Hill is SOFT

He really is...

Re: Hill is SOFT

I bet all the Hill defenders (we know who you are) who last year claimed it doesn’t matter that he’s soft because he’s an ‘outside player’ won’t show their faces around here.

Repeatedly costs us week after week with his pathetic efforts.

MickThomas

He had his one good game last week, that's it for him for a while

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

chook23 wrote: Thu 15 Apr 2021 9:33pm He really is...
Yeah he is but we need his run & carry & ball use as we are very short on these type of players but yeah soft

Brad Hill makes Aaron Fiora look like Steven Baker.

In other news
-fire is hot
-Murdoch is rich

And Long is not much stronger. However, a very low act from the guy who pushed in the back into the collision. He should get weeks.

I wish he was that hard.

footynut

He just does not want to do what needs to be done... so yes soft.

Also dunstan can not kick & MCKENZIE IS s***

1965 Saint

Hill’s squibbing is ruining this team

Ape_Man

It's hard to buy into a teams ethos if part of the team is allowed to ignore it.

There is more wrong than just Hill

What came first the chicken or the egg

Is Hill s*** because we are s***??

Or

A we s*** because Hill is s***??

1965 Saint

B.M wrote: Fri 16 Apr 2021 12:56am There is more wrong than just Hill

Or

The latter. Putting your body on the line is hard , and is increasingly recognised that it has long term deleterious impacts, so it’s not surprising that a sufficient number of our team are deciding that they don’t need to commit to that when a team mate can get out of doing that scot free and earn a poultice more than everyone else in the process.

I don’t buy that,

At all, not for a minute

1965 Saint wrote: Fri 16 Apr 2021 1:06am
B.M wrote: Fri 16 Apr 2021 12:56am There is more wrong than just Hill

Or

The latter. Putting your body on the line is hard , and is increasingly recognised that it has long term deleterious impacts, so it’s not surprising that a sufficient number of our team are deciding that they don’t need to commit to that when a team mate can get out of doing that scot free and earn a poultice more than everyone else in the process.
If that is true, should that not work in reverse? Players look at Steele or Bytel or McKenzie or Hunter and say if it's good enough for them to put their bodies on the line then it's good enough for me. OR are you suggesting the majority of our list are looking for the easy out?

I agree with B.M. in that there's more to it. It certainly will not hurt for our selectors to make a statement.

1965 Saint

They bang in hard, we miss easy goals, they observe Hill’s softness cost us goals and it very quickly becomes all too hard.

Winmar7

He's one of the most skillful players on our list, and wasn't recruited for his hardness, or tackling, so I don't know why everyone expects him to be Jack Steele or Lenny Hayes. Ok, so he's down on form (not alone), and dropped an easy mark last night, but we've seen how good he is, and why we recruited him, in our best wins. He's not going to be any good for us playing for Sandringham.

Winmar7 wrote: Fri 16 Apr 2021 1:28pm He's one of the most skillful players on our list, and wasn't recruited for his hardness, or tackling, so I don't know why everyone expects him to be Jack Steele or Lenny Hayes. Ok, so he's down on form (not alone), and dropped an easy mark last night, but we've seen how good he is, and why we recruited him, in our best wins. He's not going to be any good for us playing for Sandringham.
All of that is true but, there’s also the old adage of “go when it’s your turn”. And Brad just doesn’t do that. I’m not talking about running back with the flight or anything - just simple things like laying a tackle when he confronted with a 1 on 1 situation. You can’t put your arms up at that point and say “I’m just an outside player; I don’t tackle”. All he had to do was look at the pressure that his opponent Liam Baker or Kamden McIntosh put on. It’s not like you can’t tackle if you’re a wingman - the two aren’t mutually exclusive!

Simple fact is that we’re not good enough as a team to have the luxury of an outside gun doing that alone. We need our good players to do a bit of everything.

Its not like we didnt know what we were getting when we recruited him . That said when it is your turn you must go and that squib in the 2nd quarter which cost a goal and momentum was terrible. Interestingly watching the run back after Pickett goal only 1 or 2 players went to him to lift him, - that is very poor leadership across the board. Either he needs to be got around and told not good enough lift or encouraged to do better ( based on his personality) but left to stand out on the wing basically by himself shows an issue ( perhaps elephant in the room).

We have had plenty of outside players over the years but the really good ones went when they had to or learnt they had to - Dal Santo springs to mind immediately .

older saint wrote: Fri 16 Apr 2021 1:40pm Its not like we didnt know what we were getting when we recruited him . That said when it is your turn you must go and that squib in the 2nd quarter which cost a goal and momentum was terrible. Interestingly watching the run back after Pickett goal only 1 player went to him to lift him, - that is very poor leadership across the board. Either he needs to be got around and told not good enough - lift or encouraged to do better ( based on his personality) but left to stand out on the wing basically by himself shows an issue ( perhaps elephant in the room).

We have had plenty of outside players over the years but the really good ones went when they had to or learnt they had to - Dal Santo springs to mind immediately .

silverhalo

Winmar7 wrote: Fri 16 Apr 2021 1:28pm He's one of the most skillful players on our list, and wasn't recruited for his hardness, or tackling, so I don't know why everyone expects him to be Jack Steele or Lenny Hayes. Ok, so he's down on form (not alone), and dropped an easy mark last night, but we've seen how good he is, and why we recruited him, in our best wins. He's not going to be any good for us playing for Sandringham.
Well said.....can we lay off Brad Hill, the guy is an excellent addition to our list and he's not the reason we lost last night. He might be down on form, this sort of crap will do wonders for his morale!

Brad Hill was most impressive.....in the practice match at Moorabbin before the beginning of the 2020 season.

sks023

silverhalo wrote: Fri 16 Apr 2021 2:05pm
Well said.....can we lay off Brad Hill, the guy is an excellent addition to our list and he's not the reason we lost last night. He might be down on form, this sort of crap will do wonders for his morale!
And the Crap he and his team mates served up last night is doing wonders for my morale

Look out kids, they keep it all hid

I saw him interviewed last week by Gilly on some show - before the West Coast game. Really demoralised - probably the first full-on negative attention he's received for his footy in his life. And the media were nearly as brutal as our own keyboard warriors - and will be again this week no doubt. I wouldn't be surprised if we find him on mental health leave before he gets dropped.

drop him to the Zebs for 4 matches.
I don't care whether his team-mates don't look for him.
Is Ratts saying that to deflect criticism about "why is he being paid so much, look at his substandard output"