forum nickname question- why your choice?

Mine describes my state of mind most of the time, and a little too often on here lately. :wink: :lol:

ratismeat wrote:Mine is just terrible, and i regret it every time i post :(
:lol: i agree. it's the worst i've seen, here or anywhere.

I signed up the day that Armitage was drafted

midas_touch

My nick came from the song 'Midas Touch' by Midnight Star. I couldn't get that song out of my head for ages.

Trust the Midas Touch

"My heart is at St.Kilda, I've been here seven years, I only wanted to play for them." (Fraser Gehrig, 27/11/2007)

midas_touch wrote:My nick came from the song 'Midas Touch' by Midnight Star. I couldn't get that song out of my head for ages.
Oh: I thought it might be "Goldfinger, he's a man, the man with the midas touch" as sung by Shirley Bassey (aka Burly Chassis).

It just goes to show that I'm just so middle aged!! I'm so old, I've never even heard of Midnight Star. :cry: :cry:

midas_touch

meher baba wrote:
midas_touch wrote:My nick came from the song 'Midas Touch' by Midnight Star. I couldn't get that song out of my head for ages.
Oh: I thought it might be "Goldfinger, he's a man, the man with the midas touch" as sung by Shirley Bassey (aka Burly Chassis).

It just goes to show that I'm just so middle aged!! I'm so old, I've never even heard of Midnight Star. :cry: :cry:
The song was apparently released in 1986, I've only heard the remixed version though, which came out three years ago.

Trust the Midas Touch

"My heart is at St.Kilda, I've been here seven years, I only wanted to play for them." (Fraser Gehrig, 27/11/2007)
markinUSA

I chose mine because of my name and where I live.

I did think of others, but I have memory problems and might have forgotten the nickname (I've done that before on other places).

I dread the day when Harves retires, because I will have to find a new favourite player then. There are a ew contenders, but it's such a big commitment for me... putting one player on a pedastal... it's like committing to a marriage.

And after Plugger left, and Nicky Winmar played with Footscray, I just couldn't bear choosing another favourite player and seeing them leave.

I've stuck with Harves for years now... but when he retires, I will have to bite the bullet and make another choice!

"Don't give up, never give up" - Robert Harvey.
gooner

bassoon wrote:I have two great passions in life. One's St.Kilda, and the other one is playing the bassoon in a couple of orchestras, and the occasional show and opera.

My bassoon is 72 years old, and is worth about $40,000. There is very little that compares to playing classical music, especially with my instrument.
You see, this is why I love this forum.

The whole gamut of humanity all under the one banner of St Kilda football club.

"The humble improve" Wynton Marsalis

meher baba wrote:Mine is because I was an avid reader of this forum and its predecessor since it began, and a number of other web forums for years , but only ever felt that I "liked to watch" until relatively recently and never made a post anywhere.

Meher Baba took and ket a vow of silence for many years, so I thought it was an appropriate (if obscure) nickname, which I use on lots of forums on the web.

Of course, now I suffer severely from online verbal diarrhoea, and I am sure there are many people who read many forums who wish I'd followed the real Meher Baba's advice and stuck to my vow of silence!!
I assumed it was a play on the double meaning of the word 'avatar'.... having an avatar as your avatar.

contact battye- or an administrator like harvesdiciple-- they can change it for you wthout you losing post count.

markp wrote:
meher baba wrote:Mine is because I was an avid reader of this forum and its predecessor since it began, and a number of other web forums for years , but only ever felt that I "liked to watch" until relatively recently and never made a post anywhere.

Meher Baba took and ket a vow of silence for many years, so I thought it was an appropriate (if obscure) nickname, which I use on lots of forums on the web.

Of course, now I suffer severely from online verbal diarrhoea, and I am sure there are many people who read many forums who wish I'd followed the real Meher Baba's advice and stuck to my vow of silence!!
I assumed it was a play on the double meaning of the word 'avatar'.... having an avatar as your avatar.
That point only occurred to me after I chose it, so it's simply a happy coincidence. 8-)

i_luv_nick_riewoldt

well lets just say i was a 15yo school girl in love with nick riewoldt not so much for his footballing ability!

edit- i had no idea i signed up on harvs bday in 2004!

Go saints in '09!

Mine's just a nickname - have been called Parko or Kenny mostly - but yipper came from my cricket days where I always seemed to get the yips when I batted!! :oops:

I chose mine as its part of my hobby Starsign Memorabilia
and as a retired art/graphic design teacher I make a bit of framed sporting memorabilia to trying in vain to supplement my wifes spending

the "Starsign" relates to the stars who sign the photos etc bit of a play on words actually
I bled for the jumper as a young U19 plodder (thirds in those days playing the curtain raiser to the ones at the Junction Oval) and have fanatically followed the Mighties since I was young enough to talk (in fact c'mon the saints was the first words I spoke according to my dad))
Needless to say I specialise in sainters stuff (well heaps more love goes into it I mean) give a bit away over eBay and at starsignmem (dot com) and sometimes run fundraising auctions up here in the bush
Oh and I've made a few items for some of our blokes too which has been a bit of a buzz in the past

I picked mine because I thought the great man needed more recognition.

Probably not the recognition he needed but the thought was there. :oops:

milney044

well mines pretty obvious - im a milney fan and its 044 because i forgot the password to my original milney44 and instead of making a whole new nickname just added the 0 to make the change unnoticeable.. im still interested to hear where the "brat" came from sb :wink:

Destiny. It's in our hands.

Harder. Better. Faster. Stronger.

milney044 wrote:well mines pretty obvious - im a milney fan and its 044 because i forgot the password to my original milney44 and instead of making a whole new nickname just added the 0 to make the change unnoticeable.. im still interested to hear where the "brat" came from sb :wink:
lol

Classic!

you can always change it.

Mine was where I was living at the time of joining up. Since moved to Freo for another stint in the west.

Bob Murray was my Primary School teacher and my first football coach , i had my picture taken with him in my No.6 saints jumper, which was part of a story on Murray in The Sun way back when.

We used to talk him into doing a few drop kicks on the school oval when he was coaching us ,it seemed like they went from one end of the oval to the other....

I thought of that time,way way back ,when i was trying to come up with a
name to use on here and just decided to run with it......

mine speaks for itself

Mine is fairly obvious, loved watching Stewie takes massive marks with those huge hands of his!

saintsrokk

Mines Saintsrokk, because the sainters do ROCK!!! :wink:
________
Teen videos
Last edited by saintsrokk on Sun 20 Mar 2011 11:18am, edited 1 time in total.

I think we all dream of playing one game with the Saints.

So I decided to pick a one game player and "pretend" it was me. :roll: :roll:

Wanted to go with Pat Murphy, who was this little guy who played one game for us in 66, at Victoria Park of all places.
He had bad eyesight and used to wear contact lenses.
I think the story was that one of the lenses dropped out during the game and they couldn't find it, so he spent the rest of the game running round half blind.
We lost the game.
He never played again.
I remember a hilarious photo of him off the field wearing these really thick black glasses looking more like Brains out of the Thunderbirds.
Would make a sensational avatar if anyone has the photo !
But that was too long ago and nobody would remember.

Whereas Enrico Misso is just such a great name.
And many more people would remember him from the 80s.
And I remember watching him playing heaps of games for us in the twos.
And I was at his only game, though I have no recollection of him playing it.
But I found my footy record of the match, and he scored a point.

So Enrico I am !

Rickabee
Location: Sydney, but grew up in Melbourne - 1st Saints match = Rnd 4 1966

Mine is simple - a contraction of Rick McAbee.

3rd generation saint is my brother, so you have the family story from him on page 1 of this topic.

Unfortunately, I live in Sydney (work in the Medical Device industry in Marketing) so I don't get to very many matches, except when I get down to Melbourne on business trips.

Markin USA - Ilived in Cincinnati from 2000 - 2003. Isn't it a "bitch" listening to the matches over the internet starting at ~1:00AM!!!

Can make a suggestion? Well I will anyway - wouldn't be a good idea if there was a Saintsational logo on the site that we could download and pin it on our jackets we wear to matches so we could recognize fellow Saintsational members at matches, particularly interstate?

Looking for feedback???

Launcestonsaint
Location: Watching our games on tele or listening to the radio :(

Being from Oodnadatta & a supporter of the Boolarra Demons, I thought mine was obvious. :lol: :wink:

Time to fess up brat!

St Kilda's 2 premiership captains are Tassie born. The Doc & Roo.