Would Stewart Loewe get a game these days?

Shaggy wrote:Stewie would release Roo to CHB. Best Spine ever :D
Then we could play chips or Dawson up forward.

Shaggy

Shaggy wrote:Stewie would release Roo to CHB. Best Spine ever :D
Then we could play chips or Dawson up forward.
You might but I don't think many else would. But of course you don't like BJ in the forward line.

rexy

Didnt even bother to read this post, of coarse Buckets would get a game.

Maybe this year?

Its all in the numbers you "idiots" ( with respect!)

Stewie Lowe 23!

Kozi 23 !!

He's the great man reincarnated !

I rest my case !

Sit back and enjoy the ride ! Kozies too!

( an thank your lucky stars your not in front of the pack!! )

BakesFan wrote:Stewie at his best would be a walk up start... even though Kosi wears Stewie's #, he's not quite as good as Buckets yet... but he's getting there.
Think that the gap is closing fast.Last weeks contested marks Stuey would have been proud of.Like a few have mentioned Buckets would allow Roo to play more midfield back with 2 sets of vice hands forward...

an awesome thought :roll:

Considering the rule changes since Stewie stopped playing he would have got 45 free a game the way opponents used to hang off him. He'd be good for at least 10 goals a game.

Considering he was better than Rewoildt,then I'd say there's a fair chance he'd get a game

jonesy wrote:Considering he was better than Rewoildt,then I'd say there's a fair chance he'd get a game
That is a huge call. Completely different forwards. Loewe was great Rooy is greater IMO.

Shaggy

jonesy wrote:Considering he was better than Rewoildt,then I'd say there's a fair chance he'd get a game
That is a huge call. Completely different forwards. Loewe was great Rooy is greater IMO.
Roo is a better CHF than Buckets. But as CHB he would just kill it in the easier position ... if we had an alternative to Roo upfront which we don't.

Shaggy wrote:
Roo is a better CHF than Buckets. But as CHB he would just kill it in the easier position ... if we had an alternative to Roo upfront which we don't.
Why would he kill it. Never played down back apart from a few early in his career. May have no idea back there. Won 4 B&F up forward, reckon he kills it there.

RodKeoghsLoveChild

I think the way the game was played in Buckets era that he was the better mark and had it a hell of a lot tougher than Roo has it. The stuff Buckets put up with would almost guarantee a free nearly every time.

Roo works harder and has a better tank because the game is not played in position anymore like when Loewe played the game. Roo is better on the ground and naturally a more effective footballer.

If I had to pick it I would say Loewe is the better footballer. The game was so much harder and was based on man on man and contested footy unlike today.

Like a midget at a urinal, I was going to have to stay on my toes.

There's no comparison. Rewoildt works harder than Stewie,but Loewe was no slouch either in this department. He presented again and again and again. Where do you think Rewoildt learnt this from?
In the air Loewe makes a mockery of any of the modern day players. Some of the comparisons of Kosi to Stewy are embarassing! I agree Kosi's game was a lot like Loewe's last week,but let's remember Loewe did this nearly every week,for 15 years,not every now and then.

Rewoildt has been a super player and I don't mean any disrespect to him, he's getting better each year still. However at this stage,he hasn't reached the dominance Loewe achieved for 10+ years

jonesy wrote:There's no comparison. Rewoildt works harder than Stewie,but Loewe was no slouch either in this department. He presented again and again and again. Where do you think Rewoildt learnt this from?
In the air Loewe makes a mockery of any of the modern day players. Some of the comparisons of Kosi to Stewy are embarassing! I agree Kosi's game was a lot like Loewe's last week,but let's remember Loewe did this nearly every week,for 15 years,not every now and then.

Rewoildt has been a super player and I don't mean any disrespect to him, he's getting better each year still. However at this stage,he hasn't reached the dominance Loewe achieved for 10+ years
Rooy has won 4 B&F and only one of those wasnt when we were in the finals. Rooy has dominated for 8 years. Both great players. I would take Rooy as he is more mobile and a better kick around the ground.

Shaggy

Shaggy wrote:
Why would he kill it. Never played down back apart from a few early in his career. May have no idea back there. Won 4 B&F up forward, reckon he kills it there.
CHB is the easiest position on the ground. CHF is hardest.

Same positions except one can go direct for ball and the other must be making room to turn around.

The understanding is the same but big difference in difficulty of implementation even if you do not see it.

Shaggy wrote:

Same positions except one can go direct for ball and the other must be making room to turn around.

Big difference even if you do not see it.
I havent seen Rooy play on Brown to often and I must have missed something if it is easy to play on Brown or for that matter Rooy. They are hardly the same positions. Actually totally opposite. Are FB and FF the same positions

Shaggy

Shaggy wrote:

I havent seen Rooy play on Brown to often and I must have missed something if it is easy to play on Brown or for that matter Rooy. They are hardly the same positions. Actually totally opposite. Are FB and FF the same positions
Actually I think FB and FF are similar.

Was Cowboy better as FB or FF? Was Verdum Howel a FF or FB? Bob Murray was he always a FB or did he come to us as a FF?

Same skills are required for the position but the forward position is more difficult ... maybe you do not appreciate it :D

clarky449 wrote:Hasn't he marked the ball the most times??
Second most.
Behind the man with the "silky" voice - Garry "bushfire" Dempsey.

Shaggy wrote:

Was Cowboy better as FB or FF? Was Verdum Howel a FF or FB? Bob Murray was he always a FB or did he come to us as a FF?

Same skills are required for the position but the forward position is more difficult ... maybe you do not appreciate it :D
Plugger would have done well. Fev did well on big G who actually played in both positions. Dunstall how would he have gone. What about Ablett. Max would make a great FF.

[quote="RodKeoghsLoveChild
If I had to pick it I would say Loewe is the better footballer. The game was so much harder and was based on man on man and contested footy unlike today.[/quote]

So are you saying that Rooey is just left to roam the ground without an opponent? Most games he not only has one opponent but another bloke dropping back on him. I agree that midfielder and even defender stats don't mean as much today - but I reckon fwds earn their keep - especially the key fwds.

I know buckets had blokes dropping back on him too - and he did take some unbelievable pack marks, but he also rarely had to contend with flooding.

I also don't agree that the game was harder when stewie played. Harder in what way? THe way the game is played today, the tackling is better than ever, the players are faster and stronger, and you wouldn't want to even consider taking a short step in case the 100 cameras at the ground replay and analyse your actions for millions to scutinise.

Shaggy

Shaggy wrote:

Plugger would have done well. Fev did well on big G who actually played in both positions. Dunstall how would he have gone. What about Ablett. Max would make a great FF.
Lol. So the greats couldn't play FB rather than FF :D .

You may doubt it but I suspect after 2 games they will have nailed it

Would be great to see the big man out there! Fantastic grab of the ball - who wouldn't with those massive mits!
Kosi is starting to look more and more like him whenever the ball comes into the F50!

claystreet wrote:Takes a good grab then sprays them was our Stewie then Hudson worked with him on his kicking and it improved heaps. Kosi is in a similar way, takes the grab sprays the kick.

Ahh buckets i remember his 1st and last games, he was a champ our Stewie

8-)
There was some story, and I'm not quite clear exactly how it worked, that Huddo had Stewie pretending an imaginary string was connected between his genitals, the ball and his foot.

Perhaps someone can provide more details on the mechanics involved.
But it seemed to work as Stewie's kicking improved markedly.
Or perhaps the incentive was to avoid further "specialist" skills sessions with Huddo ?

Perhaps one day they will find Huddo dead in a hotel room with string around his member and a football.

i reckon he'd do well

he wouldn't be able to play in the ruck anymore

would most likely have to play closer to goal IMO

his marking is just too suberb to ignore.

plus he's reasonably fit so his opponent couldn't run off him and he could play at CHB if need be too

would be an asset

Would Lockett get a game?

Pfft.

Is the Pope Catholic?

I still maintain Stewie Loewe is the most underrated St Kilda footballer ever.

Took the 2nd most marks in AFL/VFL history.
Played 15 years at CHF, arguably the toughest position in the game.

Was the best contested, one-grab mark I've seen.

Could play ruck, FF, CHF, in the backline ... absolutely versatile.
Kicked 550 goals for the Saints ... that puts him top 20/30 in AFL/VFL history.
Played full-forward one season and almost won the Coleman Medal.

There was nothing more certain than if you kicked the ball to Stewie he would mark it. Had the biggest, strongest hands you've ever seen.

Think of how Kosi has played in every match this year ... and then multiply that by 10 years of the same stuff.

Then you get Stewie.

He was a deadset champion, and would be today (playing FF with Rooey at CHF).