Do we start worrying about Paddy McCartin?

Re: Do we start worrying about Paddy McCartin?

This thread reminds me of all the Blues Fans that were glad to see the back of Josh Kennedy....

Some putrid "opinions" on this thread.

Not a top ten pick - pfft. When asked what it was based on gave Petracca as a name. Where are the other eight how are better.

Really Goddard must be really hopeless. Hasn't even been in the team yet.

Both have had six weeks.

Delist both.

Fair Dinkum, there are some cabbages who support the Saints

Furphy wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:
Furphy wrote:I don't think Paddy was a top ten draft pick, but he will improve. Petracca was the obvious choice.
none of these guys have played yet

6 Caleb Marchbank
7 Paul Ahern
8 Peter Wright
9 Darcy Moore

What do you base your information on?

The fact he is an ordinary player in the VFL and Petracca was a clear stand out in last year's draft.
That's not a fact it's an opinion.

Furphy wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:
Furphy wrote:I don't think Paddy was a top ten draft pick, but he will improve. Petracca was the obvious choice.

6 Caleb Marchbank
7 Paul Ahern
8 Peter Wright
9 Darcy Moore

The fact he is an ordinary player in the VFL and Petracca was a clear stand out in last year's draft.
The only way you get a top key forward is by the draft and we needed a key forward to cover Riewoldt when he retires.
We don't want to go down the path of the dogs who paid $8 million for Boyd as well as trading their captain and a very early draft pick to get him.
Incidently Boyd is in his second year and hardly setting the world on fire!

#gosaintas

This thread is weird

there are some terribly ill-informed posts on this thread.

judging the poor bloke 5 games into his first season?! WTF?

I'll start worrying about Paddy in 2020 if he isn't yet kicking bags of 3-5 a game. Until then, give yourself an uppercut if you have concerns over a first year key position player not performing!!

Not worried at all about him. Certainly not worried about his footy ability. Blokes who rely on strength and aeriel ability take awhile to develop. Marking the ball is a hell of a lot harder than getting ground balls, and a hell of a lot more valuable.

My only concern re Paddy, and it has been from the day we were looking at drafting him, is his tank, or should I say any restrictions on developing his tank because of his diabetes. I'm sure the club and he have it in hand.

A couple of pre-seasons in the gym and on the track and he'll be right. Once he clunks a few, I reckon he'll be fine. What I have noticed with him is that he gets to the right spots but has dropped the mark or fumbled the ball etc. That's a pure confidence thing. I'd be more worried if he was going to the wrong spots. I'll start being a bit concerned if towards the end of next year he's not breaking into the senior team and making some sort of impact.

We long time supporters remember supercoach Tim Watson's masterstroke of playing Barry Hall in defence for a little while around 1999/2000. Worked a treat,

Kick started his career if I remember correctly.

Surely Richo can play Paddy down back? May be just the thing to get his career started.

cowboy18 wrote:We long time supporters remember supercoach Tim Watson's masterstroke of playing Barry Hall in defence for a little while around 1999/2000. Worked a treat,

Surely Richo can play Paddy down back? May be just the thing to get his career started.
Supercoach?

His career is going just fine.

magnifisaint wrote:
Furphy wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:

6 Caleb Marchbank
7 Paul Ahern
8 Peter Wright
9 Darcy Moore

Everything on this site is an opinion!!!

Furphy wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:
Furphy wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:

6 Caleb Marchbank
7 Paul Ahern
8 Peter Wright
9 Darcy Moore

Everything on this site is an opinion!!!
yes you're right so why did you write that Mcartin is an ordinary player in the VFL?

Furphy, how many games have you seen Paddy play in the VFL?

I'm starting to worry about Paddy McCartin reading this crap :cry:

Dr Spaceman wrote:I'm starting to worry about Paddy McCartin reading this crap :cry:
Same.

Nobody add to it and it will hopefully fall quickly down the page

Bunk_Moreland wrote:Some putrid "opinions" on this thread.

Not a top ten pick - pfft. When asked what it was based on gave Petracca as a name. Where are the other eight how are better.

Both have had six weeks.

Delist both.

Sounds like you're still angry they cancelled "Hey Hey it's Saturday"

Dr Spaceman wrote:I'm starting to worry about Paddy McCartin reading this crap :cry:
Same.

They're not stupid enough to read this crap.

Furphy wrote:

Both have had six weeks.

Delist both.

Seems as though you cant name the other eight who would push paddy out of the top ten. So much for your opinion and facts.

stupidity and ignorance doesn't equate to fact, but it does amount to your opinion.

Really sad to read your ignorant crap

RODOS

ahh, looking forward to bumping this thread in three years

Personally, I'm glad we aren't playing him every week and he can ease his way into AFL footy and get another pre season under his belt. Much better than throwing him to the Sharks.

We have so many great kids that when I'm talking footy with mates I often forget about Paddy when I'm reeling off the talent that's played under 30 games and that's in the twos.. Then I think oh yeah and Paddy as well.. Forgot about him, he'll be handy. That's a pretty good sign of the depth we're building.

Same.

Crap is the correct word and that's why none of the players read it. I think we are rating this site far to highly.

Furphy wrote:

Both have had six weeks.

Delist both.

Seems as though you cant name the other eight who would push paddy out of the top ten. So much for your opinion and facts.

stupidity and ignorance doesn't equate to fact, but it does amount to your opinion.

Your parents must be really proud of you, do they know you're playing with their computer?

cowboy18 wrote:We long time supporters remember supercoach Tim Watson's masterstroke of playing Barry Hall in defence for a little while around 1999/2000. Worked a treat,

Cowboy! You're still with us. Excellent.

Furphy wrote:

Both have had six weeks.

Delist both.

Your parents must be really proud of you, do they know you're playing with their computer?
Furphy, Bunk.
Two choices.
One. Stop the personal sniping.
Two. Carry it on in the AE. Not in the Footy Forum please.

Paddy has plenty of time on his side and he's under no pressure to perform. It's a development year for him and he should relax and enjoy his footy. No one, except an idiot, expects a lot from him at this early stage.

We've got a potential 10-year key forward in Bruce already - taken with a pick that GWS didn't want - and McCartin may be his eventual partner if he develops. If he doesn't someone ekse will step up. All draft picks are speculative, even No. 1 picks. Everyone knows that.