Contract time approaching

As we approach the half way mark of the season I thought it was time to have quick peek at which players are OOC this year.

Here is the list and beside that what I think will happen.

Nick Riewoldt - will sign on for 2017.
Wright - gone
Curren - gone
Murdoch - good chance to get another 1-2 year deal.
Longer - Unsure?
Lee - gone
Delaney- gone
Shenton - gone
Dempster - 1 more year?
Minchington - probably gone
Sam Fisher - probably gone
Pierce - 1 yr extension likely
Membrey - SIGN HIM UP - 3 yr deal imo.

The_President

Re: Contract time approaching

Lachie Neale? :wink:

The_President wrote:Lachie Neale? :wink:
Heard (from former Prez of Freo) he's more interested in Adelaide or Port Power than Victorian clubs from what the whispers are in Perth - it's either, return to SA or remain with Freo - end of story.

Tom Lee will get another 2 years maybe. In my opinion.
He's an asset and if we lose Dempster and Fish, we can't rely on Goddard just yet to be a consistent KPD.
Goddard/Carlisle/Lee will be the big backs.
Lee is not "languishing" in the Zebs, he's been sent back to work on stuff.
Tony74 mentioned that Bl8acres is learning and they're looking long term.
I believe that Lee is on a similar journey and he is learning his craft.

WellardSaint wrote:Tom Lee will get another 2 years maybe. In my opinion.
He's an asset and if we lose Dempster and Fish, we can't rely on Goddard just yet to be a consistent KPD.
Goddard/Carlisle/Lee will be the big backs.
Lee is not "languishing" in the Zebs, he's been sent back to work on stuff.
Tony74 mentioned that Bl8acres is learning and they're looking long term.
I believe that Lee is on a similar journey and he is learning his craft.
I personally have no problem with Tom Lee getting another deal. The reason I put 'gone' is not my view on what I want to happen but I just believe the coaching staff have completely written him off. They simply refuse to play him.

I would think that one of Lee and Delaney would survive given that Demps and Fish are coming to the end though Sean is a chance to keep going.

I think Longer will survive too. Was all the rage last season.

Would be happy to see Wright stay on but he looks gone.

Shenton I don't rate but it seems as though his form at Sandy has been pretty solid so he's a smokey to survive.

Cant see us turning over quite that many but I definitely agree with -

Delaney papers have been marked for 12 months
Wright its a shame he cant kick because he has some good features
Curren would like to see him get another chance at a different club and tried as a small defender
Shenton GOP who has become a clogger
Saunders (R) same as Wright cant kick and makes poor decisions with the ball.

Im pretty sure Fisher wants to play on, but wouldnt be surprised if Dempster retired he is a pretty intense character.

Possible trade out: ?

Thats 4 senior delstings plus a possible trade out leaving a total of 5 vacancies. That allows for 2 trade ins and 3 taken at draft, plus 1 rookie.

Unless there is an outstanding rookie options can see all of Paine, Coghlan and OKearney being maintained.

Fisher and Dempster will both go around again, which will result in Lee and Delaney being delisted.

Saunders, Shenton, Wright and Curren will also be delisted.

Roo, Minchington, Pierce, Murdoch and Membrey will all get contracts, as will Longer if his concussion issues aren't too serious.

saintbob wrote:Fisher and Dempster will both go around again, which will result in Lee and Delaney being delisted.
While I'm not saying this scenario is impossible, I don't agree with the logic. We went into this season with 6 key defenders on the senior list in Carlisle, Fisher, Dempster, Goddard, Lee and Delaney, I can't see us entering 2017 with 4 key defenders. I don't think we should cutting all of our depth and leaving just Carlisle, Goddard, a 33 year old and a 35 year old as our AFL-ready tall defenders for 2017. Chances are that if you're relying on a guy who has just missed a year of footy, a teenager and two geriatrics to play all year you're going to run into some trouble. I agree that Delaney is cooked, but Lee at the very least is very handy backup and he has the potential to cement a spot as a third tall in the future. We shouldn't be delisting him just because Fisher and Dempster decide to go around one more time.

Milne

Shame about Wright. Before he broke his leg I saw enough potential from him.

Everybody seems to have forgotten Nick Coughlan..

borderbarry wrote:Everybody seems to have forgotten Nick Coughlan..
Was just about to mention that!
Yes that is another reason I think both Lee and Delaney will be gone.

We have Coughlan, Roberton, Goddard and Carlisle as tall defenders. We are sorted in that position for the next 7 years.

Wombat15

Con Gorozidis wrote:As we approach the half way mark of the season I thought it was time to have quick peek at which players are OOC this year.

Wright - gone
Curren - gone
Longer - Unsure?
Lee - gone
Delaney- gone
Shenton - gone
Dempster - 1 more year?
I think we need to see wright play this season otherwise you are correct. curren (gone) seems to have lost his spot to gresham and minchington (1 more season). Longer had off season surgery and now has a month long concussion theyll sign him on.
Lee if he cant get a game now he never will, Delaney gone, Shentons been thrown forward but cant kick, Dempster and Fisher i reckon stay on 1 more year, PIerce has been developing nicely and wouldnt be surprised if he plays this season and Membrey needs to be locked in long term its fantastic to see him do well been a big fan since he got drafted.

We have Coughlan, Roberton, Goddard and Carlisle as tall defenders. We are sorted in that position for the next 7 years.
Con although he is 194cm tall I dont think we should ever consider Roberton in the key or tall defender group. He is quite poor in one on one marking contests and often gets knocked over by much smaller opponents, touch him and he falls over. He can play a 3rd man spoiling role but could never be relied on one out.

Coghlan would already be a better defensive option than Roberton, but the club likes Roberton's supposed offensive run.

Milne wrote:Shame about Wright. Before he broke his leg I saw enough potential from him.
Wright was played as a high half forward in the VFL on the weekend and from what I have been told, he was a standout, kicked two ripper goals, used the ball beautifully and did a fantastic defensive job when they had the ball. Maybe there is still hope

Seems likely Tom Lee will be in the team this week. He'll needs to start proving he's worth his salt.

Impatient Sainter wrote:

Con although he is 194cm tall I dont think we should ever consider Roberton in the key or tall defender group. He is quite poor in one on one marking contests and often gets knocked over by much smaller opponents, touch him and he falls over. He can play a 3rd man spoiling role but could never be relied on one out.

Coghlan would already be a better defensive option than Roberton, but the club likes Roberton's supposed offensive run.
Roberton is another Saints player that is good in theory/on paper but no so good in reality. Same as Murdoch and Gilbo. Siposs was similar.

Roberton is tall, tough, can tackle and can run. What is not to like! Sounds great doesnt he?

Reality is he doesnt play tall, doesnt compete in the air, is easily out-marked, is quite slow and is untidy with his kicking and decisions. He also often goes missing for long periods in games or entire games.

Con Gorozidis wrote:As we approach the half way mark of the season I thought it was time to have quick peek at which players are OOC this year.

Wright - gone
Curren - gone
Longer - Unsure?
Lee - gone
Delaney- gone
Shenton - gone
Dempster - 1 more year?
unlikey to get rid of 8 -10 players

Wright - gone
Curren - gone
Longer - Unsure?
Lee - gone
Delaney- gone
Shenton - gone
Dempster - 1 more year?
unlikey to get rid of 8 -10 players
Extremely unlikely. Don't teams generally delist about three or four pages on average? Looks like Con hasn't taken into consideration that these guys need to be replaced and the amount of planning that goes into a team's list management.