Save the Footy Buskers!!!

sainter35

Bernard Shakey wrote:Am I on the General Forum?

I thought I was on the Sainsational Fan Forum. Must be my mistake.
Yes, it is your mistake.

A couple of our supporters are copping a raw deal and the vast majority of our supporters are supporting them.

I would have thought that's what a fan forum is actually about.

Walking past the footy buskers, the classical gas man and more recently the female bagpipes player is as far as I'm concerned part of the whole football day experience.

Had a good laugh when i saw the caution tape and witches hats today!
Why are the footy buskers being harassed? today bagpipe was playing closer to the stadium than them, and up the other end 2 kids about 14 were also playing "oh when the saints" on trumpets. I didnt see them getting hasselled by collos nazis, so why are they being persecuted!!!!!!

python

theres an article on page 10 in the herald sun if anyone wants to have a look, hope etihad realise what a joke this is and let the whole thing go

SteveStevens66

Moorabbin Saints wrote:As someone said before, make sure you get onto SEN and 3AW about this issue, tell fans how to complain and you'll get full backing by most of them. Set up a petition possibly?
Absolutely the ONLY way of getting satisfaction, namely if someone famous like Rex or Neil Mitchell takes up your cause. Otherwise Collo will ignore the average Joe just like Dimwit and the AFL do.

Carna Saints!!!
rogerwa

gotta love the buskers

as a once a yr visitor to melb its the buskers that create atmosphere that you dont get at any other venue...we always enjoy their aftergame entertainment

as tourists we dont understand how smallminded dykheads (dome management) can find a valid reason to get rid of em

we all pyssed ourselves laughing last yr...100 yrds or so up from the buskers was a chap playing the guitar with music box & speakers etc once again providing atmosphere & entertainment....the classic was he used both hands to roll a smoke & the tune didnt skip a beat :lol: :lol:

at 11 oclock at night in the middle of a freezing cold melb winter for us its not the game you remember its the atmosphere created after the game that you look forward to seeing each yr

melb itself is a chythole,if ya lose the game yourve had a chyt night...as you wander over to the casino all that is forgotten as the buskers ply their trade

hope you are still there when we come over for our yearly footy trip in a month or so

THE BUSKERS ARE A TOURIST ATTRACTION

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/ ... 62,00.html
Buskers to be bouncedArticle from: Sunday Herald SunFont size: Decrease Increase Email article: Email Print article: Print Submit comment: Submit comment Peter Rolfe

June 07, 2009 12:00am
A POPULAR busking duo which belts out the winning club's song after AFL matches could have played their last tune outside Etihad Stadium because of killjoy authorities.

As they played after St Kilda's win over North Melbourne last night, the band was handed a letter by a Melbourne Council local laws officer, ordering them to move on.

If they refused, the letter said, they could be fined up to $1500.

But the duo has vowed to play outside Etihad Stadium before and after next Friday's clash between Carlton and St Kilda.

David Hedges and Anthony Simmonds, who call themselves "The Footy Buskers", have been playing a trumpet and saxophone to footy anthems outside the grounds for the last seven years.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

This is absolute B.S.!!!

You guys should have every right to be there.

If those pricks take away buskers, they are taking away a piece of Melbourne culture. SHAME ON THEM!

I saw them being interviewed by the media as i made my way to the ground.

I don't care for them myself but i think they should be allowed to play...

The girl who plays the bagpipes further down the concourse...i wonder if she has been threatened.....

matty

i thought these guys stole the idea from the two lads down at the other end who play the saints song. if those lads are being bullied by etihad stadium scum then ill sign up to save there pocket money for sure.

They're getting a lot of support on 3AW today.

Have just sent my email.Urge everyone to do the same and pass onto as many contacts as you can.Its bureaucracy gone mad and the footy wouldn't be the same if these idiots have their way :x :roll:

mbogo

Live and play proud buskers - it would sadly reduce the great atmosphere if we lose you guys .... absurd bulls*** ....

This is a team game and there is no room for individuals who think they are above walking through the fire.

I blow my own trumpet..do you guys need a third? :D

Maybe we could all write to Etihad and tell them we'll boycot their airline and ask all our friends/family to as well, as a result of this and how they're treating our clubs (and the fans- by putting up some of the reserved seat prices). That might get their attention.
These guys rock. What a crock by stadium management/council etc. What's the world coming to? They need to grow some balls and not be so scared of everything.

The cheersquad could make up a small banner..."Save our Buskers"
Let all the TV stations know to rock up before the game.
That sort of publicity would make dome management squirm.

FAIR DINKUM, gobsmacked, this is an absolute disgrace,

for starters Collo should never have been allowed to run a stadium to begin with after he personally rorted the salary cap and he was directly responsible for cheating and disregarding AFL rules, as if he was somehow above them,

this dirty, lying, cheating, filthy, Howard mate, piece of scum and the rest of his nazi gang that run the dome should be all tied up next to a bee hive and covered in honey or better still just line them up against a wall and I'll be the first one shouting fire at will,

the next time this slimeball falls of a ladder, I can only hope that it's into a pit full of boa constrictors, rattlesnakes and death adders,

what an absolute piece of human excrement, should be fed to the alligators at the zoo and I'd pay a thousand bucks entry fee just to watch this retrobate become gator bait,

how on earth they can try this on with the footy buskers is beyond logic, reason and common decency,

do they figure that the loose change given by the public to the buskers outside the stadium is money they will not spend inside the stadium?

I give the buskers a few bucks every game, but these Nazis who run the dome need not worry, I'll never spend one cent inside the stadium anyways and anyone who does should really question their choices,

If I ever get near Collo or anyone who runs this stadium, they'd be best advised to have security with them at the time,

Collo, LET HIM ROT,

FAIR DINKUM

I fully support the buskers and I urge everyone to get fully behind them,

not only do they screw the clubs, remembering it cost St kilda $125,000 to play three home games at the dome

they even try this shyte on with the footy buskers,

bring back public hangings, I say,

string them up,

FAIR DINKUM

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

But what do you think about Collo B4E? :lol:

jk23

This is the email I sent the council......

Please let the buskers stay, at last weeks game just before it started my friends disabled son was not feeling well so we went outside for a bit air we stood near the footbridge and he was mesmerised by the bagpipes singing the saints theme song after that he starting to feel better and went on to watch the whole game please please please let them stay !!!!

This is my email to the City Council

Dear Melbourne City Council,
Please allow the Footy Buskers to continue performing on the concourse both before and after the football game at Ethihad Stadium.
If you are worried about the OHS issues of people cramming into the concourse to catch a train, then I suggest you look closer to the Southern Cross station barriers, and check out the crammed crowd waiting on the platforms for the ever eternally late Connex train and worry about that crush and potential for danger and focus less on the Footy Buskers.
The Stadium is a grey and souless place and it needs a little light entertainment to bring a bit of soul to the place.

regards,

St Kilda Supporter.

ps Does this mean you're going to move on the guy who plays "Classical Gas" on the guitar as well. He only seems to play only the one tune and is on the way to becoming a Melbourne institution

Save the footy buskers

Only one answer to the Dome "powers that be" city council or whichever wowser wants to remove the only bit of character on the walkway (apart from the marching Saints hordes! :wink: ) and thats for us to join the boys and show how much colour they bring to the day at the footy!
I've heard everything now....Live music being a "safety hazard"...if they are SO concerned for our safety then for Gods sake do something about the congestion around the station entrances post-match! :twisted:

The Fireman wrote:The cheersquad could make up a small banner..."Save our Buskers"
Let all the TV stations know to rock up before the game.
That sort of publicity would make dome management squirm.
An excellent suggestion!

If anyone here is a CS member, perhaps they could pass this idea on to whoever does the banner/run-through design :idea:

p.s. not only do the buskers provide entertainment and good footy ambience, but I also use them as a rendezvous point to meet up with friends before the game.

mordi

if it is on the basis of safety ( blocking the walkway).....how about those clowns in the bright green coats and little red stands...they take up much more space..............

of woops they are the record sellers......can't touch them.

What's the Point of it All?

Way to go Etihad you clowns

Why not expend your energy working out a better way to disperse 90% of the crowd apart from over one footbridge :roll:

AS someone else stated (and no this isnt Etihads fault) the crush on the ONE Dandenong/Franston/Sandringham platform at Southern Cross poses a far greater risk to public safety than a couple of blokes playing music!!!

Why can't the buskers play standing on those stupid seats, it would save a few people from tripping over them :idea:

mordi wrote:if it is on the basis of safety ( blocking the walkway).....how about those clowns in the bright green coats and little red stands...they take up much more space..............

of woops they are the record sellers......can't touch them.
The crowds arriving at the games when the sellers are there arent as crushed as after the game when thanks to the dumb design...90% of the crowd are on that footbridge

One question....WHo exactly has complaied about them apart from Etihad and some council pen-pushers???

HUndreds of thousands of people walk past them every year and they are the ones allegedly being obstructed..has ONE single member of the footy-going public ever complained about them I wonder???