RIP Robbie Flower

News tonight the Demon Great has passed away.

My best mate is a Melbourne man and he is absolutely shattered.

Not the right forum, but we should give it a run out of respect.

Great footballer.

RIP.

Re: RIP Robbie Flower

How very sad. Great Murrumbeena boy who went back to the club at every opportunity. I gather it was that terrible prostate cancer.

Bloody hell!
Wasn't exactly old was he???
Rip.

Very sad news.

matrix wrote:Bloody hell!
Wasn't exactly old was he???
Rip.

Not sure if it was prostate cancer or a heart issue.

I see him as the Demon's Trevor Barker.

was awaiting a name after Finey mentioned it was someone.

Condolances to those who knew him but apparently not all family know yet
Rhett Bartlett‏@rhettrospective·
Rumours across MFC forums tonight of a Hall of Famer passing. There is no confirmation of this. Pls be respectful of your tweets

A great loyal servant of their club.
RIP

On the Bench
Location: Perth. Where Foxtel has now allowed me to watch my beloved Saints each week.

satchmo wrote:A great loyal servant of their club.
RIP
So sad, delight to watch that slim frame compete brilliantly.

A true champion and gentleman.

I am still hurting from 71;
my gut churns thinking of 97;
2009 was agony,
2010a was a pleasure to watch only to be devastated by 2010 b.
It hurts barracking for the Saints
Royston

Wow....that is really terrible news.
I had no idea he was crook....a very humble champion that I also viewed him as the Dees version of T Barker....as mentioned above!
RIP

Is this confirmed?
Nothing on the news sites.

Devastating news if true.
One of the greatest.
He really was an ornament of the game.

ctqs

That's because everyone is holding off until all family etc are notified. Not sure the timing is right with this post, even though it's well intended.

Still waiting for closure ... if you get my drift.

RIP, agree with similarities with Trevor Barker, very loyal servant of the club.

ctqs wrote:That's because everyone is holding off until all family etc are notified. Not sure the timing is right with this post, even though it's well intended.
this

But now Robbo saying family knows

Rhett Bartlett‏@rhettrospective·
It's more appropriate people to wait for the official announcement from the club.

Mark Robinson‏@Robbo_heraldsun
Flower family has released a statement

Patrick Keane‏@AFL_PKeane·
Melbourne FC has tonight advised AFL of the passing of Hall of Famer Robert Flower.The AFL extends its sympathies to his family and friends.

Did he ever play in a final? I seem to remember that there are only 4 players to play over 250 games and not play in a final.of course I may be talking crap. However the initials of three of them are possibly GB, GC and TB?

Bowey Boy wrote:Did he ever play in a final? I seem to remember that there are only 4 players to play over 250 games and not play in a final.of course I may be talking crap. However the initials of three of them are possibly GB, GC and TB?
His last game was the Prelim final - the infamous Buckenara game of 87

So he actually played 3 finals - his last 3 games
But up till then - 269 games without a final

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Bowey Boy wrote:Did he ever play in a final? I seem to remember that there are only 4 players to play over 250 games and not play in a final.of course I may be talking crap. However the initials of three of them are possibly GB, GC and TB?
His last game was the Prelim final - the infamous Buckenara game of 87
Thanks Enrico, glad he got a final series in. Nice work from the umpire there. Hawks got another bit of help in 83 or 84 when a harsh deliberate out of bounds was paid. Can't remember the player in question there :roll:

I met Robboe about 8 years ago & I always loved him as a player, one of my favourites & alongside Keith Grieg the best wingman I ever saw. He was a ripper bloke, a gentlemen. He told me some great stories that day: having his jaw broken by Robbie Muir; interstate trips with Trevor Barker who had his hands full with the ladies, rooming with the flying doormat bruce Doul etc. Shattered with this news, another gone from that 1987 side alongside Wight and Stynes. RIP Robert Flower

Even as a Saints supporter I loved watching him play. He was great to watch in state games because you got a chance to see what he could do in a good side. One of the most skilful players I've had the pleasure to see.

Harvey To Hayes

I used to like watching him play too, and as a rule I'm not often appreciative of opposition players when we're up against them. RIP.

The future's so bright I've got to wear shades...

remboy wrote:Even as a Saints supporter I loved watching him play. He was great to watch in state games because you got a chance to see what he could do in a good side. One of the most skilful players I've had the pleasure to see.
vale robbie

Champion player. Champion bloke. R.I.P Robbie.

Growing up in the 80s my Dees mates had him and I had Barks. He was a tough guy, he was like a whippet but put his body on the line when ever he needed to. Champion the way he willed himself into contests and a true loyal player. Everyone that met him said he was one of the gentlemen of footy too.

Check out this video.
Just unbelievable . Has to be seen to be believed. How do you like his left and right everything. Wow.

Terrific interview as well