

C: Paul Ahern (VicMetro), Christian Petracca (VicMetro), Billy Stretch (South Australia)

HF: Callum Mills (NSW/ACT), Darcy Moore (VicMetro), Rhys Mathieson (Vic Country)

FF: Jayden Laverde (VicMetro), Patrick McCartin (VicCountry), Caleb Daniel (South Australia)

Foll: Peter Wright (VicMetro), Isaac Heeney (NSW/ACT), Jake Johansen (South Australia)

Int: Jack Steele (NSW/ACT), Darcy Parish (VicCountry), Ben Keays (Queensland), Connor Blakely (Western Australia)

Coach: Jason Saddington (NSW/ACT)

Assistant Coach: Brenton Phillips (South Australia)
Well surely we have to get one of Harrison Wigg or Jack Steele just for having a cool name :D :-)

Con Gorozidis wrote: Well surely we have to get one of Harrison Wigg or Jack Steele just for having a cool name :D :-)
Wouldn't want toupee too much for Wigg Image

evo

There will be more de-listings when Sandy's finals campaign is over.

evo wrote:There will be more de-listings when Sandy's finals campaign is over.
Do you know this for a fact?

If that's the case I then expect a few rookies to be upgraded.

Con Gorozidis wrote: Well surely we have to get one of Harrison Wigg or Jack Steele just for having a cool name :D :-)
Wouldn't want toupee too much for Wigg Image
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Some of your very finest work, right there Doc.

Clearing out players who are finished or not up to it is only part of the solution.
Yes it makes sense to move them on.
But all you are doing is replacing them with other 4th/5th/6th rounds speculative draft picks who might not be any better (though there is always the chance of picking up a hidden star).
This isn't improving the list so much as updating it.

The only way to really improve the list is to get more top 30 draft picks.
The Pelican is aware of this and his whole strategy last year was to trade and swap to get as many high picks as he could. Having Dal and Macca to offer of course made all the difference.

So how is he going to do it this year?
About all he could offer would be Monty.
Hence the theory of trading #1 to 2 top 10 picks or 3 top 20 picks makes a lot of sense in terms of building up a strong list. Especially in a year without a standout #1.

I couldn't see us using more than 4 picks in the draft. With seven gone already, if we promote two rookies, that still leaves 5 spots. A deal invovling pik one for pick 3 or 4 and a player might be on the cards. Doesn't seem to be a standout number pick this year so the difference between 1 and 3 might not be that great. Similar to last year, where after pick one there wasn't anything between the next 5 or 6. I'm quite happy with Billings but wouldn't have been unhappy with Kelly, Aish, Bontempelli or a number of others.
If there ar still free spots it could be that we offer Schneider one year on our teams on the understanding that her might not get a game. He'd certainly be worth having as a back if we get an injury. Certainly better than anything we're going to get with our 5th or 6th pick.