The Saints Will Win a Flag.....

sendmehomehappy

The Saints Will Win a Flag.....

...when they f&%$off to Tasmania.

" If thought corrupts language then language can also corrupt thought."

Politics and the English Language George Orwell

Re: The Saints Will Win a Flag.....

sendmehomehappy wrote: Fri 17 Jun 2022 11:27pm ...when they f&%$off to Tasmania.
They won't win one there either, too inept.

Not in my lifetime

...in 1966, and that is all.

They are cursed

magnifisaint wrote: Fri 17 Jun 2022 11:31pm They are cursed
They are crap.

SAINT-LEE

I reckon a Tassie Trist would guarantee flags.

But I hate the thought.

Priority picks, Opportunity for our own stadium, Tasmania as our breeding ground for young players....there's so much to like, when I stop hating on it.

SAINT-LEE wrote: Fri 17 Jun 2022 11:39pm I reckon a Tassie Trist would guarantee flags.

But I hate the thought.

Priority picks, Opportunity for our own stadium, Tasmania as our breeding ground for young players....there's so much to like, when I stop hating on it.
Not sure Tassie still produces players like the ones we had in our Allan Jeans heydays.

SAINT-LEE

Wayne42 wrote: Sat 18 Jun 2022 12:15am
SAINT-LEE wrote: Fri 17 Jun 2022 11:39pm I reckon a Tassie Trist would guarantee flags.

But I hate the thought.

Not sure Tassie still produces players like the ones we had in our Allan Jeans heydays.
I hear ya, but they do produce some gems still:

https://www.afltas.com.au/tasmanians-in-afl/

I don't want to move there at all, but I think we've all seen the ridiculous cash & incentive expansion teams get for years.

The AFL has evolved to a model where it can sustain 10 Victorian teams.

St. Kilda have had their chance to prove their sustainability under the current and future AFL model and regrettably, the horse has now bolted. They now have too much debt and too little recent success.

The AFL wants to further expand their markets and the country isn’t big enough to simply grant more licences.

While relocation isn’t ideal “spiritually,” from a commercial point of view, it makes the world of sense.

Enough of the nice men in suits. Bring in some admin who demand success!
wally

I don’t think it will be in my lifetime.
When GWS and GC entered the comp a lot of people on here said they would win multiple flags each so I wouldn’t assume a move to Tassie will

Can we start small, like say making the finals 3 years out of every 5. Or starting from now, 3 out of 4.

Perhaps win our next theme game or at least not be an embarrassing rabble in it. (Might have to convince the players they are not playing on a Friday night, that timing seems to unsettle their body clocks).

Average more than 8 goals a game.

Occasionally lock the ball in the fwd 50 or crumb a goal off spoils against Max.

Recruit another actual fwd, one with ave to above average IQ.

Just little treats to start.....

darylcowie

After Friday night's pathetic capitulation to a bottom side, we should be no better than even money to beat the Eagles and Hawks with all other games being certain losses.
That will make for another 10 win/10th place season of mediocrity.
I'm seriously considering moving to the Gold Coast and supporting the Suns!
At least they try EVERY werk.

its time to make a name for yourself like you've never made before!

Should never have left Tassie - I said this 15 years ago and was shouted down on SS

One of the biggest mistakes in recent history- and there’s been many

In fact we should have doubled to 4 games there. 2 vs interstate teams 2 vs lower drawing Melbourne teams. While we were at it, we should have learned how to win there!

And I actually liked playing Bris/Sydney in NZ on ANZAC day.

I would go a step further and suggest we should have adopted the moniker Southern Saints - in reference to our stronghold in the southern/bayside/Mornington Peninsula and in Tasmania. Much in the same way the Western Bulldogs did. With the StK FC still being our traditional name.

We’d be out of debt now imo and ready to transition to an even bigger presence in TAS

B.M wrote: Sun 19 Jun 2022 1:31pm Should never have left Tassie - I said this 15 years ago and was shouted down on SS

In fact we should have doubled to 4 games there. 2 vs interstate teams 2 vs lower drawing Melbourne teams. While we were at it, we should have learned how to win there!

I would go a step further and suggest we should have adopted the moniker Southern Saints - in reference to our stronghold in the southern/bayside/Mornington Peninsula and in Tasmania. Much in the same way the Western Bulldogs did. With the StK FC still being our traditional name.

We’d be out of debt now imo and ready to transition to an even bigger presence in TAS
I don’t know about the Southern, but I was with you on Tassie.

I always thought that if we learned to play the Tassie conditions rather than embrace the “it’s too hard mantra”... well imagine what that might have done for us in 2009

darylcowie wrote: Sun 19 Jun 2022 1:08pm After Friday night's pathetic capitulation to a bottom side, we should be no better than even money to beat the Eagles and Hawks with all other games being certain losses.
That will make for another 10 win/10th place season of mediocrity.
I'm seriously considering moving to the Gold Coast and supporting the Suns!
At least they try EVERY werk.
Come on Dazza I know it's frustrating being a Saints supporter but I don't know if Gold Coast would be any better keep the faith mate :wink:

The vast majority (if not entirety) of SS posters wanted to scrap TAS!

They believe it cost us games and ladder positions. Plus they were selfish and wanted to be able to attend 16 games per season - never mind that our TAS members wanted! P66 was the main protagonist who argued black and blue with me about getting out of TAS!

We needed to learn to win away from the roof at Docklands, if we were to be a contender and playing in TAS would have actually helped!

Hawthorn showed us how to do it - on every level.

bring back the pre-season cup. we were alright at that.

IIRC

Both Pre Season wins were on our home ground?

We were dynamite at Waverley in the mid to late 90s and even better at Docklands in the mid 00s

MCG was were it counted and you needed to be able to win interstate if you were serious about it

So much nonsense.

The Saints are the only club in the southern region of Melbourne, which has a bigger population than Tasmania.

It's more than sustainable in principle.

Problem is, we've ben cursed with inepr and delusional admins for years.

The current mob has done plenty of admirble things but is saddled with the misguided notion that if you're kind and considerate then everything else will fall into place.

Finnis is the King of Woke. Lethlean bet the farm on Hill and Hannebury.

Ratts is turning into the new Richo but no one will say a harsh word to him lest we hurt his feelings.

Things can change, though. It's far from impossible that King, NWM and the like will play in flag team. Less likely than Billings and Ross will.

Have you ever thought that StK makes coaches look bad, not coaches make StK look bad?

For a coach to come to StK - it’s a massive gamble - and most likely a career killer!!!!!

Even when we’ve had obvious good coaches - we’ve butchered their exits

... in a parallel universe where our gun recruiters drafted in Petracca, Bontompelli, Touk Miller and Bolton, we have already won the last 3 flags in a row and look set for our fourth - and AR, mister nice guy, is still our coach.

So there's plenty to cheer about.

SunnyErnie

B.M wrote: Sun 19 Jun 2022 1:31pm Should never have left Tassie - I said this 15 years ago and was shouted down on SS

When I read your post BM. I honestly thought I wrote it. I agree 100%. In actual fact I told Butters at the AGM all those years ago that abandoning Tassie will one day come back and bite us. As far as NZ goes, we should be lobbying the AFL to help fund the redevelopment of the ground in Auckland. I think it’s called Western Springs. I would love us to play there every ANZAC day

St Kilda should never trade with Essendon and Sydney ever again!!!

NeXus

samoht wrote: Sun 19 Jun 2022 9:54pm ... in a parallel universe where our gun recruiters drafted in Petracca, Bontompelli, Touk Miller and Bolton, we have already won the last 3 flags in a row and look set for our fourth - and AR, mister nice guy, is still our coach.

So there's plenty to cheer about.
Ah, what a dream destination this Bizarro World St.Kilda would be? How do I get there. Perhaps I need the help of a wild-eyed scientist and a time machine masqueraded as a DeLorean!
Last edited by Sainternist on Mon 20 Jun 2022 7:30pm, edited 1 time in total.

D.B.Cooper

Not sure who shouted you down on Saintsational.

My recollection was that most were in favour of staying in Tassie and called it a mistake at the time.

I may be wrong but thought the move away was instigated by Grant Thomas.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!