Thompson says Saints the benchmark
-
- Club Player
Thompson says Saints the benchmark
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/ ... fault.aspx
Interesting for Thompson to be talking about the Saints after knocking over the Bombers today. Mind games starting already?
Interesting considering some of the drivel that has appeared on here in the last 24 hours.
Interesting for Thompson to be talking about the Saints after knocking over the Bombers today. Mind games starting already?
Interesting considering some of the drivel that has appeared on here in the last 24 hours.
-
- Saintsational Legend
Re: Thompson says Saints the benchmark
we haven't won 50 out of 53 or whatever that ridiculous stat is. good luck trying to portray yourself as the underdog bummer.
-
- Club Player
-
- Saintsational Legend
Re: Thompson says Saints the benchmark
what bollocks. Mind games. Nothing else.Sainterman wrote:http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/ ... fault.aspx
- Spinner
- Saintsational Legend
Yeh right.
After thrashing us in the finals last year I reckon they would still be pretty confident they can match us and more.
Its their midfield, such an even contribution, plus more.
Ablett, Selwood, Bartel, Corey, Enright, Ling.
All about 25 plus or minus and all strong bodies...This is where we need to win to beat Geelong.
After thrashing us in the finals last year I reckon they would still be pretty confident they can match us and more.
Its their midfield, such an even contribution, plus more.
Ablett, Selwood, Bartel, Corey, Enright, Ling.
All about 25 plus or minus and all strong bodies...This is where we need to win to beat Geelong.
- perfectionist
- Saintsational Legend
- The Saintsational Man
- Club Player
- evertonfc
- Saintsational Legend
So he praises us, and he's basically dumped on...?
Geez, imagine the response here if he said the below:
[quote]
Saints still chasing Cats, says Thompson
GEELONG coach Mark Thompson says St Kilda has a fair way to go before it can be considered in the same light as his competition trendsetters.
Both sides have won 10 matches without defeat in 2009 but Thompson considers his side to be the benchmark, and it is a stance that is driving the Cats forward.
“They are trying to be in competition with us to be honest,â€
[quote]
GEELONG coach Mark Thompson says St Kilda has a fair way to go before it can be considered in the same light as his competition trendsetters.
Both sides have won 10 matches without defeat in 2009 but Thompson considers his side to be the benchmark, and it is a stance that is driving the Cats forward.
Last edited by evertonfc on Sun 31 May 2009 9:00pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Club Player
[quote="evertonfc"]So he praises us, and he's basically dumped on...?
[quote]
[quote]
- Devilhead
- Saintsational Legend
Thompson says that we are the benchmark but deep down he knows that they are the benchmark so in reality he is only doubling the pressue for his own side saying that the pressure is on them to catch up but knowing that all the pressure is actually on them to stay ahead
The Geelong Football Club has a team I consider one of the best I have ever seen including all of the Hawk teams of the 80's Carlton of 95 Essendon of 1999-2001 and Brisbane 2001-2004.
They are the benchmark and really anyone can see that.
There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
-
- Club Player
Which will make our flag this year even sweeter!!joffaboy wrote:The Geelong Football Club has a team I consider one of the best I have ever seen including all of the Hawk teams of the 80's Carlton of 95 Essendon of 1999-2001 and Brisbane 2001-2004.
- Bernard Shakey
- Saintsational Legend
Round 14 is 5 weeks away. Today's message may be forgotten by then.ohwhenthesaints! wrote:I had wondered if the thumping of Essendon may have been a little message to us? I could be reading heaps into it of course, but this was a side that remained competitive against us only recently and many thought may be able to give Geelong a scare with pace?
With a nine day break I'd expect the Saints to flog Essendon too. After a six day break, a solid win is... pleasing.ohwhenthesaints! wrote:I had wondered if the thumping of Essendon may have been a little message to us? I could be reading heaps into it of course, but this was a side that remained competitive against us only recently and many thought may be able to give Geelong a scare with pace?
- Dal_Santos_Gal
- Saintsational Legend
Benchmark ha, sounds like he is trying to shift the pressure if you ask me.
The pressure of being "the greatest team of all" and possibly only winning 1 flag in their "brilliant" era.
Hope they chock on the pressure in round 14 and also GF day if they make it.
The pressure of being "the greatest team of all" and possibly only winning 1 flag in their "brilliant" era.
Hope they chock on the pressure in round 14 and also GF day if they make it.
In Ross Get lost!
I am excited to stay at St Kilda and this is a great result for the Club and all our fans. I’m proud to be part of the Saints and am pleased to be playing football with the Clubâ€
A better evaluation caan be found in Matthew Knights summary of them.
Es[ecially re their tackling.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/ ... 42,00.html
Es[ecially re their tackling.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/ ... 42,00.html