Saints and Earth Hour

General Forum Thread?

Huzzad wrote:
riccardo wrote:
evertonfc wrote:
riccardo wrote:I won't be at home at all this weekend, but, without wishing to get into the debate, I would not participate even if I was.
McMansionvillism is spreading from the plains to the mountains.
Its not spreading as fast as the great global warming scare tactic/scam.

"Oh no, the ice caps may melt in another 10 million years. I'll turn off my bedside lamp and that will fix everything". :roll:
And the ignorance that got us here in the first place rears its ugly head. Mate, you have alot to learn about the world around you.
As for the "scam" perhaps you didn't realise they proved it years ago, oh and on the news last night, an ice shelf 8 times the size of manhattan has begun to crack. Imagine that many gallons of water going into the ocean, not in a million years, but THIS year.

Oh, and look up the Island of Tuvalu. It is sinking and will be underwater in a few years thanks to the "scam." Maybe you should think twice about where electricity comes from before acting the goat.

Wake up idiot.
proof its happening, yes, proof of whats causing it and at what rate, no

Australia contributes to something like 1.5% of the world total greenhouse gas emissions

China are opening a new coal power plant every 5 days

turning off a few lights for an hour will do exactly jack shite

The_Dud wrote:
Huzzad wrote:
riccardo wrote:
evertonfc wrote:
riccardo wrote:I won't be at home at all this weekend, but, without wishing to get into the debate, I would not participate even if I was.

"Oh no, the ice caps may melt in another 10 million years. I'll turn off my bedside lamp and that will fix everything". :roll:
And the ignorance that got us here in the first place rears its ugly head. Mate, you have alot to learn about the world around you.
As for the "scam" perhaps you didn't realise they proved it years ago, oh and on the news last night, an ice shelf 8 times the size of manhattan has begun to crack. Imagine that many gallons of water going into the ocean, not in a million years, but THIS year.

Oh, and look up the Island of Tuvalu. It is sinking and will be underwater in a few years thanks to the "scam." Maybe you should think twice about where electricity comes from before acting the goat.

Wake up idiot.

Australia contributes to something like 1.5% of the world total greenhouse gas emissions

lets just say do you buy car insurance only when you know you'll be in a future accident?

btw we might only produce a small amount IN australia but that is not taking into account the fuel miles the products we buy and use.

I have already argued this last week, lets just say it's a start.

Cirra

riccardo wrote:
Moccha wrote:
riccardo wrote:Thats my opinion. If you don't like it, I'm sorry, but I'm afraid thats just too bad.

I don't need to justify myself to anyone.
I don't think you have a clue!

ignorance is bliss
Lucky for me I don't care what you think.
Then why post a reply on this topic?

Are you looking for attention? :?:

"When we get back on November 5 and walk through that door, we're getting on a bus together and we're going down the road to a premiership. You're either on the bus or you get run over," Roo at the B&F 2007

In 2012, I'm still on the bus.
Huzzad

The_Dud wrote:
Huzzad wrote:
riccardo wrote:
evertonfc wrote:

Wake up idiot.
Actually, they have proven what is causing it, which is why they have been blaming greenhouse gasses over the last few years...

Organisers say the initiative, which started in Sydney last year, will be observed in 35 nations and across 370 cities, towns and councils worldwide.

"The point behind Earth Hour is ... it's more than just one hour of one day, it's about every hour of every day of our lives and how we can make small changes that can make a big difference."

In related news....
Riccardos solution to global warming:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a8oe-CSA4wQ

www.wikisaints.com - Your Online St Kilda Encyclopedia!

www.truesainters.com - A Friendly Forum Alternative

http://truesainters.wordpress.com - Player of the Round articles, match previews and reviews
Winmarvellous

Sorry, won't be contributing. Agree it's a noble cause, but will be watching the footy and drinking, with the music on. I know what to do and how to do it. I don't really need to follow the leader because everyone finds it trendy to turn the lights off for an hour. I don't really celebrate New Years any different to any other Saturday night except for avoiding my usual watering hole due to too many people stopping me from getting my drink. Therefore, I won't be jumping on the Greenie bandwagon for this either. I don't contribute that much, and try my best at other times, so each to their own.

aussierules0k

Last edited by aussierules0k on Tue 23 Jun 2009 9:22am, edited 1 time in total.

5 prelims in 7 years. 40 wins from 49 games.
2009 and 2010 were 2 of the 5 best years ever by the St.Kilda FC.
Thanks for all your efforts Saints.

saintspremiers wrote:Look, we should all save power, water and gas whenever we can, not just some stupid PC Earth Hour claptrap.

Using less power, water, gas saves MONEY.....and as an off shoot benefit the environment.

I've been turning lights off when going out, leaving rooms etc, not over heating the house etc etc for years, way before the environment became trendy, all to save money!

China's massive growth has caused way, way more pollution through power use than we can ever hope to save.....but it's helping our resources sector plus we all love buying cheap-cheap-cheap reasonable quality stuff from China don't we (those members only scarves & hats are OK aren't they? Make them in Australia and it wouldn't be a freebee would it??)

So we can't have our cake and eat it to.....how are we going to convince the pollies/rulers in China to care about the environment when we keep throw billions of dollars at them regardless?
If you are pro or anti Global Warming being true or not, what saintspremiers posts is just common sense.

It saves you money, and also helps the environment. Where is the harm in that?

And agreed on China. The one real depressing point on China is that if they bring in too many controls on the environment the trans nationals up stumps and trundles off to Vietnam or India or Kasikstan or Upper Volta and F*** up their environment because they are a 3rd world country and cant afford to piss them off (same circular proplem China currently has).

lets face it, the world is going to kill off humans sooner or later. Dont worry about the earth, it will repair any human damage over time, as it has repaired past disasters, only problem is that humans will have gone the way of the dinosaurs.

Mabye three toed sloths wil become the dominate species???

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
dsreg1

riccardo wrote:
evertonfc wrote:

Andrew Bolt....is that you?

The earthwatch thing is just a feel-good stunt.

As I understand it, the lead time to switch a generator on/off is longer than the hour.
So the power people (and I don't mean Mark Williams) need to generate enough electricity to cope with demand before and after the earthwatch hour.
It is not as simple as turning off a generator for one hour.

So even if we all switch off lights for an hour,
the generators in the Latrobe valley will still be doing as much damage in that hour as normal.

So by all means switch off if it makes you feel good.
But if you want to make a lasting contribution, try and reduce your energy demands on a PERMANENT basis.

snoopygirl

Well, if the purpose of it all is to highlight the issue & get people discussing it, it's worked. Personally, I prefer to be conservative with electricity etc. at all times.

No1_Saint

riccardo wrote:
evertonfc wrote:

:lol: :lol: :lol:

hilairehinshelwood

Earth Hour is a gimmick. The elephant in the room on this topic is the worlds exploding population, with the associate energy involved in virtually every aspect of living. i guess for everyone cutting out one hour in 8766 each year, there's many more hours of energy to cater for the exploding world population. Address population growth before gimmicks.

To keep this Saints oriented, i could walk to tonight's game, but the train will still run anyway and i will eat extra, to the fuel the walk, and food has lots of energy involved in its production.
Point is, being smug and thinking you have done something for the environment is not necessarily the case, usually the alternative action can use more energy.