Tom Liberatore???

With very few decent mids available to us surely the Saints need to have a crack at Tom?

YES there are some offield issues there there but the guy can play.
Yes he is recovering from a knee injury. But players these days seem to be able to come back from these well in most case.

Importantly is a free agent and so no trade cost.

Given that midfield improvement is one of our key needs and the $$$ we have reportedly been throwing at Shiel to temp him (who seems to have said no to us) surely we can make an offer larger enough to extract him out of the dogs without be way over the top silly?

I think I remember someone posted that we were not interested in Liberatore? But should we be?

Re: Tom Liberatore???

If it wasn't for his alleged lifestyle choices I'd say yes. Definitely a gun at his best and I'd go so far as to say he was among the top 2-3 players for the Dogs in their finals campaign in 2016 and they wouldn't have gone all the way without him.

We'd need to pay overs for a player of his calibre to want to leave the Dogs but he comes with baggage

I’d take him

In a heartbeat. Change of culture would do him wonders. There was a massive party culture at the dogs. Give him to Jake the Snake to keep him on the straight and narrow. Exactly the type of player we need and I dont think he'd cost the earth.

Seems like a massive flog...

ROLS-LEE

The_Dud wrote: Thu 04 Oct 2018 3:04pm Seems like a massive flog...
If a flog can play good footy anf make us better then why not.

Even flogs that can play good footy aren't good for a club environment. They are toxic individuals. Alot of workplaces have them.

Any day of the week, I know he's an insider and not precisely what we need, but he's got a bit of Lenny Hayes about him.

ROLS-LEE wrote: Thu 04 Oct 2018 3:36pm
The_Dud wrote: Thu 04 Oct 2018 3:04pm Seems like a massive flog...
If a flog can play good footy anf make us better then why not.

can he thou was ordinary in 2017 only getting more than 20 disposal 5 times in 18 matches and only played one game in 2018

wally

Heaps of flogs around , like any situation, its only a problem when they outnumber us humans.

So Libby and Rankine (who I want) with dollars left over or
Shiel and no first pick and I’m assuming something else of significance (Probably next years first round pick) and $1.3 million a year

saintsRrising wrote: Thu 04 Oct 2018 1:05pm With very few decent mids available to us surely the Saints need to have a crack at Tom?

YES there are some offield issues there there but the guy can play.
Yes he is recovering from a knee injury. But players these days seem to be able to come back from these well in most case.

Importantly is a free agent and so no trade cost.

Given that midfield improvement is one of our key needs and the $$$ we have reportedly been throwing at Shiel to temp him (who seems to have said no to us) surely we can make an offer larger enough to extract him out of the dogs without be way over the top silly?

I think I remember someone posted that we were not interested in Liberatore? But should we be?
We need depth of quality through the midfield so if he's available why wouldn't you have a glance if he's happy to chat. Imagine Hanners, Sheilzy, Sebby, Jacky, Steelzy and Libba all running through the midfield.

I'm dreaming I know but you get my drift, throw some class into the midfield and watch Seb, Jack and Steele get off the chain.

Hannebery, Carlisle and Liberatore!!!
Let's see if Cousins would like to make a comeback so we can complete the set.
I know I left Buddy out but he's out of our price range!

chico2001

Did I hear the name Michael Gardiner mentioned?

Cairnsman wrote: Thu 04 Oct 2018 7:39pm

I'm dreaming I know but you get my drift, throw some class into the midfield and watch Seb, Jack and Steele get off the chain.
I think that Steven in particular would thrive.

He is at his best as an outside player and rotating as a small impact forward. Yet of late he has often had to do of the heavy lifting in the midfield.

Improve our midfield, and free up Jack to be the damaging player that we all know that he can be.

This is a smart move
We have to be bold to do something different and he can play and reasonably cheap
I can’t see us landing Shiel so for mine, keep our pick, draft we’ll and look how we can use some other players in deals to land the next Steel
Just hope we aren’t being Shiel only focussed

chico2001 wrote: Thu 04 Oct 2018 9:05pm Did I hear the name Michael Gardiner mentioned?
Let me tell you that particular leopard did not change his spots, was lucky enough to avoid detection!He and Fisher may have used up our quota of good luck!

whiskers3614 wrote: Thu 04 Oct 2018 7:55pm Hannebery, Carlisle and Liberatore!!!
Let's see if Cousins would like to make a comeback so we can complete the set.
I know I left Buddy out but he's out of our price range!
If we don’t have a culture that can manage wayward talent... like we appear to have done with Carlisle then what on earth are we doing here? May as well fold.