GT. Bring him back.

saintsRrising wrote:RL was appalled at our conditioning processes when he took over.
And why is his opinion gospel?

What's he ever done? He used to work with a bloke who won a premiership?

You might want to wait until RL actually coaches a win (as opposed to Riewoldt/Gehrig dragging his sorry Sydney gameplan accross the line).

Saints43 wrote:
saintsRrising wrote:RL was appalled at our conditioning processes when he took over.

It is not just RL's opinion that I am basing my opinion on.

In addition acting on RL's demands that the problem be addresses Dr Ross Smith and AIS Sport Scientists were called in.
Saints43 wrote:
You may not have noticed but the Saints soft tissue injury rate dropped from being one of the highest to being below the AFL average in the second half of the year.
Saints43 wrote: You might want to wait until RL actually coaches a win (as opposed to Riewoldt/Gehrig dragging his sorry Sydney gameplan accross the line).
Apart from RL's view on it I have also spoken at length with an ex-Saints Club Doc who quite frankly was appalled at player conditioning under GT including on occassion medical advice not being followed.

He told me well before Misson was engaged that one of our problems was lack of sufficient individual training and conditioning for players....

So it was no surprise for me to read this week in the HS from Misson who many believe is Auastralia's brightest and best in terms of player conditioning....:

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/ ... 22,00.html

While the Swans' injury prevention techniques have reached mythical proportions, they are based on fitness staff providing individual programs for players designed by intensive feedback and "wellness" ratings.

No two players will have the same pre-season and, during the season, training regimens will be tailored to fit a player's age, resilience, injury history and fitness level.
Former Carlton fitness coach Peter Mulkearns remains Misson's off-sider, and will be joined by Australian track and field doctor Tim Barbour, former Melbourne Victory head physiotherapist Andrew Wallis, and several rehab and physio experts.

Misson said he had been shocked from afar by St Kilda's extensive injury problems, with Aaron Hamill, Matt Maguire, Justin Koschitzke, Luke Ball, Xavier Clarke and brother Raphael and many others continually struggling with lingering concerns.

"It was amazing, really. We couldn't believe it at the Swans," Misson said. "Players were going down left, right and centre.

"They had a reasonably bad run for a few years and it puts you behind the eight-ball.

"It's taken us a while to get on top of the history of each player and what each player can cope with.

"The thing we are trying to do is put some systems and structures in place so that it's not guesswork."

"Before Christmas we are not in a hurry. We want to get guys fit but we are not in a hurry to get them all back into full training straight away.

"Each individual is following his own program."

Then again GT did bring that Guru Guy to the Saints who had him drinking potions.....

So lets see....which do I prefer.....???? Which do you prefer???

Guru Guy vs Misson, Dr Ross Smitth & 3 AIS Sports Scientists

Tough call??? I think not....

Our injury rate was the worst in the AFL due to mismanagement and GT following ill-informed advice poorly selected by himself.

But as you say RL has to prove himself....so lets just see whether the changes demanded by him which had great effect in the second half of 2007 continue on or not...

By the way I have indicated my reasons why I though GT did a lousy job at overseeing our player conditioning....how about you outline your reasons why GT did ok?

What capacity would he be of use at down at the club?

Matthew Drain is a better football manager.

Ross Lyon is a better senior coach (alright, subjective I know)

Tony Elshaug is a better player development manager.

David Misson is a better head of fitness and conditioning.

We've got some of the best people in the AFL down at St Kilda at the moment, people who have had experience across a wide range of clubs, sports and learning institutions.

We've never had a group of professional, talented people at St Kilda like we do now. Never before in our history.

Thomas created the situation where we have all these great people, and I will be forever grateful for that.

But he is not a professional talented person in the same manner as the others.

Great organisations do not become successful by moving backwards and turning to past failures. They move forwards and look to future success.

n1ck wrote:
joffaboy wrote:cheers to the great man Firey....cheers mate....you know the caper...and cheers to that great player manager GT.....cheers mate hope the court case goes well....and cheers to the off season....heres cheers to that and its silly threads....and cheers to St.Kunny....ones to many and a hundereds not enough but cheers anyhow.....cheers.....cheers....cheers to you all....cheers.

Thomas has more intelligence in his little finger than the lot of you combined.

It is only the insecure and the weak minded who need to attempt to ridicule and belittle the truly great.

While you lot of nothings will ever amount to anything, Grant will be spoken of in revered tones by generations to come.

And if you think I am taking the piss. Dont.

Thomas is a towering intellectual that put every single one of you pissants in the shade.

No wonder you are all so afraid of him.

gold...pure unadultered gold...... :wink: :wink: :lol: :lol:

The Fireman wrote:
saintsRrising wrote:Fireman....if you want to bring back some coaches....what about Alves...what about Jeans?
To coach??? I certainly didn't say that.

If there is one ex-saint that would be productive back at the saints right now for me it would be Waldron.

Not knocking Archie,,,byt waldron as a CEO is class act....
Good point, actually that would be a good thread, "who would we have back and Why?"
I don't think we should ever close the doors on any ex contributors as most of them were there for the love of the club.
yeah walton is a class act...or he was until he started rooting the hired help......

skeptic wrote:

SRS - while i agree with you overall ur point RE Hall, Everite, Black, Fiora is silly... what about

Jones
Peckett
Powell
whose careers he ressurected and even Gehrig, Guerra, Black and Ackland who played their best seasons of football under GT... Gueera and Black most notably play WEAK football ATM

Each coach has plays that develop under them and others peak and decline in performance
Look I agree that each coach has his successes...but my comments were made to debunk the myth that GT was EXCEPTIONAL or OUTSTANDING with managing players.........and the argument by some that he should be back at the club for this reason....

He was not outstanding in this area....and was not "great"....he had his successes and failures and IMO was not better than an average AFL coach in this regard. And indeed his track record with rough diamonds was not good....if he was outstanding then he should have out-performed at turning rough diamonds around which he clearly did not do.

However having said that I don't really see how GT resurrected the careers of Jones, Powell and Pecket. age wise all were in their prime years under GT and so you would expect good footy from them.

Melbourne dumping Powell stunned many at the time and the PSD allowed us to grab him

Statistically he had his best footbal before he joined us bit yes had two great years with us. He was already a good footballer and his career was not resurrected.

Frankie Pecket..cannot follow you there at all.....97 and 98 weere his best years and best Browlow vote years as well...GT was not his coach then...

Jones...yes fair call as he always struggled post 97 fame with drink, the casion etc..

Powell

Year Team No. Games (W-D-L) Kicks Marks H.Balls Disp Goals Bhd H.O. Tack FrF FrA BM
1997 Western Bulldogs 29 3 (2-0-1) 25 16 8 33 2 2
1998 Western Bulldogs 29 6 (3-0-3) 48 11 38 86 3 3 13 5 2
1999 Western Bulldogs 29 21 (14-1-6) 249 92 157 406 16 16 27 12 25 4
2000 Melbourne 7 25 (16-0-9) 339 109 240 579 32 20 1 29 20 22 3
2002 Melbourne 7 19 (11-0-8) 184 59 147 331 11 7 3 32 13 10 3
2003 St Kilda 17 22 (11-0-11) 256 117 202 458 17 10 1 45 9 14 3
2004 St Kilda 17 20 (14-0-6) 199 65 146 345 9 6 58 12 14 3
2005 St Kilda 17 16 (11-0-5) 115 50 149 264 4 5 46 17 14
2006 St Kilda 17 10 (7-0-3) 70 36 67 137 3 29 8 13
Totals 142 (89-1-52) 1485 555 1154 2639 94 72 5 279 96 114 16
High 24 10 19 35 4 4 2 7 3 6

Jones

Year Team No. Games (W-D-L) Kicks Marks H.Balls Disp Goals Bhd H.O. Tack FrF FrA BM
1995 St Kilda 29 19 (6-0-13) 134 33 82 216 10 7 20
1996 St Kilda 29 22 (10-0-12) 259 75 129 388 25 25 22 1
1997 St Kilda 5 25 (17-0-8) 323 77 167 490 22 9 32 5
1998 St Kilda 5 23 (13-0-10) 238 63 101 339 23 13 32 14 18 1
1999 St Kilda 5 19 (7-0-12) 180 72 82 262 12 18 18 11 15 2
2000 St Kilda 5 17 (2-1-14) 182 47 60 242 9 7 18 5 15 1
2001 St Kilda 5 16 (2-0-14) 206 46 80 286 4 3 20 15 11 5
2002 St Kilda 5 16 (4-1-11) 208 46 95 303 6 2 12 4 3 2
2003 St Kilda 5 22 (11-0-11) 317 85 108 425 7 3 1 30 11 9 3
2004 St Kilda 5 25 (17-0-8) 346 85 120 466 3 6 37 7 13 11
2005 St Kilda 5 22 (14-0-8) 252 73 93 345 6 3 31 7 14 1
Totals 226 (103-2-121) 2645 702 1117 3762 127 96 1 272 74 98 32
High 22 10 12 30 5 4 1 6 2 3

1992 St Kilda 53 1 (1-0-0)
1993 St Kilda 29 18 (10-0-8) 120 27 107 227 57 1
1994 St Kilda 29 19 (6-1-12) 161 52 131 292 1 38
1995 St Kilda 8 18 (6-0-12) 154 49 107 261 3 32 1
1996 St Kilda 1 15 (4-0-11) 116 32 51 167 1 16 1
1997 St Kilda 1 25 (17-0-8) 269 83 143 412 2 3 38 4
1998 St Kilda 1 21 (12-0-9) 216 93 100 316 5 3 35 7 17 4
1999 St Kilda 1 20 (10-0-10) 185 72 99 284 4 1 12 11 16 1
2000 St Kilda 1 14 (1-0-13) 138 39 68 206 6 2 15 9 13
2001 St Kilda 1 19 (3-0-16) 157 70 89 246 3 29 11 11
2002 St Kilda 1 19 (5-1-13) 181 85 115 296 6 8 42 14 13
2003 St Kilda 1 15 (5-0-10) 124 71 56 180 10 4 21 6 5
2004 St Kilda 1 11 (9-0-2) 80 45 47 127 3 2 24 1 6
2005 St Kilda 1 20 (14-0-6) 184 93 111 295 6 32 10 17
2006 St Kilda 1 17 (11-0-6) 159 83 66 225 3 3 2 32 3 15
Totals 252 (114-2-136) 2244 894 1290 3534 50 29 2 423 72 113 12
High 21 13 14 29 3 2 1 7 4 5
Last edited by saintsRrising on Thu 06 Dec 2007 4:32pm, edited 1 time in total.

Oh When the Saints wrote:What capacity would he be of use at down at the club?

We've got some of the best people in the AFL down at St Kilda at the moment, people who have had experience across a wide range of clubs, sports and learning institutions.

We've never had a group of professional, talented people at St Kilda like we do now. Never before in our history.

Thomas created the situation where we have all these great people, and I will be forever grateful for that.

Great organisations do not become successful by moving backwards and turning to past failures. They move forwards and look to future success.

have to agree with you...doesn't mean that we have to piss on grant though.......

bob__71

Saints43 wrote:

It is not just RL's opinion that I am basing my opinion on.

In addition acting on RL's demands that the problem be addresses Dr Ross Smith and AIS Sport Scientists were called in.
Saints43 wrote:
You may not have noticed but the Saints soft tissue injury rate dropped from being one of the highest to being below the AFL average in the second half of the year.
Saints43 wrote: You might want to wait until RL actually coaches a win (as opposed to Riewoldt/Gehrig dragging his sorry Sydney gameplan accross the line).
Apart from RL's view on it I have also spoken at length with an ex-Saints Club Doc who quite frankly was appalled at player conditioning under GT including on occassion medical advice not being followed.

He told me well before Misson was engaged that one of our problems was lack of sufficient individual training and conditioning for players....

So it was no surprise for me to read this week in the HS from Misson who many believe is Auastralia's brightest and best in terms of player conditioning....:

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/ ... 22,00.html

While the Swans' injury prevention techniques have reached mythical proportions, they are based on fitness staff providing individual programs for players designed by intensive feedback and "wellness" ratings.

No two players will have the same pre-season and, during the season, training regimens will be tailored to fit a player's age, resilience, injury history and fitness level.
Former Carlton fitness coach Peter Mulkearns remains Misson's off-sider, and will be joined by Australian track and field doctor Tim Barbour, former Melbourne Victory head physiotherapist Andrew Wallis, and several rehab and physio experts.

Misson said he had been shocked from afar by St Kilda's extensive injury problems, with Aaron Hamill, Matt Maguire, Justin Koschitzke, Luke Ball, Xavier Clarke and brother Raphael and many others continually struggling with lingering concerns.

"It was amazing, really. We couldn't believe it at the Swans," Misson said. "Players were going down left, right and centre.

"They had a reasonably bad run for a few years and it puts you behind the eight-ball.

"It's taken us a while to get on top of the history of each player and what each player can cope with.

"The thing we are trying to do is put some systems and structures in place so that it's not guesswork."

"Before Christmas we are not in a hurry. We want to get guys fit but we are not in a hurry to get them all back into full training straight away.

"Each individual is following his own program."

Then again GT did bring that Guru Guy to the Saints who had him drinking potions.....

Our injury rate was the worst in the AFL due to mismanagement and GT following ill-informed advice poorly selected by himself.

But as you say RL has to prove himself....so lets just see whether the changes demanded by him which had great effect in the second half of 2007 continue on or not...

By the way I have indicated my reasons why I though GT did a lousy job at overseeing our player conditioning....how about you outline your reasons why GT did ok?
OK well a few things....new coaches come in and they are all impressed with the professionalism and the drive of the playing group....aplaying group brought together and previously coached by GT.

And what would have happened to RB's million dollar profits if GT put a coaching and fitness panel together like the one currently assembled.

My belief is that RB's million dollar profits rodeon the back of the hope and performances that a GT led playing group put downon the park.

My gut feel is that our membership will drop off if we continue to play uninspiring numbers behind the ball football.

GT was sacked for the wrong reasons and then the club has made him out as a Devil incarnate.....as far as I can tell GT's biggest problemis misplaced loyalty.

have to agree with you...doesn't mean that we have to piss on grant though.......
Fair enough. He does cop far too much here for what he contributed to the club.

I would have thought that after 12 months we could just respect his legacy and move on, but evidently some people struggle with that.

Oh When the Saints wrote:What capacity would he be of use at down at the club?

Fully agree.....

And I am hopeful that FF will be a better Board to to complete the picture.

Saints43 wrote:

I will wait to see some results. Everybody talks a good game in the Herald Sun.

I never stated that GT did a good job overseeing our injury prevention/recovery. I questioned how/why RL is an authority on this subject.

But if it is suggested that GT did not have the players who took the ground in 2004,2005 & 2006 conditioned properly then I will take issue. Those Saints teams were the hardest working I have ever seen. You can't do that if you're not fit.

P.S. Did "Guru Guy" ever hold a position at the club or are you just making stuff up?

To say that Ross Lyon has not coached a win is a poor comment IMO.

David Parkin said after Round 1 this year that he had never seen a St Kilda team work so hard defensively.

Grant Thomas himself wrote an article after we beat Adelaide which was praising the way in which Ross Lyon out-coached Neil Craig, and in a game with such a narrow margin, the coaching was a decisive factor.

saintsRrising wrote: Look I agree that each coach has his successes...but my comments were made to debunk the myth that GT was EXCEPTIONAL or OUTSTANDING with managing players.........and the argument by some that he should be back at the club for this reason....
Shockingly, I agree.

I've been saying for quite some time that Thomas was overrated in the 'people' side of things.

We were mentally fragile for too long. I believe his message was beginning to wear thin.

2007 was his last chance. Well, it should have been.

What I thought he was underrated in, was his actual footballing nous. He had clear ideas and solid plans on how to win. How to build a list, and how that list needed to perform to win. When the players were on the park and followed the plans, we were unbeatable.

The problem was in the execution - not the intent. The execution was greatly affected by the players he had at his disposal.

Oh When the Saints wrote:To say that Ross Lyon has not coached a win is a poor comment IMO.

David Parkin said after Round 1 this year that he had never seen a St Kilda team work so hard defensively.

Grant Thomas himself wrote an article after we beat Adelaide which was praising the way in which Ross Lyon out-coached Neil Craig, and in a game with such a narrow margin, the coaching was a decisive factor.
Round 1 against Melbourne? Bwahahahahahahaha. What a benchmark.

It's true that GT never had a team containing Riewoldt, Gehrig, Milne & Kossie work so hard defensively. But, RL has NEVER had St Kilda work as hard, as consistently as GT did.

Remember that Parkin is part of the ex-Fitzroy back slappers society.

I'll give him the Adelaide win if it makes you happy... that's one.

The Fireman wrote: I like to look at the positives that GT brought to the club, which I have outlined and hopefully will see him back with us.
Ray, perleeeeeeeze

St.Kilda now have a professionally run football department for the first time since we got all our early round draft picks in 2000, so why would you want the buffoon that previously ran it like a chook raffle back?

For starters the previous administration tried to install Matthew Drain in 2005 BUT Thomas refused to work with him, instead preferring to give even added responsibilities to his mate Rendell

You only have to look at this year's national draft when Rendell read out the wrong player code number, which should have seen Adelaide lose their selection to know how much of a buffoon this guy is

It was Rendell who made the call to draft Brooks and it was Thomas and Rendell who gave up pick 6 and 31 for him

It was Grant Thomas's call 100% to draft McGough and again Rendell's call with Thomas's approval to draft Ackland and Guerra

All in all instead of developing the list with the next best player, St.kilda promoted one rookie Allan Murray "the project player" and traded away or used 8 selections on recycled players including 3 first round, 3 second round and 2 third round draft picks in the last five years under Thomas

Anyway as we now thankfully have Matthew Drain, it would seem a bit strange to welcome back the guy who previously refused to work with him, wouldn't it

Remembering of course we are talking about a shady character who is suing the club for $270,000, which includes a figure of $167,000 for holiday pay and wait for it, Thomas has already signed a stat dec stating that he has been paid all of his holiday pay in full :roll:

So he signs a stat dec stating he's owed no holiday pay, then sues the club for the holiday pay he has stated he's already been paid

and you want this guy back working with the club?

FAIR DINKUM :roll: :roll: :roll:

:lol: :lol: :lol:

he was getting us results. the players believed in him. many supporters believed in him. i believed in him.

unfortunately it's way too late to turn back the clock but i know one thing for sure ... if we are to lift the premiership cup this year GT is due no small part of the credit.

go saints
:roll: :roll: :roll:

Yeah we finished 8th in his last season and were in decline, great result that

AND thanks to the poor list development from Thomas 2007 was again another mid table performance on the back of 2006

the list needs to be rebuilt as it was carlessly ignored under Thomas and this will take time

Thomas is responsibly for sending the development of this list backwards a few years

Thankfully we now have a professionally run football department for the first time this century who are now fast tracking and reversing the inherited downward spiral that started with Thomas still in control

n1ck wrote:
Thomas is a towering intellectual that put every single one of you pissants in the shade.

Pissants.....LOL 8-)

btw, who's the guy suing the St.Kilda football club for money he's even signed a stat dec stating he's already been paid?

Liittle Johnnie boy, you're so busy gagging on your GT love doll, you would know the drum even if you had a brass band up ya, FAIR DINKUM :roll:

bob__71

I dont think the stat dec said he had already been paid the money barks....u are getting sloppy editing your cut and pastes...you are now adding extra lies.....if he had been paid the money, no one would have been sued

bob__71 wrote:I dont think the stat dec said he had already been paid the money barks....u are getting sloppy editing your cut and pastes...you are now adding extra lies.....if he had been paid the money, no one would have been sued

FACT

Thomas signed a stat dec stating he'd already been paid all holiday pay and annual leave entitlements

FYI

FACTS

Thomas sought to include $500,000 bonus when negotiating his last contract if he delivered a premiership

The board refused but agreed to a $500,000 bonus on top of the $500,000 he was already on if he delivered two premeirships

( IMHO Thomas was looking for an easy way to pay back the 1,000,000 loan to Butterss, using football club money)

As Thomas sought to include a performance based aspect into his contract the board countered this with one of it's own, that Thomas could have his contract terminated at any time without any contractual payout obligation

Thomas signed off on and agreed to this!

When Thomas was exited out, the St.Kilda football club was not obligated to pay Thomas one cent

BUT Butterss agreed to pay silence money to Thomas to go quietly

This is all FACT

Now for what I understand the situation to be

Butterss and the previous board agreed to pay Thomas a figure of about $250,000 in installments

They should not have been allowed to do this as this was not part of the initial contract and was simply just hush money

Thomas has already recieved about $150,000 with a further $100,000 outstanding

FACT

Thomas had already signed a stat dec stating that he'd been paid all of his holiday and annual leave entitlements in full and was not owed a cent of this

Thomas now claims that he was pressured into signing this

again my understanding

The $167,000 in holiday pay Thomas is claiming is nothing more than a try on to get the matter settled for the smaller sum offered or agreed to in the first place

IMHO The board had no right to offer this as it was not part of the initial contract agreement

FACT

Having offered it, the board believed that Thomas had breached this agreement and was undermining the football club and was no longer entitled to any further payout

FACT

Grant Thomas has been paid over 2.5 million for his services already

Thomas claims he would never do anything to hurt the club, yet he is now suing the St.Kilda Football Club for money which includes the figure of $167,000 which he's already signed a stat dec stating he's already been paid

The whole Thomas and Butterss saga, has more than anything else cost us a premiership already

I personally believe that if the club wasn't run by the both of them for the past seven years, with instead a professionally run football department, St.Kilda would now have won a premiership

So long as the new board don't start transferring home games to the Gold Coast I'm am happy for the change and a fresh start

St.Kenny

True St.Kilda never played so well defensively as they did in '07 ................and never play so bad in atack as they did in '07 !
So where did that leave us. Lower on the ladder than '06 despite a better team on the field all year, a better draw and supposedly better coaching staff.
MAke no mistake, ST.KFC took a massive back step last year despite what many nobodies with 1000's of 'dribbly' posts like to suggests. Including one who has serious mental health issues as is evident by his obsessive posts on the one subject.

My behaviour is considered acceptable in some far off remote exotic countries...

barks4eva wrote:( IMHO Thomas was looking for an easy way to pay back the 1,000,000 loan to Butterss, using football club money)
Let me get this straight . . . winning not ONE . . . but TWO premierships was the EASY WAY to pay him back?

:shock:

Actually

:shock: :shock:

St Fidelius wrote:
saintsRrising wrote: PS...you might not have noticed but Fiora improved markedly once he had a coach that put faith in him.

Written and Authorised by sRr

CARE TO COMMENT ON THIS MR sRr????

3RD REQUEST..........

SO, in your "opinion" :roll: :roll: both Danny Frawley and GT never had faith in Fiora???

Fair Dinkum you do waffle on a bit but this one takes the cake????

so you are saying that....

RL in his first year as senior coach is the only coach to have faith in Fiora who started his career in 2000...

Yeah righto waffle on some more :roll:
Well second request actually as your first post was just basically an expletive and was ignored as there was nothing really to comment on.

I said "you might not have noticed but Fiora improved markedly once he had a coach that put faith in him."

This is referring to the transition of Fiora from GT to RL.

Which means that IMO that Fiora suffers from a lack of self-belief in his talent and that RL showed more faith in Fiora's abilities that GT did which was witnessed by where RL played him and the various roles he gave him. By seasons end he was earning some quality inside ball with slick disposal.

As to Frawley I cannot really comment as I am not an avid watcher of Tigers matches....and my comment was not referring to him.

So in your opinion RL showed MORE faith in Fiora’s abilities than GT….

So your original comment of…
you might not have noticed but Fiora improved markedly once he had a coach that put faith in him
means jack…..

Your above quote implies that RL is the ONLY coach that put faith in him and not MORE faith…

Please spare me with your biased opinion.

JeffDunne wrote:
barks4eva wrote:( IMHO Thomas was looking for an easy way to pay back the 1,000,000 loan to Butterss, using football club money)
Let me get this straight . . . winning not ONE . . . but TWO premierships was the EASY WAY to pay him back?

:shock:

Actually

:shock: :shock:
Well Jeffrey when the contract was signed, St.Kilda were thought of as a premiership favourite

Again you only read what you wanted to read and not what I actually wrote

Thomas sought to include a performance based aspect into his contract that would give him a $500,000 bonus for delivering a premiership to the then premiership favourite

The board refused this and agreed to two premierships for the $500,000 bonus

Is all of this simple enough for you or would you like it in brail?

I want him back if only just to piss you off Andy. :P

The Fireman wrote:I want him back if only just to piss you off Andy. :P
Ray, you've been a very, very naughty boy :wink: