We’ll beat sydney

And we’ll get things back on track from there when we roll Carlton the following week

St Stav

Re: We’ll beat sydney

Try and remember that we are still 8-5 so things aren’t that bad,I still think we’ve got a strong squad and Steele should be back this week

Good to know.

I was a trifle concerned about form, history and bookies ratings.

Thanks for clearing that up.

Yorkeys wrote: Mon 20 Jun 2022 3:54pm Good to know.

I was a trifle concerned about form, history and bookies ratings.

Thanks for clearing that up.
You seem to be struggling with prejudice.

Bookmark Top 4

Bookmark Top 4 ..... twice
Last edited by Devilhead on Mon 20 Jun 2022 4:20pm, edited 1 time in total.

I agree, and I also thought we'd drop the Brisbane and Essendon games.

Laurie

Just watched the 1998 Swans v St.Kilda at SCG to get the heart pumping and blood flowing.
Sziiller kicked 6 and we could do no wrong.
Some great players bringing back great memories.
Yes i was there and will be there next Saturday.
BOOM BOOM

SaintWiki

They may very well dig deep and beat Sydney this week because getting our hopes up and then bringing us down appears to be the rules of the game they are playing

We almost rolled Sydney at the SCG last year; and we’d had our backs to wall after that horror loss to Adelaide up in Cairns. I won’t be writing us off yet. Last Friday’s game could actually work as a wake up call to the team. There is plenty of resilience there. Anyway, we’ll see!

BadRossco

Bit optimistic to beat Sydney, expect to beat Westcoast and maybe Hawthorn but that will probably be about it giving us 10 wins same as last season.

Weren’t we going to flog Essendon?

It’s not beyond us but we all know as per last year script with Bombers - Dogs will belt us Bont will kick his usual 4
Just like Stringer ….plays 1 good game a year against saints

George27

Laurie wrote: Mon 20 Jun 2022 4:38pm Just watched the 1998 Swans v St.Kilda at SCG to get the heart pumping and blood flowing.
BOOM BOOM
I was there too and it was extraordinary. We played perfect footy that night . Would be nice if we could replicate that this weekend.

I won’t be able to watch the game on Saturday- Mrs George has bought us tickets to a live show called Hamilton. Presumably no one has heard about it . Perhaps it is an expose of life at VFL
House in the 70s and 80s. Will try to catch the Saints scores at half time in the show.

Beating Sydney in Sydney? We hardly ever beat them in Melbourne.

The selection table will be interesting this week. So many poor performers against the drug cheats.

cwrcyn wrote: Mon 20 Jun 2022 9:51pm Beating Sydney in Sydney? We hardly ever beat them in Melbourne.

The selection table will be interesting this week. So many poor performers against the drug cheats.
Who thinks Ratts n co sticks with the small fwd plan.
Butler and his party tricks, Snags with his 8 kicks and 1.3 score...
He'll bring in Windy, who got 31 for Zebs.

Not sure who gets dropped.
Possibly Long for Wood?

Re small fwds
Missy Higgins songs:
Carry you
Any day now
Every one's waiting
Set me on fire.

WellardSaint wrote: Mon 20 Jun 2022 9:54pm
cwrcyn wrote: Mon 20 Jun 2022 9:51pm Beating Sydney in Sydney? We hardly ever beat them in Melbourne.

Who thinks Ratts n co sticks with the small fwd plan.
Butler and his party tricks, Snags with his 8 kicks and 1.3 score...
He'll bring in Windy, who got 31 for Zebs.

Not sure who gets dropped.
Possibly Long for Wood?
If he does
Pack your bags Brett

Sainternist wrote: Mon 20 Jun 2022 5:09pm We almost rolled Sydney at the SCG last year; and we’d had our backs to wall after that horror loss to Adelaide up in Cairns. I won’t be writing us off yet. Last Friday’s game could actually work as a wake up call to the team. There is plenty of resilience there. Anyway, we’ll see!
That’s what I’m hoping.

I’d expect some sort of bounce back like we had in the 3rd quarter.

South will be looking to do the same.

Whether it’s enough to pull off a victory is another matter.

Sorry but for me confidence in this club has been shaky at best for such a long time.
Our last game validates my mindset. We have a team of individuals with seemingly no direction from above. I can’t believe we will beat Sydney

Torn

The Fireman wrote: Tue 21 Jun 2022 12:02am Sorry but for me confidence in this club has been shaky at best for such a long time.
Our last game validates my mindset. We have a team of individuals with seemingly no direction from above. I can’t believe we will beat Sydney

Torn
Hear you Firey
Fri I left the ground dejected
I looked at this game against a long time bogey side as a chance to be show all we are not that brittle side anymore
We are a good side that wins these games
To kick 5 level it then go to water again was even worse
It’s sliding doors time for this club

nobhead

Be more pissed off if they come out and play well and beat sydney this week .after such a gutless effort last week for spuds game..

It wont matter if we do, nothing will make up the 4 points and calamity of last weeks effort. On current form I dont expect too many wins in the run home -

Sydney - Loss
Carlton - Win
Freo - Loss
Bulldogs - Loss
WCE - Win
Hawthorn - Win
Geelong - Loss
Brisbane - Loss
Sydney - Win

Because the club/team are so mentally flawed, if I am being realistic I dont expect to play finals. Even if they do they will only limp in and not trouble anyone. I know things can change quickly in football, but last week the club again displayed a real soft underbelly that has been haunting them for years.

My prediction is no finals and the Ratten/Lade/Rath combo are all looking for another job at seasons end. In the space of 3 weeks I have gone from a Ratten supporter to totally convinced he doesnt have a handle on the gig, particularly his match day coaching is very poor!
Last edited by Impatient Sainter on Tue 21 Jun 2022 3:36pm, edited 1 time in total.

Laurie wrote: Mon 20 Jun 2022 4:38pm Just watched the 1998 Swans v St.Kilda at SCG to get the heart pumping and blood flowing.
BOOM BOOM
I'll be there as well Laurie. We can sit on the Jack Billings Wing 😉

George27 wrote: Mon 20 Jun 2022 9:51pm
BOOM BOOM
I was there too and it was extraordinary. We played perfect footy that night . Would be nice if we could replicate that this weekend.

I won’t be able to watch the game on Saturday- Mrs George has bought us tickets to a live show called Hamilton. Presumably no one has heard about it . Perhaps it is an expose of life at VFL
House in the 70s and 80s. Will try to catch the Saints scores at half time in the show.
There's every chance your night will be more enjoyable than ours - I've heard it's a great show.