Dal Santo!!!!!!!!!

Washedup

Dal Santo!!!!!!!!!

Surely something needs to be said about his LAZY performance last night. We all love the guy and know how good he CAN be, but he was SOFT last night. I think the players needed to do what Geelong did a year ago with Garry Ablett Jr, tell him that his natural talent will be good enough for him to be known as a VERY good footballer, but a bit of hard work and he could be in the ELITE catergory up there with the likes of Judd. Dal Santo has got the ability to be one of the best players ever to wear the Red, White and Black but unfortunately he just doesn't put in the hard work. Extremely talented ..................................but extreme frustrating :evil:

Megamaguire

Dal Santo did well - he can always be better

I thought Dally was a significant contributor again to a Saints win but your comments are probably worth considering (mainly for Dally and Rossi).
I thought the danger last night may have been a period of flatness after the pre-season G.F. result. Sydney were allowed 'back in' the game perhaps too easily on the back of Saint Kild'a 19 entrances into the forward 50 in the 1st. Qrt. Perhaps that was particularly the time to keep the scoreboard ticking over. (i'll have to watch the video to see how Dally performed @ this stage of the game).
I thought that later in the game Dally played the 'quarter-back' role well and put his body on the line a few times when needed.

We know he is good enough to win a brownlow with a little luck or even better steer his team to september glory.

NOT upset with Dal Santo just yet.

G O S A I N T S !

The boy can play and we can build a defence around him that will have respect.

I thought he was great last night...he may suffer from looking too composed and people think he's not trying as hard.

rexy

One of the best 5 on the ground IMO

Maybe this year?
devil saint

Was great last night. Got wacked a fair few times and just got straight back up again. He deserves praise for his durability and resiliance. Beautiful foot skills, as always, too.

saint-stu

Huh?! Were we watching different games? :?

I thought he was one of our best last night.

Dal_Santos_Gal

Bawhhhhhahaha, clearly someone was watching another game on this thread last night.

Dal played a serviceable game last night, he was not playing a true midfield roll and dropped back in defence even when the flood gate was not on.
NO one really stood out last night, you could say maybe only a couple did, as it was a very even contribution across the ground.

Dal was far from lazy, he was running backwards and forwards like every other player was last night in the tactic flood game that was played by both sides. Almost a lottery game in who would get the ball when you have 30+ players all within 50 from goal.

In Ross Get lost!

I am excited to stay at St Kilda and this is a great result for the Club and all our fans. I’m proud to be part of the Saints and am pleased to be playing football with the Clubâ€
The Saintsational Man

He's not all that quick.....it seems like hes not trying to run, but he is, hes just that smooth in his stride.

Hed never goes 2 ground for 1 reason, hes awesome at keeping his feet and is most effective when he stays on the pegs.

He gets out of any pressure situation with ease, i though he was awesome lastnight.

Looked ok.

sydney were hard last night, and our skills were off.

Dal was brilliant, a great pack mark in the backline and another great interceptive mark which he kicked to Kosi for one of his goals....

If you think he's soft you ust have to look at that stat somebody brought up the other day about players who have averaged 8 or more cont. possies per game and you will see that he is in the ELITE category.

I'm not arguing that he could be better but I think we should appreciate his constant brilliance over the past 4 years...

Anyone else notice the cement hard tag he received....?

Seriously, anyone that doesn't rate Dal Santo, or starts threads like this dosn't have much respect when it comes to football.

I can't believe im even replying to this topic.

STILL wont/cant run hard enough to go to the next level. Lazyas in the first post? I dont know, dunno if you can call it that.....but he isnt elite yet.

I heard him interviewed pre season last year and he was talking about where he needs to improve to go up a cog, and it was something along the lines of the work he does off the ball, when he dosent have the ball etc.

Well, Whats happened. Lazy, no. Shitloads of improving left to do, yes.

19 touches (15 kicks and 4 handballs)
effective possession % was 84
2 contested marks, 5 uncontested.
7 contested possessions, 12 uncontested possessions
4 inside 50's
3 clearances
0 clangers
2 frees for, with none against him
1 tackle
kicked a point
spent 80% of time on the ground

statistically was our best player, so some comments are uncalled for about his performance last night :roll:

fugazi wrote:I thought he was great last night...he may suffer from looking too composed and people think he's not trying as hard.
played ok but DID choose not to chase and man up on a couple of critical times....

fitness or really willing to push over when required to be defensive.

yes is composed when has the ball, in fact very, but can be lazy when reqired to run in a defensive play.

matrixcutter wrote:19 touches (15 kicks and 4 handballs)
effective possession % was 84
2 contested marks, 5 uncontested.
7 contested possessions, 12 uncontested possessions
4 inside 50's
3 clearances
0 clangers
2 frees for, with none against him
1 tackle
kicked a point
spent 80% of time on the ground

statistically was our best player, so some comments are uncalled for about his performance last night :roll:
as mentioned played well but

NOT shown in stats...............lazy at times as mentioned in my other post

he was (along with roo) one of the BOG..
maybe start bagging Gilbert for standing on the centre square wing looking straight at schneider getting shadowed by Hall and then caught holding the ball.
schneider said he didnt hear a word from anybody......so much for letting ya team mate know ya hot.

but pick on dal...cause he had such a s*** game :roll:

chook23 wrote:.lazy at times as mentioned in my other post
maybe he was tired, huh. kinda weird that one of the best players on the ground for us is getting called lazy, when there was a handfull of other blokes doing absolutely bugger all.
if dal had a GPS on, id like to know the distance he covered during the night and the percentages of it broken down into sprints jogging etc.

you dont get 19 disposals in a game of that standard by being lazy
with 12 of them being uncontested, meaning he found space .

so what u saw him standing around and not chasing at times?...shesh

matrixcutter wrote:
chook23 wrote:.lazy at times as mentioned in my other post
maybe he was tired, huh. kinda weird that one of the best players on the ground for us is getting called lazy, when there was a handfull of other blokes doing absolutely bugger all.
if dal had a GPS on, id like to know the distance he covered during the night and the percentages of it broken down into sprints jogging etc.

you dont get 19 disposals in a game of that standard by being lazy
with 12 of them being uncontested, meaning he found space .

so what u saw him standing around and not chasing at times?...shesh :roll:
acknowledged by Dal himself ...........a weakness......that is why he often has written on tape around wrist.......RUN RUN

atleast twice in last quarter Sydney in possession Dal did not go to man when required (iside their forward 50).............Sydney used that palyer
Last edited by chook23 on Sun 23 Mar 2008 12:04pm, edited 1 time in total.

oh so we are talking in general and not about last nights game? :twisted:

matrixcutter wrote:oh so we are talking in general and not about last nights game? :twisted:

in general and did it twice late in game in their forward 50........was lazy.

As mentioned also had a good game BUT must also accept criticism when warranted and it was on accassions last night.......

he played fine....
maybe he should be dropped due to his laziness at times last night.

second best player on the ground.

what the hell is an accassion?

SainterX

Top of the St Kilda rankings in the Herald Sun. So glad he is my Super Coach captain :)

matrixcutter wrote:he played fine....

a spelling mistake :roll: :roll:

who said he should be dropped :roll: :roll:

may have been 2nd best but also made a few lazy mistakes that I have pointed out and no doubt so will the coaching staff.

matrixcutter wrote:he played fine....

While Dal was great I don't think you can compare his effort to Montagna's and co.

The amount of smothers Montagna got was unbelievable, if Dal Santo could apply those sort of one percenters on a consistent basis he would have already won a brownlow...

he wouldve won that brownlow if he had a higher smother count????

joey had 3 clangers and 1 free against him, dal had neither.
smothering is won of those things i love about footy, its those desperation 1 %ers that are standouts, but to say dal wouldve got a brownlow if he did more is a pretty bold statement