Wayne Judson

You know, he was a very good player. Represented Victoria I believe, but cut short his career to make heaps of money. These days, the reverse applies. I wonder if Geary has met Wayne?

Nah, never met the kid. I did play for Vic, but it was the B team.

Perhaps you can trade geary for me? I'm not as fast as I was, but still as dour... and ugly.

What do you think? :lol:

Re: Wayne Judson

perfectionist wrote:You know, he was a very good player. Represented Victoria I believe, but cut short his career to make heaps of money. These days, the reverse applies. I wonder if Geary has met Wayne?
Made a fortune with a company called Probulit then sold out of it.

That's the way to do it.

Represented Vic '73, '74 and '75. Not spectacular, but had the knack of doing the right thing at the right time.

Hawkesbury Saint

Represented Vic becasue he was a champion back pocket - did the job required on the resting rover.

I think I remember him manning up well on both Bartlett and Matthews.

Nothing flashy but a tight restricting player who did the jumper proud.

I think you'll find an injury near the end restricted his ability to go on. He couldn't rely on his dour shutting down skills and was not the flashy type who could reinvent himself in a new role.

I think the injury part is right but I am going by memory.

1975 saw the last of Jeans too and 19726 was to be another spoon under Ross Smith (great guy , brilliant footballer, but it didn't translate into coaching) so 1975 may have seemed a logical break time with footy.

Saints Footy - Let all others follow.

I was still a kid in those days, so my memory is a bit vague. I do remember him playong for the big V.

Can you recall the procession of coaches since Jeans?

I know Patterson came in 78. Memorable year that one :lol:

Who didn't coach the team?

Jeans to 76*
Smith 77
Patterson 78, 79, 80*
Jezza 80 81 82
Jewell 83, 84
Gellie 84, 85, 86*
Baldock 87,88,89 (Davis in 87)
Sheldon 90, 91,92,93*
Alves 94,95,96,97,98*
Watson 99, 00
and you know the rest
Those with * could coach in my opinion. Pity Graeme Gellie didn't have a better team

perfectionist wrote:Who didn't coach the team?

Jeans to 76*
Smith 77
Patterson 78, 79, 80*
Jezza 80 81 82
Jewell 83, 84
Gellie 84, 85, 86*
Baldock 87,88,89 (Davis in 87)
Sheldon 90, 91,92,93*
Alves 94,95,96,97,98*
Watson 99, 00
and you know the rest
Those with * could coach in my opinion. Pity Graeme Gellie didn't have a better team
Tell you what... I reckon if Patterson didn't have the massive exodus of experienced players...