Match Thread Saints v Power Round 7 2023

Re: Match Thread Saints v Power Round 7 2023

Ghost Like wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:33am Teflon, a quick question. Did any midfielders turn the ball over multiple times? Did any forwards fumble the ball? Oh, did any or all of Paton's alleged errors result in goals or are they just convenient for your angst.
By the way, I've watched Webster as long as you have, turnovers and pannicked decisions are as familiar to him. The other thing both have in common are they are both courageous. That said, if I was to pick a shut down defender, I'd choose Paton.
Thanks but you answered none of my questions
Just posed more questions…
You think Paton has been as good since coming back from his leg break….are you really trying to argue he has?????
I don’t think watching the game supports your view
Once upon a time I’d have said he’s more reliable than Webster
That’s clearly not the case now

The Fireman wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:44pm
SydneySainter wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:40pm Call it for what it was, we were s**t and Port (as ALWAYS) have found us out.

Just as in 2022, we’ll struggle to win games of footy from here.
Gee you have little faith in this side

This one of the best sides I have seen in years and we will play finals with this team

I think you may be a little bit out of touch
I hope you’re right, but I can’t see it. Again, Port have shown how to beat us and the Lions, Swans, Crows and the Cats will tear us apart.

North are now playing us at the right time.

Like last year, I can’t see us recovering.

amusingname wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:37am Good to see people in this thread are taking the loss maturely. Drop everyone, mum comments, punch on in real life reactions to mum comments. Just need a call for a board overthrow by GT and we will be all set!

We lost by 7 to a decent team who happen to be our bogey opponent at the moment. Frustrating game but not memberships in the microwave material
Totally agree
I think only Sydney’s gone scorched earth
Reality is though we can discuss a loss and discuss areas where we fell down or how we think we might get better
That’s not microwaving memberships
That’s a footy fan forum

SydneySainter wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:39am
SydneySainter wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:40pm Call it for what it was, we were s**t and Port (as ALWAYS) have found us out.

This one of the best sides I have seen in years and we will play finals with this team

I hope you’re right, but I can’t see it. Again, Port have shown how to beat us and the Lions, Swans, Crows and the Cats will tear us apart.

Sydney you’re forgetting…
RTB coaches this side ..
We won’t fold like wet lettuce
We didn’t tonight they fought it out
Second half last year we lose that by 5 goals

Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:35am
bobmurray wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:32am
Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:28am
bobmurray wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:25am
Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:11am
bobmurray wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:00am
Teflon wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:51pm
bobmurray wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:45pm
Teflon wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:44pm
bobmurray wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:41pm
Teflon wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:38pm
bobmurray wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:37pm
The Fireman wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:34pm
Teflon wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:30pm
meher baba wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:29pm
CURLY wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:27pm
meher baba wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:25pm
CURLY wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:23pm Byrnes and Paton must go. Both a liability.
I'm sorry to have to say it, but I thought they both had significantly better games than Philippou.
Yep true but both were garbage.
I'm hardly one of his fans, but I noticed Paton do quite a few good things. What was wrong with his game exactly?
I think you’re a Collingwood troll if you honestly saw the game like that ….seriously
I think you need to take a breather mate
he's now worried Ross might not be the messiah. :lol: :lol:
You jump off quick??
Poor coaching???
I was making an excuse for you trying to making a fool of yourself. :lol: :lol:
Or just being a flog
It matters little …,you’re light on for footy opinions I note …maybe internet brownie points more your thing?
Whatever floats your boat I guess …
I think you'll always out flog me, but i don't mind.
Oh I think you flog a bit..
I know when i'm out flogged though, especially reading the replies to your posts. Did you watch the game with Sydney ?
No I was over at your mums place and she was telling me what a populist flog you were
Whose Sydney?
if you are ever at my mum's place i would give you a liverpool kiss, if you want up meet up i'll prove it, ya flog.

don't ever get personal again, ya weak turd.
Mum says hi
tell your mum to get f***ed
Now there’s that flog I was talking about
You hanging out with Sydney atm??
Mum would smash you turd
What a flog, just because RTB has been found out.
If you ever want a meet and greet, let me know.

Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:38am
Ghost Like wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:33am Teflon, a quick question. Did any midfielders turn the ball over multiple times? Did any forwards fumble the ball? Oh, did any or all of Paton's alleged errors result in goals or are they just convenient for your angst.
By the way, I've watched Webster as long as you have, turnovers and pannicked decisions are as familiar to him. The other thing both have in common are they are both courageous. That said, if I was to pick a shut down defender, I'd choose Paton.
You think Paton has been as good since coming back from his leg break….are you really trying to argue he has?????
Nice dance Teflon. You blame this loss on Paton, I don't. I do not believe his 3 alleged errors were the reason we lost if you do that's your issue. I'll back Paton over Webster. In fact, to use your phrase, I'll bet Paton plays in our next Premiership.
I see you did not answer my questions either, our mids and forwards must have been perfect tonight.

Ghost Like wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:47am
Nice dance Teflon. You blame this loss on Paton, I don't. I do not believe his 3 alleged errors were the reason we lost if you do that's your issue. I'll back Paton over Webster. In fact, to use your phrase, I'll bet Paton plays in our next Premiership.
I see you did not answer my questions either, our mids and forwards must have been perfect tonight.
Dance??
Please put up my post where I state: “we lost because of Ben Paton”
Honestly mate pot kettle black???
If you’re going to put words in my mouth at least make it credible
I asked questions first….you conveniently ignore…then whinge after you post more questions???
You think Paton was awesome tonight - good for you
I think he’ll go out when Webster is fit
Let’s see what RTB thinks in a few weeks.

amusingname wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:37am Good to see people in this thread are taking the loss maturely. Drop everyone, mum comments, punch on in real life reactions to mum comments. Just need a call for a board overthrow by GT and we will be all set!

We lost by 7 to a decent team who happen to be our bogey opponent at the moment. Frustrating game but not memberships in the microwave material
No need for mum comments, but there is no accounting for flogs.

i never realised teffers was that bitter.

Must have had a poor upbringing.

bobmurray wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:46am
Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:35am
bobmurray wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:32am
Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:28am
bobmurray wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:25am
Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:11am
bobmurray wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:00am
Teflon wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:51pm
bobmurray wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:45pm
Teflon wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:44pm
bobmurray wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:41pm
Teflon wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:38pm
bobmurray wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:37pm
The Fireman wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:34pm
Teflon wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:30pm
meher baba wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:29pm
CURLY wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:27pm
meher baba wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:25pm
CURLY wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:23pm Byrnes and Paton must go. Both a liability.
I'm sorry to have to say it, but I thought they both had significantly better games than Philippou.
Yep true but both were garbage.
I'm hardly one of his fans, but I noticed Paton do quite a few good things. What was wrong with his game exactly?
I think you’re a Collingwood troll if you honestly saw the game like that ….seriously
I think you need to take a breather mate
he's now worried Ross might not be the messiah. :lol: :lol:
You jump off quick??
Poor coaching???
I was making an excuse for you trying to making a fool of yourself. :lol: :lol:
Or just being a flog
It matters little …,you’re light on for footy opinions I note …maybe internet brownie points more your thing?
Whatever floats your boat I guess …
I think you'll always out flog me, but i don't mind.
Oh I think you flog a bit..
I know when i'm out flogged though, especially reading the replies to your posts. Did you watch the game with Sydney ?
No I was over at your mums place and she was telling me what a populist flog you were
Whose Sydney?
if you are ever at my mum's place i would give you a liverpool kiss, if you want up meet up i'll prove it, ya flog.

don't ever get personal again, ya weak turd.
Mum says hi
tell your mum to get f***ed
Now there’s that flog I was talking about
You hanging out with Sydney atm??
Mum would smash you turd
What a flog, just because RTB has been found out.
If you ever want a meet and greet, let me know.
You’re a little unhinged buddy and I’d never take advantage of those in need
You shouldn’t go around the internet making tough guy threats no one really knows anyone here do they ?
Now toddle off.

bobmurray wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:52am

Hello here’s Rocky wants to fight everyone???
Who’s the flog hey????

We looked tired and therefore lazy. I think this game was lost in selection. Not bringing in some fresh legs after two hard games and a 5 day turn around hurt us.
Even so we stayed in the fight all things considered.
I don’t understand Cordy’s role? 1 kick and 3 hit outs in 3 quarters is not good enough.
Paton is in shocking form with his boot. Turns it over too many times.
Pou looked cooked tonight And could do with a rest.
Others looked like they ran out of legs.

Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:51am
Dance??
I asked questions first….you conveniently ignore…then whinge after you post more questions???
You are a very angry little man aren't you?
You are asked questions first, I asked questions. It appears neither of us answered any. Instead you state I thought Paton was awesome, please quote that bit. I don't whinge, you ark up, big difference...way too angry for a footy discussion, we must be on the internet.

Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:55am
bobmurray wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:52am

Hello here’s Rocky wants to fight everyone???
Who’s the flog hey????
Not everyone idiot, just you.

Minced meat.

Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:42am

RTB coaches this side ..
I sincerely hope you’re right Tefs, but if our experienced mids of Crouch, Steele and Ross couldn’t keep a teenager in check, we have issues.

Also, if we’re hedging our bets on Jones, Billings & King returning, then we have big problems.

Again, I hope you’re right.

Fans who blame a loss on just 1 or 2 players have nfi. They really don't deserve the time of day

It's a team game and the club and the coaches are just as much to blame for any loss as are the leadership group and the players

Ghost Like wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:59am
Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:51am
Dance??
You are a very angry little man aren't you?
You are asked questions first, I asked questions. It appears neither of us answered any. Instead you state I thought Paton was awesome, please quote that bit. I don't whinge, you ark up, big difference...way too angry for a footy discussion, we must be on the internet.
Wow
You don’t like me calling you out for posting things I didn’t say
Then accuse me of being “angry”
Odd response but ok good for you Patons a star !

Scollop wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 1:03am Fans who blame a loss on just 1 or 2 players have nfi. They really don't deserve the time of day

It's a team game and the club and the coaches are just as much to blame for any loss as are the leadership group and the players
Agreed
Can you please put up the posts of all those who have said
This loss was the result of 1 or 2 players
I just haven’t seen that is all
I have seen players who performed poorly called out but that’s what happens when you discuss footy
Look forward to you naming and shaming these low life’s

SydneySainter wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 1:00am
Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:42am

RTB coaches this side ..
I sincerely hope you’re right Tefs, but if our experienced mids of Crouch, Steele and Ross couldn’t keep a teenager in check, we have issues.

Also, if we’re hedging our bets on Jones, Billings & King returning, then we have big problems.

Again, I hope you’re right.
I do think we saw what an elite young kid/midfielder is capable of
We just don’t have any is our problem
Our midfield was bullied tonight
Looked better when Sinclair class went in there for sure
I wish we had a Bont ….we don’t
We’ll need to improve that area big time over next year or 2
Owens in there drifting forward to kick goals would be a nightmare for opponents…bring it on

Too angry Teflon, way too angry for a 7 point loss. Take a bex, wake up tomorrow, take a deep breathe and realise Paton isn't the reason we lost, he may have been part of it, as much as the other 22.
I look forward to someone throwing you a nice, shiny, squeaky GT toy for you to latch on to & rip apart.
You went early & you were 100% correct on Ratten's demise & Lyon's reincarnation...total respect!
But let's face it, tonight's loss should not fall at the feet of a back pocket or fringe winger or barely best 25 utility. We should have won but somehow I think the loss will do us more good.

saintkid wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:23am
Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:14am
cwrcyn wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:53pm Port looked fresher after quarter time.

We made some dumb errors and our movement from D50 to F50 was constipated. As for our forward half there wasn't enough lateral movement and we kept bombing it in.

Phillipou was running up and down in the spot after quarter time. He was knackered and had a poor game.

Membrey is very poor defensively and we can't afford that with our games plan

We miss Caminiti.

The Cordy experiment can't go on forever

Overall, we looked fatigued and errors and fumbles cost is dearly
Agreed
Membrey
1. Can’t bring the ball to ground in a contest
2. Is a liability when it hits the ground
3. Has one of the slowest brain to foot decision making skills in the side
4. Won’t lead….thinks he’s King…
5. Treacle slow

Liability
Caminiti please for gods sake hurry back..
Unfortunately Teflon you are dead right about Membrey.
He doesn't offer much if he can't mark the ball and he's not getting to contests like he used to anymore, in his attempts to take a mark.
I feared this when he came back in the side and it was on show clearly tonight, as it was for most of last year's games.
Skunk and Steele were coming off a five day break. So what you say...yeah...but they also missed a large chunk so I give Skunk some leeway

There are some obvious things that the coaches neglected when preparing for this match.

We lost it at match committee just as much as the match ups and execution on the night.

Ohhhhh... and by the way...for those criticising Skunk for not taking contested pack marks in the forward line.

Since when was he ever been our number 1 key forward? He is 188cm for goodness sake!!

Jack Steele is nearly as tall as him

Zaine Cordy is 1.95cm and Mich Owens is 191

..but hey ...it's often true that you learn more from losses, so perhaps this is the loss that we had to have.

Perhaps you need to test players under duress. My only beef is that they weren't given every opportunity to win as a team. They might have been set up to fail tonight
Last edited by Scollop on Sat 29 Apr 2023 1:37am, edited 2 times in total.

Ghost Like wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 1:15am Too angry Teflon, way too angry for a 7 point loss. Take a bex, wake up tomorrow, take a deep breathe and realise Paton isn't the reason we lost, he may have been part of it, as much as the other 22.
I look forward to someone throwing you a nice, shiny, squeaky GT toy for you to latch on to & rip apart.
You went early & you were 100% correct on Ratten's demise & Lyon's reincarnation...total respect!
But let's face it, tonight's loss should not fall at the feet of a back pocket or fringe winger or barely best 25 utility. We should have won but somehow I think the loss will do us more good.
Look again nice try “angry Teffers” blah blah
I’ll ask again (waste of time I know)
Please put up where I posted Paton was solely responsible for the loss
Most balanced posters know that’s nonsense and you’re posturing
You don’t need to do that - it’s a footy forum
You think he’s wonderful, again good for you
But please let’s stop with churlish sniping it weakens your arguments (and they ain’t strong ..)😏

Scollop wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 1:27am
saintkid wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:23am
Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:14am
cwrcyn wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:53pm Port looked fresher after quarter time.

We made some dumb errors and our movement from D50 to F50 was constipated. As for our forward half there wasn't enough lateral movement and we kept bombing it in.

Phillipou was running up and down in the spot after quarter time. He was knackered and had a poor game.

Membrey is very poor defensively and we can't afford that with our games plan

We miss Caminiti.

The Cordy experiment can't go on forever

Overall, we looked fatigued and errors and fumbles cost is dearly
Agreed
Membrey
1. Can’t bring the ball to ground in a contest
2. Is a liability when it hits the ground
3. Has one of the slowest brain to foot decision making skills in the side
4. Won’t lead….thinks he’s King…
5. Treacle slow

Liability
Caminiti please for gods sake hurry back..
Unfortunately Teflon you are dead right about Membrey.
He doesn't offer much if he can't mark the ball and he's not getting to contests like he used to anymore, in his attempts to take a mark.
I feared this when he came back in the side and it was on show clearly tonight, as it was for most of last year's games.
Skunk and Steele were coming off a five day break. So what you say...yeah...but they also missed a large chunk so I give Skunk some leeway

There are some obvious things that the coaches neglected when preparing for this match.

We lost it at match committee just as much as the match ups and execution on the night.

Ohhhhh... and by the way...for those criticising Skunk for not taking contested pack marks in the forward line.

Since when was he ever been our number 1 key forward? He is 188cm for goodness sake!!

Jack Steele is nearly as tall as him

Zaine Cordy is 1.95cm and Mich Owens is 191

..but hey ...it's often true that you learn more from losses, so perhaps this is the loss that we had to have.

Perhaps you need to test players under duress. My only beef is that they weren't given every opportunity to win as a team. They might have been set up to fail tonight
That’s all true except if Membrey isn’t a contested no 1 marking forward….then don’t stand there and demand the footy be kicked on your head cause you are totally ineffective
Get on your bike???????
He doesn’t and my point is he hasn’t for some time
You might be right ….maybe second game blues and I’d expect a bounce back against a weaker Kangas
But tonight as both coaches said in the presser …was finals like pressure….and Tim (and others) were found wanting when the whips were cracking
That might be brutal but we gotta be brutal if we want to get top 4, top 2 and chase that flag ….

Pretty good career

260 goals in 150 odd games

For a dud

BTW
Stop the fkn multiple post quoting- it is ridiculous