Carlton pursuing Maguire

i would trade him
he was good in 04 but since has been below par (i know injurys but seriously are we looking to win a flag or be nice guys ?? ) hard decisions on players have to be made

WOuld we swap Maguire for Lovett?
ie Blues give us their 2nd/third rounder and we pass it on to the bummers?

maverick wrote:WOuld we swap Maguire for Lovett?

I reckon they'd want more than a Lovett.

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:seriously are we looking to win a flag or be nice guys
nothing to do with nice guys. fully fit (a big if, admittedly) the guy's a bloody good player.

Quixote wrote:
maverick wrote:WOuld we swap Maguire for Lovett?

I reckon they'd want more than a Lovett.
Lovett + a second rounder or early 3rd rounder perhaps?

JeffDunne wrote:
Batnoe wrote:I would do it for Murphy
If you're going to be living in dreamland why not throw in Judd? :roll:

Goose doesn't have much trade value.
exactly, I'd be happy with pick 50 for him

St Igmata

Carlton is not interested in Goose.

If blues are looking to give Freo their 2nd round pick for Warnock then my bet would be they are offering a 3rd round pick for Matty.

This deal will go nowhere unless Saints beleive Matty wants out or Matty will never be able to get back to AFL standard.

saintwill66

This thread is a pathetic joke...........

Maguire will make a full recovery and come back stronger and fitter than ever.

St Kilda will have learned from the experience with Dean Rice and Joel Smith who were both let go because of chronic injuries and continued their careers in great form with Carlton and Hawthorn respectively.

Neither Maguire nor Dal Santo nor Koschitske will be traded - to suggest otherwise is absolute garbage.

tweedaletomanning

saintwill66 wrote:This thread is a pathetic joke...........

St Kilda will have learned from the experience with Dean Rice and Joel Smith who were both let go because of chronic injuries and continued their careers in great form with Carlton and Hawthorn respectively.

Neither Maguire nor Dal Santo nor Koschitske will be traded - to suggest otherwise is absolute garbage.
Agree....Ridiculous rumour

saintwill66 wrote:This thread is a pathetic joke...........

learned that vital lesson from two players???

hardly

i doubt he is going to go after the 2 and a half seasons of rehab he has seemingly been put though...to me he has bugger all trade value and this is a positive for us as i don't think supporters expect too much from him upon his return

and a 2nd rounder + jamieson for goose??? jesus christ i would give our first rounder for jamieson...much like thursfield...going to be guns...

No trade value, but he is still worthy for us to get his body right, i am sure we will see him on the park next year and if people still dont like him we could trade him then, but is a good player and can be and as we wont get much for him we may as well keep him for a while longer

Ross Lyon and the St Kilda board have invested 2 years in Goose Maguire.

if he was worthless they'd have got rid of him a long time ago.

Dan Warna wrote:Ross Lyon and the St Kilda board have invested 2 years in Goose Maguire.
Would be interested to see how much he has racked up in medical bills.

I'd take a second rounder or any best 22 player under 26 for Goose in a second. He hasn't played good, consistent footy since 2004 and he's too slow for the modern game.
Last edited by mad saint guy on Thu 25 Sep 2008 1:49am, edited 1 time in total.

TimeToShineFellas

Dan Warna wrote:Ross Lyon and the St Kilda board have invested 2 years in Goose Maguire.

Here's another analogy.

You have a much loved car in your carport that you have invested in for the last 2 years, but no matter how much you try and get it to work it just keeps on breaking down.

Just when you think the worrying signs are over you get the car as far as 2 houses away and it breaks down.

So you take the car back to the garage and your mate down the road is interested in taking it off your hands for a trusty yet maybe less talented vehicle which won't cause you any grief or headaches and won't keep breaking down.

I think you would take your mate's offer, no matter how much sentimental value your car has.

TimeToShineFellas wrote:

Here's another analogy.

You have a much loved car in your carport that you have invested in for the last 2 years, but no matter how much you try and get it to work it just keeps on breaking down.

Just when you think the worrying signs are over you get the car as far as 2 houses away and it breaks down.

So you take the car back to the garage and your mate down the road is interested in taking it off your hands for a trusty yet maybe less talented vehicle which won't cause you any grief or headaches and won't keep breaking down.

I think you would take your mate's offer, no matter how much sentimental value your car has.
then he has your car refurbished and gets it going properly and either 1) uses it to pull chicks who would make you weep with desire, or 2) flogs it off to someone else for a fortune.

how do you feel then?

I love the Goose, the Saints are in the best position to realise just where he is at medically... (yes that's obvious)

IMO he can't play FB...

He looks out of sorts when too close to the back line IMO....

Fisher and to a lesser extent Blake are more suited at the CHB line where both can provide run...

I would doubt that Goose will work in the forward half as I feel his ability is to run a straight line is his strength IMO...

To me it's CHB and Fisher playing on the third tall or picking up a small...

otherwise I really can't see him in any other position

probably a lot less than cousins has cost in medical fees over the last 2 years and throw in injunctions as well.

and probably on par wiht gardiners medical bills.

TimeToShineFellas wrote:

Here's another analogy.

then he has your car refurbished and gets it going properly and either 1) uses it to pull chicks who would make you weep with desire, or 2) flogs it off to someone else for a fortune.

how do you feel then?
Snap!!! :wink:
Love your work big fella :twisted:

Goose ,like X would be fine players as long as they wore protective suits and didn't have to accelerate suddenly or turn quickly. Injuries take a toll, and I would be surprised if Goose or X could ever see out a full season without leg injuries putting them out again. You can't build a premiership team around players with chronic injury issues.

Geezer

cost in medical bills means squat.
built into every AFL players contract is medical insurance.
going on the long term injury list ensures it.
it costs just as much as it would to keep an AFL player fit healthy and on the park as it would to send goose for operations, scans, specialists and the rest.

it's not costing stkilda any more in medical bills.
insurance premiums cover the entire list and every club pays the same.

#35 - Thanks for the Memories.
21 Great Season's
Simply Remarkable
St Marcus

Tell Carlton to get lost, I'm stilled p***ed with us trading Rice and Lappin to the cheaters

Matt will come back better than ever.

Plus my partner will be BESIDE herself if he leaves the Saints. He is her favourite player (not just in the football sense).

spert wrote:Goose ,like X would be fine players as long as they wore protective suits and didn't have to accelerate suddenly or turn quickly. Injuries take a toll, and I would be surprised if Goose or X could ever see out a full season without leg injuries putting them out again. You can't build a premiership team around players with chronic injury issues.
Disagree, Goose had a major impact injury and came back to soon in my uneducated opinion. The resulting stress fractures are most likely a flow on effect of the broken leg.

X has had numerous soft tissue injuries, don't really think they can be compared.

2 words....

Tom. Harley.