Saints to affiliate with Sandringham

Sandy will pull some seriously good crowds for home games next year :-)

Very happy about this move. Yes the land size issue wold have stood in the way of a total package down there, but we have a foot in both camps now and can really pwn (hip young people talk) the bayside area now :-)

saintspremiers wrote: I know people that live in Cranny will have a sook about it, and Caseyscorp will not be happy, but they had a run that lasted way, way too long.

I've never been to Casey Fields - I'd need 20 bucks worth of fuel & Melways to find the joint, whereas Sandy recognises our heartland which will always be Bayside.
Can't talk for Casey Scorps, but I think the deal is good for the club and on that basis I can live with it.

Distance IMO is not an issue. If you are keen enough you will make the sacrifices to get there. Casey Fields was much maligned on this forum because of its location. Will be perfect for the Demons to start afresh in a growing area and with a very supportive council.

Heartland in Bayside?

I think that B4 would argue that our heartland is the Junction Oval, but seeing how many times he was able to mention the words Trevor Barker Oval in his short post, I don't think he would raise an objection to that.

Fantastic news.

Whilst I originally supported our decision to stand alone with a reserves team.
Was bitterly disappointed that when that was no longer possible Sandy had already been taken.

Sandy IS our heartland.

And most Sandy supporters are Saints supporters.

saint66au wrote:Sandy will pull some seriously good crowds for home games next year :-)

Very happy about this move. Yes the land size issue wold have stood in the way of a total package down there, but we have a foot in both camps now and can really pwn (hip young people talk) the bayside area now :-)
I'll certainly be there as I am within walking distance.

But I reckon most of the crowd will be outside looking in.

They pulled down the iconic wall last summer.
Now there is just a wire fence.
So you can watch without paying admission.

I heard that the logic was that the sponsors were prepared to pay heaps more to have their signage visible from beach road - 7 days a week.
More than enough to offset the tight-asses who will watch through the fence. !!!!

osama milne laden

we need another Eddington Report with emphasis on linking the sandy railway line with the frankston one

'What do we eat? -Mussles
How do we eat 'em? - Alive'
saintsrus

Enrico_Misso wrote:
But I reckon most of the crowd will be outside looking in.

They pulled down the iconic wall last summer.
Now there is just a wire fence.
So you can watch without paying admission.

I heard that the logic was that the sponsors were prepared to pay heaps more to have their signage visible from beach road - 7 days a week.
More than enough to offset the tight-asses who will watch through the fence. !!!!
Haha my General manager lives in Brighton, and hes been known to be a little stingy as far as the $ are, he said this exact thing re the wall and free admission :)

Before Im 85

Seems to be a good fit all round, Casey will no doubt align with the Dees - and Greg Hutchison is an ex-Dees player and coach!! (Illzy will need to move across to Sandringham!! :lol: )

And we align with the club that has always had a close relationship with us - through the Barker family and historical ties down through the years. The players won't have to travel far at all now to play in the VFL and to train with the Saints at Frankston. We now "own" the bayside strip!!

bergsone wrote:So casey-Melb Sandy -saints Frankston-Frankston,we are moving to frankston ,but playing with sandyAlignments with vfl clubs are getting more confusing all the time.Hope we can keep the scorps coach in some way but
If i'm not mistaken, Hutchison is a St. Kilda appointment. Unless he has had a multiple year contract with Casey rather than St. Kilda, then he will come with us in some capacity, one would hope.

yipper wrote:Seems to be a good fit all round, Casey will no doubt align with the Dees - and Greg Hutchison is an ex-Dees player and coach!! (Illzy will need to move across to Sandringham!! :lol: )

And we align with the club that has always had a close relationship with us - through the Barker family and historical ties down through the years. The players won't have to travel far at all now to play in the VFL and to train with the Saints at Frankston. We now "own" the bayside strip!!
all the way from St Kilda To frankston and every big housing development in between

will be interesting to see - but I would think Hutchy may come across- who is Sandy's coach? Andy Lovell is ex melbourne is he not- does he have any connection to the Demons?

does this mean we get Sautners' record as part of a saints connection :)

yipper wrote:Seems to be a good fit all round, Casey will no doubt align with the Dees - and Greg Hutchison is an ex-Dees player and coach!! (Illzy will need to move across to Sandringham!! :lol: )

all the way from St Kilda To frankston and every big housing development in between

will be interesting to see - but I would think Hutchy may come across- who is Sandy's coach? Andy Lovell is ex melbourne is he not- does he have any connection to the Demons?

does this mean we get Sautners' record as part of a saints connection :)
Interesting - maybe a straight swap?? Ala Walls and Parkin style!!??

Winmar7Fan

BelfastSaint wrote:This is a very good article which shows a little of the history between the Saints,Sandringham and Jack & Trevor Barker.

"Jack is immensely proud of the loyalty Trevor showed to St Kilda, particularly given Melbourne’s efforts to woo him into a red and blue guernsey.

"The opportunity came when they tried to get him to Melbourne and (former St Kilda president) Lindsay Fox got up and said, 'You can't leave, you can't leave', but (Ron) Barassi more or less had him signed to go to Melbourne," Barker said.

"He was so dedicated to his side and even after he left St Kilda and went to Sandringham … he said: 'I'll always be a St Kilda man'. I love St Kilda and I've had many good days and times there.""

Full Article: http://afl.com.au/saintkildafc/Season20 ... wsId=39872
I feel sorry for all our current and future supporters who never got to experience not only a fabulous player/champion of this club but an amazing person my brother new him and used to chat to him on the phone at home as a fan and he always made time for long conversations with him, and all he did for our club is truly unbelievable .

It was impossible not to love this true Angel . What an honour it would be for us if this goes ahead not to mention how proud it would make Trev and Jack as well.
Last edited by Winmar7Fan on Thu 05 Jun 2008 5:31pm, edited 2 times in total.

in light of that Yipper it may well be the players of either team- not eh AFL players obviously but the VFL team players who iwll struggle most with the changes-

some will have had or developed allegiences with Coaching staff and other players, I'm guessing they won't wish to have wholesale swapping going on.

what's parking like?
found the maps and pics-
http://www.austadiums.com/stadiums/stadiums.php?id=127

santazzi

barks4eva wrote:Absolutely amazing, totally rapt, another gr8 move from the new board,

We the members of this football club are very lucky to have the current people who are running this club in control

I just wished we'd done the deal for the new training facility at the Trevor Barker oval in Sandringham instead of Frankston.

I love to be able to back out of the Frankston deal and build this state of the art facility in Sandringham at the TREVOR BARKER OVAL

If your fair dinkum, in your heart of hearts St.Kilda's new facility should belong at the TREVOR BARKER OVAL

It just makes perfect sense.

Hey 4eva wouldn't you add that the only missing ingredient is GT at the club........................... just kidding .........and running for my life!!!!!!!!!

I was always a bit peeved that St.Kilda were not always aligned with Sandringham, thankfully if this is true, this is great news.

Frankston's VFL side want to be a stand alone club.

Is there any way we can back out of this deal and totally embrace the Sandringham alignment with a training facility at the TREVOR BARKER OVAL?

If so, make it happen and pay Frankston council whatever compensation is required!

B4E will be happy, as this now brings Grant Thomas back into the fold.

As father of TAC Sandringham Dragon Tyson!!

SaintBot

saintbrat wrote:what's parking like?
The ground carpark is quite small and narrow (would be a hassle with overloading traffic).

However if you're willing to walk a little there is more parking down at the yacht club.

Would've been a great place to create a major headquarters - a partnership with the Zebra's and the yacht club. Also a fair bit nothing land with a small cricket oval and plenty of trees.

Would love to go with barks4eva's idea of pulling the plug on Frankston.

Great that Jack Barker is alive to see it !

Just a fantastic move all round.
The merger we should have done in the first place.

But as all StKilda fans know - sometimes you have to wait !

SaintBot wrote:
saintbrat wrote:what's parking like?
The ground carpark is quite small and narrow (would be a hassle with overloading traffic).

However if you're willing to walk a little there is more parking down at the yacht club.

Would've been a great place to create a major headquarters - a partnership with the Zebra's and the yacht club. Also a fair bit nothing land with a small cricket oval and plenty of trees.

Would love to go with barks4eva's idea of pulling the plug on Frankston.
Or people park in the side streets and walk to the ground - bit like dear old Moorabbin.

Perhaps it's not too late to pull the pin on Frankston ?

SENsaintsational wrote:B4E will be happy, as this now brings Grant Thomas back into the fold.

Unfortunately Sandringham Dragons TAC side is not affiliated wth Sandringham VFL side.

SAndringham Dragons are headquarted at Princes Park in Caulfiewld (the old Caulfield Bears VFA ground).

SOme of their players who are not drafted into teh AFL or Rookie listed end up at various VFL Clubs but not necessarily at Sandringham.

its great to see us back at trevor barker oval

SENsaintsational wrote:B4E will be happy, as this now brings Grant Thomas back into the fold.

Unfortunately Sandringham Dragons TAC side is not affiliated wth Sandringham VFL side.

SAndringham Dragons are headquarted at Princes Park in Caulfiewld (the old Caulfield Bears VFA ground).

SOme of their players who are not drafted into teh AFL or Rookie listed end up at various VFL Clubs but not necessarily at Sandringham.
Well they wear the same jumper and play at Trevor Barker Oval, so that's a close enough association for me!! :lol:

SENsaintsational wrote:

Well they wear the same jumper and play at Trevor Barker Oval, so that's a close enough association for me!! :lol:
As do other clubs including some Amateur teams.

At one stage they were offered the use of Moorabbin to play games at permanently and knocked it back. Similarly Elsternwick Park before teh Amateurs took it over as their HQ.

barks4eva wrote:Absolutely amazing, totally rapt, another gr8 move from the new board,

We the members of this football club are very lucky to have the current people who are running this club in control

I just wished we'd done the deal for the new training facility at the Trevor Barker oval in Sandringham instead of Frankston.

I love to be able to back out of the Frankston deal and build this state of the art facility in Sandringham at the TREVOR BARKER OVAL

If your fair dinkum, in your heart of hearts St.Kilda's new facility should belong at the TREVOR BARKER OVAL

It just makes perfect sense.

I was always a bit peeved that St.Kilda were not always aligned with Sandringham, thankfully if this is true, this is great news.

Frankston's VFL side want to be a stand alone club.

Is there any way we can back out of this deal and totally embrace the Sandringham alignment with a training facility at the TREVOR BARKER OVAL?

If so, make it happen and pay Frankston council whatever compensation is required!
Yeah nice thought but I don't think so...

One would have thought Melbourne would have tried that seeing that they never really had a ground to train on in the pre season for years...

So I would very much doubt if Sandringham would say yes to us when you consider Melbourne moving to Casey as a home base.

Casey is close to me and i go to Casey games when they don't clash with StKilda games .I'm not too keen travelling to Sandy because of the car parking but i'll give it a try early in the season and rate it then.....

No Moorabbin,No Waverley,No Casey = much travelling in this high fuel priced era......

Will it help us with our goal kicking accuracy,will it make us play a more attacking game style,will it improve the quality of our midfield and will it help us find another key defender,if not,i'm not overly excited with it.......

saintbart

Well for what its worth I reckon its a CRAP decision.

We have already agreed to move our training base to Frankston, so why did we choose another club to align with??

We need some synergies between where we train and the VFL club we align with. I cant believe everyone on here feels that this is great news :evil: .

So we are going to train at Frankston, share that facility with the Dolphins, who will be our VFL opposition....doesnt make any sense to me.