Hope Rumour is wrong

saintsrus

Re: Hope Rumour is wrong

Haven't posted on here for a long time but this is so sad

My family loved him, saw his last game at western oval in a very rare win there

Condolences to his family and fellow saints fans and Tigers fans
Last edited by saintsrus on Mon 09 Sep 2019 8:22pm, edited 1 time in total.

Before Im 85

Gutted, just gutted. The sort of man that you were proud to have wearing your clubs jumper...….

Will be sadly missed by many, many people. Condolences to his family and friends......

Gutted!

Rest in peace Skipper.

A Saint by the jumper he wore.
A Saint by the man he was.
A Saint is how he'll always be remembered.
RIP great man.
I know the club and footy fraternity will be doing all in their power to help the Frawley family in this awful time.
My prayers with them.

AuckSaint

RIP spud. He was played and beat some absolute champs at fullback. Nothing fancy just heart and soul for the club

1 of the 10,000 NZ Saints members

AuckSaint wrote: Mon 09 Sep 2019 8:30pm RIP spud. He was played and beat some absolute champs at fullback. Nothing fancy just heart and soul for the club
Yep, I never saw the best of Ablett (snr) or Dunstall live, because we had Spud Frawley.

I reckon he would given Plugger a few headaches.

Such sad news and a tragedy of the worst kind

I fear there is a bit more to this which makes all that much harder for the people closest to him

guitars4

Just can't believe it!! WTF I'm devastated RIP mate :(

Just messaged Richard Osborne who is a friend of mine who is overseas at the moment and he said he was one of the true gentlemen of the game.
Danny and his family also is treated by a family member of mine as their family doctor.
Rally sad and tragic news.
This hits really hard.
RIP Captain

Heartbreaking.

One of the nicest people you would ever meet.

I doubt if anyone is as passionate about StKilda as Danny was.

MC Gusto wrote: Mon 09 Sep 2019 8:43pm Such sad news and a tragedy of the worst kind

I fear there is a bit more to this which makes all that much harder for the people closest to him
Yeah day after his birthday is wrong.

Muir_32

RIP Spud

f***!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

saintspremiers wrote: Mon 09 Sep 2019 8:58pm
MC Gusto wrote: Mon 09 Sep 2019 8:43pm Such sad news and a tragedy of the worst kind

Abc running the lifeline and beyond blue stuff now

MC Gusto wrote: Mon 09 Sep 2019 9:18pm

Some contacts in the force seem to think the same.

Absolutely tragic, heartbreaking situation 😢

Joffa Burns wrote: Mon 09 Sep 2019 9:27pm

Not surprised.

silverhalo

The Age reporting that he'd confided to close friends recently that his marriage was over and he was in financial strife due to a failed investment. Whether it was an accident or more than that doesn't change the fact that I'm heartbroken that Danny's gone; if it wasn't an accident, it hurts even more thinking what hell he was going through to resort to that seemingly having everything going for him and leaving a beautiful family behind. RIP skip, you're forever a Saint and will never be forgotten.

silverhalo wrote: Mon 09 Sep 2019 9:43pm

The Age reporting that he'd confided to close friends recently that his marriage was over and he was in financial strife due to a failed investment. Whether it was an accident or more than that doesn't change the fact that I'm heartbroken that Danny's gone; if it wasn't an accident, it hurts even more thinking what hell he was going through to resort to that seemingly having everything going for him and leaving a beautiful family behind. RIP skip, you're forever a Saint and will never be forgotten.
Incredibly sadly this is the reason for too many people taking their lives. There was a report on The Age I think a few days ago. It’s an absolute crisis that needs addressing.

Our Spud is a very public face of a huge problem - if all this is what happened today.

Rubyjo

saynta wrote: Mon 09 Sep 2019 9:42pm

Not surprised.
<full response edited by mods as breaches 3 rules but at this time of genuine grief has been let go>

saintsrus wrote: Mon 09 Sep 2019 8:21pm Haven't posted on here for a long time but this is so sad

My family loved him, saw his last game at western oval in a very rare win there

Condolences to his family and fellow saints fans and Tigers fans
Re Danny's last game.
It was a big win in a game dominated by Winmar.
Late in the last quarter Danny had a rush of blood and drifted down to the middle of the ground.
He received the ball from a teammate and went on an unashamedly selfish run into the unfamiliar territory of the forward line.
Urged on by the crowd he ignored options as he ran to the flank, looked at the scoreboard end goals ...
... and sprayed the shot out on the full!
(Pretty sure that was his last possession).

The league should launch a mental health initiative in Danny’s name ... in conjunction with Beyond Blue.

Danny was quite vocal on this issue. I think Gilligan admitted it was one of the major problems facing the game.

It’s a scourge on modern society and, unfortunately, very, very common. In football, for every guy sitting out games with mental health issues there’s probably five more who should be.

Rubyjo wrote: Mon 09 Sep 2019 10:18pm
saynta wrote: Mon 09 Sep 2019 9:42pm

Not surprised.
<full response edited by mods>
You’ve taken Sayntas comment out of context rubyjo.
I believe he was referring to mental health issues, not being heartless.

saintfox

Really devestated, was my childhood ideal loved the spud.
RIP Danny we miss you all ready. You were a true inspiration.
Taken to soon .

Be the best you can ... If not have fun trying....

RIP Danny 'Spud' Frawley

Just woke up to this devastating news.

So sad. Such a loss. A true St Kilda legend and a great man.