HARLEY BENNELL

Re: HARLEY BENNELL

Only a flog wnfc lists our colours in that order.
? Why the hostility saynta? Let me guess.

3) Club has stated that #5/6 will only be traded for a certain player who is not Bennell
Stated to who and when?
to sources

past couple of weeks

Perfect age and has the ability to be top ten in the competition.
Bye bye first pick and hello Harley

Goose is king wrote:Perfect age and has the ability to be top ten in the competition.
Bye bye first pick and hello Harley
wont happen.
Trade extremely unlikely.
Contracted to 2017, GC will want a fortune.

#5 for another or we get a player in the draft

[quote="Bunk_Moreland"][quote="Goose is king"]Perfect age and has the ability to be top ten in the competition.
Bye bye first pick and hello Harley[/quote]

wont happen.
Trade extremely unlikely.
Contracted to 2017, GC will want a fortune.

#5 for another or we get a player in the draft[/quote]

It's very easy for them to say he is required and contracted during the season but piss him off when a good offer comes along
I'm sure they would think about it

Hope he comes with a reference from Sheedy and Hird!
Helped us so much the last time we traded for a known idiot!

Agree with others suggesting it wont happen! He is contracted and unless he is completely damaged goods there is no way the Suns release him after all they have been thru! Barrett was just creating fodder for the media train -move on people to more realistic targets!

Apparently there is a potential exodus with lots of players ready to cut and run because of the way Eade coaches and the new tightened up off field expectations. It means a few will leave and Eade claims they are rebuilding.

whiskers3614 wrote:Hope he comes with a reference from Sheedy and Hird!
? Why are you comparing these two guys? Because they are indigenous? Who is the idiot here?
Lovett was a ROOKIE pick at age 23 FFS! He was then charged with hitting his Mrs.

Bennell has already played 79 AFL games including about 30 blinders at age 22.
Seriously piss-poor comparison. Very very piss poor. there is no comparison. Bennell is clearly about 20 times more disciplined.
As I said the only guys in the last decade for the Saints who have done as much by 22 in the last decade for the Saints are Newnes and Goddard. Hardly slackers.

whiskers3614 wrote:Hope he comes with a reference from Sheedy and Hird!
? Why are you comparing these two guys? Because they are indigenous? Who is the idiot here?
Lovett was a ROOKIE pick at age 23 FFS! He was then charged with hitting his Mrs.

Bennell has already played 79 AFL games including about 30 blinders at age 22.
Seriously piss-poor comparison. Very very piss poor. there is no comparison. Bennell is clearly about 20 times more disciplined.
As I said the only guys in the last decade for the Saints who have done as much by 22 in the last decade for the Saints are Newnes and Goddard. Hardly slackers.

I get what your saying Con... but I think the key part of this comment was 'well known idiot'.

I think it's a coincidence that both players are indigenous

Why should we be scared to make a mistake.
If our first round gets that deal done take it.

Teflon wrote:I too think we should've taken cousins but let's not go there again for gods sake
Cousins was old, slow and injured at that stage and also probably a drug addict.
Just a ridiculous comparison imo.
If we cant get this kid on track - we dont deserve to win a flag. We arent going to win one if we play it safe on every single decision.
We will need to take some calculated risks.
Cousins did play some good footy at Tiges and still racked up good possessions per game and used it well..... but others probably know best I mean he was no "Mqualter or Eddy"....
FFS. Cousins could have been the difference in 2009. Anything better than Eddy or McQualter. Perhaps Steven or Armitage. And we could have had a flag.

And then again in 2010. Cousins could have been the difference. Or Luke Ball not playing for the other team.

Good one/two Rosco.

stjay

WinnersOnly wrote:Agree with others suggesting it wont happen! He is contracted and unless he is completely damaged goods there is no way the Suns release him after all they have been thru! Barrett was just creating fodder for the media train -move on people to more realistic targets!
After the story hit there was media speculation the Suns would look to trade him despite having a year to run on his contract.
Let's face it - this wasn't the first incident of poor behaviour it was just the most public.
Eade is looking to clean house and straighten up the list.
Depends on what other deals we can get done as to whether we should go after him.
If we could swap a second round and say someone like Jack Newnes, that would be fair.
Have to give up quality to get quality.
Bennell is a gun.

ben_fff

gringo wrote:Apparently there is a potential exodus with lots of players ready to cut and run because of the way Eade coaches and the new tightened up off field expectations. It means a few will leave and Eade claims they are rebuilding.
Can they claim they're rebuilding? AFL surely pressuring the Suns to succeed. They have a much better list than their results show, they should still be aiming for a finals birth next season if they can hold on to Dixon and keep Benell.

With the new allowances in trading picks I find it hard to believe a 22 year old with potential like Benell would only command a first round pick, more likely that it'd be packaged with a future draft pick in an upcoming season... even then I doubt the Gold Coast want to turn over a quality player for a gamble on picks while their list is starting to hit the sweet spot in terms of age. Surely they'd want at least a solid player(s) in return.

gringo wrote:Apparently there is a potential exodus with lots of players ready to cut and run because of the way Eade coaches and the new tightened up off field expectations. It means a few will leave and Eade claims they are rebuilding.

Apparently not. I don't read BF that much to find out fact though.

stjay wrote:
WinnersOnly wrote:Agree with others suggesting it wont happen! He is contracted and unless he is completely damaged goods there is no way the Suns release him after all they have been thru! Barrett was just creating fodder for the media train -move on people to more realistic targets!
After the story hit there was media speculation the Suns would look to trade him despite having a year to run on his contract.
Let's face it - this wasn't the first incident of poor behaviour it was just the most public.
Depends on what other deals we can get done as to whether we should go after him.
If we could swap a second round and say someone like Jack Newnes, that would be fair.
Bennell is a gun.
If thats the case then we should not go any where near him! Stick to our sound character policy. It will only take one bad egg to set the club back another 10 years!

ben_fff

WinnersOnly wrote:
stjay wrote:
Bennell is a gun.
If thats the case then we should not go any where near him! Stick to our sound character policy. It will only take one bad egg to set the club back another 10 years!
Geelong, Collingwood and even Hawthorn had players of questionabke character on their list and won flags.

WinnersOnly wrote:
stjay wrote:
Bennell is a gun.
Give me a break. You wont win a flag with a team of choir boys. You win a flag when you create a good environment for all sorts to play as a team. You cant be some homogenous social group.

Geelong won 3 with Stevie J, Cameron Mooney, Matty Stokes.

Hawks won a few with Lake and Guerra, for gods sake. Croad and Stewie Dew played in flags.

WinnersOnly wrote:
stjay wrote:
Bennell is a gun.

And if there was photos of our guys using drugs would you get rid of them? Or if there was no photo of Bennell would you recruit him? I don't think we have a chance of getting him but it shouldn't be because we aren't sure of his character. I bet most of us don't know how our players behave away from the game.

Teflon wrote:I too think we should've taken cousins but let's not go there again for gods sake
Cousins was old, slow and injured (his hammies were terrible) at that stage and also probably a drug addict.
If we cant get this kid on track - we dont deserve to win a flag. We arent going to win one if we play it safe on every single decision.

But yeah - look we didnt need much to win that flag. Cousins may have been enough to get us there.

......but played brialliantly for Richmond that season and with the lure of finals he may have been the jewel required to claim a Premiership.

kalsaint wrote:
Cousins was old, slow and injured (his hammies were terrible) at that stage and also probably a drug addict.

But yeah - look we didnt need much to win that flag. Cousins may have been enough to get us there.

......but played brialliantly for Richmond that season and with the lure of finals he may have been the jewel required to claim a Premiership.
Coulda shoulda woulda, FFS Cousins was an ice addict at that time, we won 19 straight.

You people reckon an ice addict teaming up with Gardiner again wouldn't had drawn adverse publicity?

Love these hypotheticals, couyld have destroyed the whole culture of the club and we didn't even make the Grand Finals.

get over it you lot.

In saying that Barrett last night on MMM said a substantial offer had been made to Bennell and the Saints had spent a lot of time assessing Bennell in light od the recent issues.

Then talked about the future pick trades, so there is plenty of flexibility to get a trade done.

Personally would like to a Parish type in the draft, maybe trade next years first rounder for Bennell (with extras) and trade for a first rounder next season or hit the FA like a tonne of bricks in 2016.

If we got a Parish, and a Bennell this trade and draft period, I would be very pleased.

If we get Bennell and Parish im coming over to yours with a 6 pack BM. Would be a great pre-season.
I just cant believe bennell is such a bad boy if he has managed 79 games by 22.
Plus remove him from the gold coast which is sin city wont be a bad thing.

Saint_J

can't compare Harley to Loveitless or Cousins

Personally would love to see Bennell playing for us.. not sure it will happen.. guy is pure class on field.

Con Gorozidis wrote:If we get Bennell and Parish im coming over to yours with a 6 pack BM. Would be a great pre-season.
I just cant believe bennell is such a bad boy if he has managed 79 games by 22.
Plus remove him from the gold coast which is sin city wont be a bad thing.
I reckon I would fly a slab over if we got that done. That would be a springboard for the future.

wally

I don't like the idea of trading future picks,when things turn to crap then the hopes look to drafting at years end.
If they have been traded out it would be hard to show optimism.