Cousins' Charges to be Dropped?

riccardo

I don't have ESP, but to say I saw this coming is a vast understatement.

Nobody appreciates true brilliance. :roll:

TimeToShineFellas

FFS I seriously can't believe people are sticking up for this drug addict.....

If he wasn't a footballer and was the average joe and got pulled up on the street (let's use Barkly Street in Footscray as an example) and charged by the police he'd cop shyte from all and sundry.

But then I remembered he's a footballer so we should feel sorry for him.

What kind of society are we becoming where we feel sorry for one group of people based on status and what they do in the community and heap rubbish on a different group suffering the same problem?

Some clowns need to get a fair dinkum grip on reality.

TimeToShineFellas wrote:FFS I seriously can't believe people are sticking up for this drug addict.....

If he wasn't a footballer and was the average joe and got pulled up on the street (let's use Barkly Street in Footscray as an example) and charged by the police he'd cop shyte from all and sundry.

What kind of society are we becoming where we feel sorry for one group of people based on status and what they do in the community and heap rubbish on a different group suffering the same problem?

Add in: He's not just a footballer, but one of the best players ever to play the game......oh, and I've been told by several women that he is god damm hot also.

Two big points of difference between him and the rest......

congorozides

i dont care about his hotness. but id have him at the saints in a heartbeat.
pre-season draft - here we come.

Cityboy

TimeToShineFellas wrote:FFS I seriously can't believe people are sticking up for this drug addict.....

No, the average Joe would cop less s*** from the same Sundry who give Cousins s***.

I don't think anyone here has said they feel sorry for Cousins. Just some of us aren't condemming the man for an Obvious addiction he's fighting through.

And I hope all those who are damming the dude have lead Squeky Clean lives and arent stone Throwers from their Lofty Glass Towers.
________
Marijuana Seed
Last edited by Cityboy on Wed 16 Feb 2011 11:21am, edited 1 time in total.

noreason41

I feel sorry for him..

Same way i'd feel sorry for any other good player's that had a problem, and then got the sack for it; Saints player or not.

riccardo

saintspremiers wrote: Add in: He's not just a footballer, but one of the best players ever to play the game......oh, and I've been told by several women that he is god damm hot also.

Two big points of difference between him and the rest......
He used to be hot about 2001 or so, but he looks sallow and pasty now.

That tatt is a huge turn off, too. :?

buzfromgronggrong

riccardo wrote:
buzfromgronggrong wrote:
riccardo wrote:Nah, hes stuffed I reckon.

He was fortunate to get to play again the last time IMHO.

Nail him to the wall.
ur a nastly little piece of work arent u?
I prefer to think I take a hardline stance on junkies who figuratively spit in the face of those who try to help them.
And good on you too - I actually find all social deviates to be repugnant - junkies, homos, hookers - the whole damn lot!

throw em all in jail and chuck away the key i say!

buzfromgronggrong wrote:
riccardo wrote:
buzfromgronggrong wrote:

Nail him to the wall.
I prefer to think I take a hardline stance on junkies who figuratively spit in the face of those who try to help them.
And good on you too - I actually find all social deviates to be repugnant - junkies, homos, hookers - the whole damn lot!

you're a funny man.......

TimeToShineFellas wrote:If he wasn't a footballer and was the average joe and got pulled up on the street (let's use Barkly Street in Footscray as an example) and charged by the police he'd cop shyte from all and sundry.
I disagree with this totally.

noreason41

I take back what i said about him maybe getting the sack due to an incorrect charge.

Cousins drug charge dropped
WEST COAST says the police's decision to drop Ben Cousins' drug charge won't affect the decision to sack its former captain. He still faces one charge of failing to take a blood test.
"The West Coast Eagles have today been informed that police will drop the charge against Ben Cousins of being in possession of a prohibited substance," a statement from the club said.

"This does not change the club position or the decision made on Wednesday to terminate Ben's contract because of repeated and serious breaches to his agreement with the club."
Cousins was charged with possessing a prohibited drug after police pulled him over for driving erratically on Tuesday.

He was also charged with failing to comply with a requirement to undergo a driver assessment.
WA Assistant Commissioner for Special Crimes, Wayne Gregson, said police had dropped the one drug possession charge against the sacked West Coast Eagles midfielder on advice from the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP).

Mr Gregson said a diazepam, or Valium, pill was found on Cousins, but the DPP said that it was only a prohibited drug in a liquid, injectable form.

However he said several other drugs were also found in the car, in which there were also two passengers.

"The following drugs were seized from the vehicle: oxycontin, which is a prohibited drug, diazepam, Viagra ... and a $20 note which preliminary indications and analysis show traces of MDMA, which is ecstasy and cocaine," he told reporters in Perth.

Sxc_Sainter

Otiman wrote:
TimeToShineFellas wrote:If he wasn't a footballer and was the average joe and got pulled up on the street (let's use Barkly Street in Footscray as an example) and charged by the police he'd cop shyte from all and sundry.
I disagree with this totally.
I do too, in fact i think the opposite. I don't know but I think the reason he cops crap is BECAUSE of the fact his a footballer, and young children idolize him all over the country. If he wasn't a footballer, I believe that people are more likely to sympathize with him for the fact that he's sick and just cant get himself right. Anyway, if he wasn't a footballer, he probably wouldn't even get a second thought from too many people, let alone cop crap.

oxycodone..... is a potentially addictive opioid analgesic medication synthesized from thebaine. It is a commonly used medication for treatment of pain in cancer patients.[1] It was developed in 1916 in Germany and introduced to the pharmaceutical market as Eukodal® (also spelled Eucodal) and Dinarkon®. Its chemical name is derived from codeine - the chemical structures are very similar, differing only in that the hydroxyl group of codeine has been oxidized to a carbonyl group (as in ketones), hence 'oxycodone', and in the 7,8-dihydro-feature (Codeine has a double-bond between those two carbons).

In the United States, oxycodone is a Schedule II controlled substance both as a single agent and in combination with products containing paracetamol (aka acetaminophen), ibuprofen or aspirin. It was first introduced to the US market in May 1939.

Oxycodone is a drug subject to abuse,[2] and is included in the sections for the most strongly controlled substances that have a commonly accepted medical use under the German Betäubungsmittelgesetz (III) (Analgetics Act), the Swiss law of the same title, UK Misuse of Drugs Act (Class A), Canadian controlled substances act, Austrian Suchtmittelgesetz (Addictives Act), Australian, New Zealand, Japanese and South African controlled substance laws, just to name a few. It is also subject to international treaties controlling psychoactive drugs subject to abuse or dependence.

saintsrus

noreason41 wrote:I take back what i said about him maybe getting the sack due to an incorrect charge.

Cousins drug charge dropped
WEST COAST says the police's decision to drop Ben Cousins' drug charge won't affect the decision to sack its former captain. He still faces one charge of failing to take a blood test.
"The West Coast Eagles have today been informed that police will drop the charge against Ben Cousins of being in possession of a prohibited substance," a statement from the club said.

"This does not change the club position or the decision made on Wednesday to terminate Ben's contract because of repeated and serious breaches to his agreement with the club."
Cousins was charged with possessing a prohibited drug after police pulled him over for driving erratically on Tuesday.

He was also charged with failing to comply with a requirement to undergo a driver assessment.
WA Assistant Commissioner for Special Crimes, Wayne Gregson, said police had dropped the one drug possession charge against the sacked West Coast Eagles midfielder on advice from the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP).

Mr Gregson said a diazepam, or Valium, pill was found on Cousins, but the DPP said that it was only a prohibited drug in a liquid, injectable form.

However he said several other drugs were also found in the car, in which there were also two passengers.

"The following drugs were seized from the vehicle: oxycontin, which is a prohibited drug, diazepam, Viagra ... and a $20 note which preliminary indications and analysis show traces of MDMA, which is ecstasy and cocaine," he told reporters in Perth.
He needs Viagra?, either the chicks wont leave him alone or due to using roids, scary :?

Before Im 85
buzfromgronggrong

buzfromgronggrong wrote:
riccardo wrote:
buzfromgronggrong wrote:

Nail him to the wall.

you're a funny man.......
Is there anything quite so 'on the nose' as a nastly little right wing queen?

How soon they forget! :roll:

buzfromgronggrong wrote:

i normally like your posts....but not when they are homophobic rants......

buzfromgronggrong

buzfromgronggrong wrote:

you miss the point mate - think about it!

buzfromgronggrong wrote:

you miss the point mate - think about it!

wouldn't be the first time..... :wink: :lol:

noreason41 wrote:
"The following drugs were seized from the vehicle: oxycontin, which is a prohibited drug, diazepam, Viagra ... and a $20 note which preliminary indications and analysis show traces of MDMA, which is ecstasy and cocaine," he told reporters in Perth.[/i]
sounds like the cocktail that killed mainwairing...

Cousins is a vainglorious, pretentious, pretty boy, wannabe gangster

How anyone could feel sorry for him is beyond comprehension

Devilhead wrote:vainglorious
Word of the day! Good work...... :wink: :D

However, I can find some room to feel a little empathy for the bloke.

Richter wrote:
Devilhead wrote:vainglorious
Word of the day! Good work...... :wink: :D

However, I can find some room to feel a little empathy for the bloke.
'Cousins' arrest capped off a four-day bender that featured a wild weekend house party at Chick's home in Ocean Reef, the Herald Sun understands.

The bender followed the recent drug overdose death of his friend, Eagles legend Chris Mainwaring.

It had been claimed Cousins, who visited his mate the night he died, had taken a drug test the day after the tragedy.

But doubt last night emerged about whether Cousins had in fact taken a test, with reports that Perth's pathology centre had never received a sample belonging to the troubled champion.

Channel 9 reported the pathology centre was the only location where a sample could have been analysed and said police had not ordered a test. The network reported senior club officials had also claimed they did not know whether Cousins' had been tested.'

there is a lot of misinformation published about benny.......he's a bit of a lost cause....yep that is sad.......i don't normally give up on druggies.....but benny has had enough chances....

danners

he didnt have to have a blood test

he was breath tested and it was negative, therefore no need for a blood test.

also wasnt his car. the $20 note was in one of the strippers pockets.

i believe that the car belongs to his drug dealer, yes i do believe he has one, and the police were after the dealer and followed the car from previous locations thinking he was driving it, then pull him up and find ben cousins is in it, then they harass the f*** out of the bloke eg. making him take his shirt off, making him sit in the car then saying move over to the middle, then changing mind and saying move back to window seat.

and now they have nothing on the guy so they have to drop charges.

feel free to disagree

and1showtime_23@msn.com wrote:he didnt have to have a blood test

i believe that the car belongs to his drug dealer, yes i do believe he has one, and the police were after the dealer and followed the car from previous locations thinking he was driving it, then pull him up and find ben cousins is in it, then they harass the f*** out of the bloke eg. making him take his shirt off, making him sit in the car then saying move over to the middle, then changing mind and saying move back to window seat.

feel free to disagree
OK, I will...

Breath tested...only applies to alcohol.

Observations of his erratic driving, his unsteadiness, confusion with instructions, tablets (?) located in vehicle would have given the police more than enough reasonable grounds to request he undergo a drug test. His refusal will mean Drive Under Influence charges at the very least.

We'll await further in relation to the other items...

and1showtime_23@msn.com wrote:he didnt have to have a blood test

feel free to disagree

your second post wasn't much better than your first, benny......