Herald sun 1990-2015 teams

Re: Herald sun 1990-2015 teams

ripplug66 wrote:
BigMart wrote:Plugger

You didn't say whether you agreed or not?...

Frankie or Gilbert??

I think the side is pretty obvious... With only a couple of decisions.
I go on how many games a player was a significant contributor

I wouldn't have either. And Steven surely makes our best side now.
Yeah Jacky boy is def in the mix.... Armo too

I put Gilbert in the team to mix it up. He's the X factor player I chose who was entertaining as hell and had the potential to tear a game to shreds. Here's my favourite Gilbert match. The infamous Nicky Winmar Victoria Park match. Gilbert kicked 5 was best on ground and, as well as Nicky, copped his far share from the filth crowd. The last time St.Kilda played at Victoria Park and could have been Spider's first match.

252 games... Very few have played more in that time
Played a significant role in the 97/98 finals teams. Useful in the 04/05 teams

Very underrated is Frankie, certainly ahead of Gilbert McAdam

But again you didn't answer the question plugger?

Jack would be in, however like Greg Burns was a B&F winner in poor teams, with Joey and Armo possibly unlucky that they missed games in those years or they might have won?

ripplug66

BigMart wrote:252 games... Very few have played more in that time
Played a significant role in the 97/98 finals teams. Useful in the 04/05 teams

Very underrated is Frankie, certainly ahead of Gilbert McAdam

But again you didn't answer the question plugger?

Jack would be in, however like Greg Burns was a B&F winner in poor teams, with Joey and Armo possibly unlucky that they missed games in those years or they might have won?

I thought the question was frankie or McAdam and I said neither. Pretty sure that is answering it. As for the Burns comparison with Jack I don't think that holds water. We still had champions playing in 2013, Lenny and Rooy plus the likes of Dal, Joey and Fisher and he beat them by at least 50% of the vote. Now that is a fair effort. Even this year most of those played. And if you think he should be in then what is your point. No one has even mentioned the B&F's.

older saint wrote:I have seen they are running a best teams and ladder of the period below. Richmond was bottom and Melbourne next. I am guessing Freo, Bulldogs ( not sure of order as free has played a GF, but then probably StKilda - as every other team has won a premiership in that era. Will be interesting to see who they select in the Best 22 of that time frame, here is my guess:

B: Hudghton, Frawley, Baker
HB:Voss, Fisher, Goddard
C:Montagna, Hayes, Dal Santo
HF: Roo, Loewe, Winmar
F: Milne, Lockett Gerhig
Ruck: Everitt, Harvey, Burke

Int:Kosi, A Jones, Thompson,Blake

Unlucky - D Grant, Hamill, Pekin,Peckett

have a go

Enjoying the debate, but lets see more teams:
- I was huge Voss fan but can see Dempster in that role also .
- Hamill did a lot of grunt work and i say he plays fit in 04 and 05 prelims we win both, and may well have still been there in 09?
- Steven disposal lets him down and who goes out? Disposal not close to Dal, Monty, Harvey,Burke, Jones, Thomspon
- Peckett very unlucky perhaps gets in for Blake ?
- Armo not yet, 2 good seasons not enough over others.
- Gilbert unlucky but IMO see Steven butchers it too much for my liking

Great drip tray talk though

ripplug66

older saint wrote:
older saint wrote:I have seen they are running a best teams and ladder of the period below. Richmond was bottom and Melbourne next. I am guessing Freo, Bulldogs ( not sure of order as free has played a GF, but then probably StKilda - as every other team has won a premiership in that era. Will be interesting to see who they select in the Best 22 of that time frame, here is my guess:

HB:Voss, Fisher, Goddard
HF: Roo, Loewe, Winmar
F: Milne, Lockett Gerhig

Int:Kosi, A Jones, Thompson,Blake

Unlucky - D Grant, Hamill, Pekin,Peckett

have a go

Enjoying the debate, but lets see more teams:
- I was huge Voss fan but can see Dempster in that role also .
- Hamill did a lot of grunt work and i say he plays fit in 04 and 05 prelims we win both, and may well have still been there in 09?
- Steven disposal lets him down and who goes out? Disposal not close to Dal, Monty, Harvey,Burke, Jones, Thomspon
- Peckett very unlucky perhaps gets in for Blake ?
- Armo not yet, 2 good seasons not enough over others.
- Gilbert unlucky but IMO see Steven butchers it too much for my liking

Great drip tray talk though

Thompson was a very ordinary kick. Steven is a much better player than him. Also I wouldn't have a player like Blake on the bench. Another mid if the game is played today but each to their own.

Johnny Favier

No love for Matthew Young on here? The guy was an absolute gun of a running defender before he was cruelly cut down by arthritis...

Johnny Favier wrote:No love for Matthew Young on here? The guy was an absolute gun of a running defender before he was cruelly cut down by arthritis...
He had such great kicking skills Matty

Johnny Favier

prwilkinson wrote:
Johnny Favier wrote:No love for Matthew Young on here? The guy was an absolute gun of a running defender before he was cruelly cut down by arthritis...
He certainly did PR. His disposals were so damaging that opposition coaches started to tag him once they realised how much he hurt the opposition with his kicks off the half back line.

He's one of those players whose style of play would still be relevant in the modern game, same as Neil Elvis. :)

Agree, he was one of the past players I reckon would suit modern footy well. He had some toe, good skills and just ran and ran. Had the run and carry game down pat.

Johnny Favier wrote:
prwilkinson wrote:
He certainly did PR. His disposals were so damaging that opposition coaches started to tag him once they realised how much he hurt the opposition with his kicks off the half back line.

He's one of those players whose style of play would still be relevant in the modern game, same as Neil Elvis. :)
Just read you said the same thing.

Johnny Favier

Johnny Favier wrote:
prwilkinson wrote:

Just read you said the same thing.
All good! :)

The Disch

Case of red heads sticking together :wink:

aaron82

HB: Dempster, Fisher, Goddard
HF: Loewe, Roo, Winmar
F: Milne, Lockett Gehrig

Int:Peckett, Steven, Thompson, A Jones

Back up:- D Grant, Hamill, Young, Kosi, Gram, Ball, Blake, Heatley

and that's the bottom line
aaron82

and that's the bottom line

Plug

I asked Peckett vs McAdam... Not who would you pick?? You did answer it, just not very well.
You actually entered into the discussion with a comment on my post... I was just asking as to whether you agreed with me about McAdam vs Peckett? Or whether you just wanted to add your two cents??

On Thompson
He played 200+ games
B&F (in a terrible team with stars - oxymoron)
Played a significant role in good teams
Was a vic representative
Was Vice Captain
Thompson was a gun player, he walks into the best team.

Of course Lenny and Sam F played 9 and 14 games respectively in 2013 making a B&F hard to win. Roo and Joey had good seasons, played one less game.
Joey (29ppg) had pretty much equal numbers to Jack (27ppg) in most depts like Tackles and Goals. Won more footy outside and less inside... Surprising he finished 30 odd votes behind. But so was Armo losing this year, and Dal in 2011 IMO.
Joey got 16 votes in the Brownlow compared to 8 ... So it's subjective.
Roo averaged 19 ppg and kicked 50... I think he gets marked pretty hard

I know Jacky is your boy, and you try and convince everyone he's elite... But the fact remains. He turns the ball over way too much to be considered amongst the games best. I would argue whilst he won our B&F it says more about our list than anything else. He is not as good as 25 other mids or more in the comp.

ripplug66

BigMart wrote:Plug

I asked Peckett vs McAdam... Not who would you pick?? You did answer it, just not very well.
You actually entered into the discussion with a comment on my post... I was just asking as to whether you agreed with me about McAdam vs Peckett? Or whether you just wanted to add your two cents??

On Thompson
He played 200+ games
B&F (in a terrible team with stars - oxymoron)
Played a significant role in good teams
Was a vic representative
Was Vice Captain
Thompson was a gun player, he walks into the best team.

Of course Lenny and Sam F played 9 and 14 games respectively in 2013 making a B&F hard to win. Roo and Joey had good seasons, played one less game.
Joey (29ppg) had pretty much equal numbers to Jack (27ppg) in most depts like Tackles and Goals. Won more footy outside and less inside... Surprising he finished 30 odd votes behind. But so was Armo losing this year, and Dal in 2011 IMO.
Joey got 16 votes in the Brownlow compared to 8 ... So it's subjective.
Roo averaged 19 ppg and kicked 50... I think he gets marked pretty hard

I know Jacky is your boy, and you try and convince everyone he's elite... But the fact remains. He turns the ball over way too much to be considered amongst the games best. I would argue whilst he won our B&F it says more about our list than anything else. He is not as good as 25 other mids or more in the comp.

I read it again and the question seemed to be who would you pick and I said neither but if it was the better player then its Peckett every day of the week. As for Jack well I don't vote on the B&F so it matters little what I think but 2 different coaching panels have given him the B&F. And he certainly was as good as 25 mids in 2013 and I think he was again this year but even if he wasn't he could still be in the best 50 players in the AFL. Still don't get was you are arguing this apart from wanting to argue as you also had him in the side.

heraldsun.com.au

ST KILDA’S TEAM OF THE AFL ERA

B: Steven Baker Danny Frawley Max Hudghton

HB: Brendon Goddard Sam Fisher Austinn Jones

C: Nick Dal Santo Lenny Hayes Leigh Montagna

HF: Nicky Winmar Stewart Loewe Nick Riewoldt (captain)

F: Stephen Milne Tony Lockett Fraser Gehrig

R: Peter Everitt Robert Harvey Nathan Burke

I: Luke Ball Sean Dempster Jack Steven Andrew Thompson

Coach: Ross Lyon

FOR a team devoid of premierships in the AFL era and with just 11 years in the finals, St Kilda has managed to produce forward lines the equal of any.

Both Tony Lockett and Fraser Gehrig were centurions in the era, while Stewart Loewe was good enough to boot 90 goals in 1996 and Stephen Milne (574 goals) could lay claim to being the best small forward of his type.

bigcarl wrote:heraldsun.com.au

FOR a team devoid of premierships in the AFL era and with just 11 years in the finals, St Kilda has managed to produce forward lines the equal of any.

Both Tony Lockett and Fraser Gehrig were centurions in the era, while Stewart Loewe was good enough to boot 90 goals in 1996 and Stephen Milne (574 goals) could lay claim to being the best small forward of his type.

Imagine putting Ross Lyin' in charge of that forward line. He'd have them kicking minuscule scores in no time.

FB: Dempster Frawley Hudghton

HB: Goddard Fisher Dal Santo

C : Jones Harvey Montagna

HF: Reiwoldt Loewe Winmar

FF: Milne Lockett Gehrig

R : Everitt Hayes Burke

I : Baker, Ball, Blake, Peckett

E : Steven, Thompson, Voss

Coach : Ken Sheldon

ripplug66

bigcarl wrote:heraldsun.com.au

Imagine putting Ross Lyin' in charge of that forward line. He'd have them kicking minuscule scores in no time.

Didn't we kick the third or 4th most points in 2009? I reckon he would let them score as much as they liked. By the way we scored plenty under GT and that got us where?

aaron82 wrote:B: Hudghton, Frawley, Baker

Great effort mate.

Hudghton, Frawley, Baker all low possession stoppers.

We would really struggle to get it out of the back line.

Fisher, Goddard, Jones might help

Herald Sun got it about right

Good to see they mentioned (Sheldon) mention Frankie.

Well of course they would but in a perfect team

you would't have them in there.

Same with the forward line.

It's a great team and list of names on paper but probably wouldn't work that well in reality.

We'll never know.