Foxtell Worth It?

luke.l_26 wrote:THe Only reason I'd bother with foxtel is for the sport and for music channels like MTV, Channel V, MAX etc... but even they seemed to be full of ads anyway, so I'll just stick to my FTA and video hits and JTV!
oh well....your loss

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

luke.l_26 wrote:THe Only reason I'd bother with foxtel is for the sport and for music channels like MTV, Channel V, MAX etc... but even they seemed to be full of ads anyway, so I'll just stick to my FTA and video hits and JTV!
Oh yeah completely forgot about the ADS
They started getting really intrusive back in '06
I thought the whole idea of paying for Foxtel was to get away from the ads

sunsaint wrote:
Oh yeah completely forgot about the ADS
They started getting really intrusive back in '06
I thought the whole idea of paying for Foxtel was to get away from the ads
the ads are alot shorter than the normal free 2 air tv ads!
some times the normal ads can go up to 3 mins long, but the fox ads arnt much longer than 1 min

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

thats why you get foxtel iq.

record your shows, fast forward through the ads.

or just pause it for 10 minutes at the start of the show and fast forward from there.

St George

Thanks to all for your opinions - I think I'll give it a go, but maybe a bit closer to the start of the season.

PLUGGER14

sunsaint wrote:of a blank error screen for ten minutes.

The improvement in FTA on 7/10 is much better than in the past, to the extent that I only missed a handful of games in 2007. Wont be coming back to pay unless they bring back the dedicated AFL chanel simple as that.
You don't get live, ad free Friday night footy on FTA

PLUGGER14 wrote:

The improvement in FTA on 7/10 is much better than in the past, to the extent that I only missed a handful of games in 2007. Wont be coming back to pay unless they bring back the dedicated AFL chanel simple as that.
Agreed... Yep hour delay unless it is a Lions game and then it is live in QLD... And I do miss the players reactions and slomo goal replay on Foxte$$ as opposed to the ads on FTA, but that is a small price to pay...
oh thats right its free
Cant wait till digital FTA really gets going, that will be the tolling bell for pay tv

Fox Sports generally replay all of the games later -
I like to watch the replay even if I went to the game - you get such a different perspective (only if they won though) :shock:

Your servants shall hold her stones dear, and have pity on her dust :shock:
PLUGGER14

sunsaint wrote:
PLUGGER14 wrote:

Agreed... Yep hour delay unless it is a Lions game and then it is live in QLD... And I do miss the players reactions and slomo goal replay on Foxte$$ as opposed to the ads on FTA, but that is a small price to pay...
oh thats right its free
Cant wait till digital FTA really gets going, that will be the tolling bell for pay tv
I take it you live on the Coast? Friday night games are not shown in Brisbane or further north till at least 11pm on FTA.

sunsaint wrote:[

that will be the day..... :roll: :roll: :roll:

luke.l_26

saintdooley wrote:
oh well....your loss
If i got foxtel it would be an even bigger loss out of the hip pocket buddy.

MWL - Blinding footy players on the field since 2003
Barney2

foxtell-incorrect spelling
FOXTEL-Correct spelling.
Get it.

Barney2 wrote:foxtell-incorrect spelling
FOXTEL-Correct spelling.
Get it.
your a knob of the highest order. post something useful occasionally

having moved to Adelaide, Foxtel is the only non-biased footy coverage we get. Its a god send in footy season. I hardly use it duiring hte offseason - kids love it though for the cartoons and animal docos.

If it wasnt for the footy though, we probably wouldnt have it.

St George

Barney2 wrote:
FOXTEL-Correct spelling.
Get it.

Gee, sorry I stuffed up Barney!

I think the spelling/grammar correcting nerds (and there are a few on this forum) should do something more useful - any suggestions?

St George wrote:Barney2 wrote:
FOXTEL-Correct spelling.
Get it.

Gee, sorry I stuffed up Barney!

I think the spelling/grammar correcting nerds (and there are a few on this forum) should do something more useful - any suggestions?
in barney's case...maybe get a clue :?

LennyBoy

* Waits patiently for LDS to correct my grammar * :lol:

Poochy 1 2 3 4 and 5 should be reinstated!

stinger wrote:it's worth every penny mate....

saintsrule

do what YOU want to do

saintsrule wrote:do what YOU want to do
you tell him

Beej

IQ is the best thing to happen to television. Tivo is coming out soonish whcih is pretty big in the states and similar to IQ but available with larger hard drives I think.

The "series-link" feature on IQ is awesome for automatically recording your fave shows every week.

Only gripe with Foxtel is when you schedule an installation date they give you a 5 hour window for when they could possibly turn up, 7-12 or 12-5 - very annoying, especially when they turn up right on 5, the pr1cks. :twisted:

If you're a fan of live sport and you can afford it, it really is a must. Make sure you book well in advance because generally it takes around 2 weeks before they can get to your place.

Basic package + Sport with IQ is around 65 a month I think.

westy

Hey st_Trav_ofWA, do you know what Max was saying to that drongo?

I'm livin' in a madhouse