40,000 predicted by MCC

per....(has gate opening times, seating etc).

http://www.mcc.org.au/Events%20at%20the ... bc618dd062

Tell them they're dreaming.

I'm thinking 34,000

i was thinking more like 846

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."
Young Georgie

saintdooley wrote:i was thinking more like 846
+ 33154 Auskickers with their free tix and families

Graceful, elusive, strong overhead and no Easybeat!

846 Melbourne Supporters, 39,154 St.Kilda Supporters.

i reckon this one will be about 25k max.

mordi

nice fresh falls at Buller.........so I'm sure they'll be otherwise occupied
(I know it's a sterotype, but it's still funny)

What's the Point of it All?

mordi wrote:nice fresh falls at Buller.........so I'm sure they'll be otherwise occupied
(I know it's a sterotype, but it's still funny)
Always funny!

Still have very vivid memories being at a Saints/D's game a while back and hearing a D's supporter with a decidedly posh accent and an extremely UNcountrified pair of RM Williams boots yelling 'Oh Jeffrey White, what a graceful leap!'

No word of a lie.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'
BaysideSaint

jonesy wrote:I'm thinking 34,000
between 34 and 35.

True Blue Sainter

40k? I reckon we'd be pushing it to get 30-32..

The Saints are coming!

The notice has the gates opening at 12.30pm (not noon) which seems a little out of the ordinary.

BaysideSaint

True Blue Sainter wrote:40k? I reckon we'd be pushing it to get 30-32..
you're prolly right there actually TBS

perfectionist wrote:The notice has the gates opening at 12.30pm (not noon) which seems a little out of the ordinary.
they said that last week about the north game and they opened at 11 not 11.30

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

So they are counting on every St Kilda member to be there along with the handful of diehard Demons as well as a pool of a bout 4000 neutrals.

All for a game one club doesn't want to win and another doesn't reall want to be playing.

Um... Okay.

23,000 tops given forecast.
Last edited by Thinline on Thu 27 Aug 2009 4:21pm, edited 1 time in total.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'
midas_touch

30000 imo

Trust the Midas Touch

"My heart is at St.Kilda, I've been here seven years, I only wanted to play for them." (Fraser Gehrig, 27/11/2007)

Weather Forecast = chytty, rainy, cold ........Only the idiots will be out in that.. 30,000 !!

Much as I love my Saints, the BIG ONE this week will be Collingdud V Dullbogs for 3/4 spot on the ladder and most "nuetrals"(?!) will probably be heading there. The Demons fans will probably be away skiing (or whatever it is they do in the snow :roll: ) so 30k-plus will be a decent crowd.

It is general marketing

Would you go if they said. crowd going to be crap 10000 people?

If they say 40000 people might say ' mmm, that wont be bad, prob be a good atmosphere, lets go'

Like lotto- if it is 1 million for major prize only the regulars will do it, they advertise that 19 million up for grabs and more people buy a ticket and therefore allowing 19 million in earnings up for grabs

jay young

poor old melb they are rooted just like rich, infact they should merge with rich, north and bull should merge , and if we cant win a flag this year we should merge with hawth and bring in the new clubs plus a tassie side

thejiggingsaint wrote:Much as I love my Saints, the BIG ONE this week will be Collingdud V Dullbogs for 3/4 spot on the ladder and most "nuetrals"(?!) will probably be heading there. The Demons fans will probably be away skiing (or whatever it is they do in the snow :roll: ) so 30k-plus will be a decent crowd.
Dullbogs :lol: I love it....

Though I think Hawks v Don's will also be quite the crowd, even if Buddy doesn't play.

Cons - Sunday, predictable result, struggling Melbourne side

Pros - Final game for a few dees, excited sainters leading up to september, some free tickets available to commerate the 174th anniversary of the settlement of Melbourne

End result 33, 700.

SaintJay

I'm willing to bet that the inflated prediction is due to the fact this game is reciprocal and will be effectively free entry for both sets of members.

Also, three retiring demons will be playing, in Russel Robertson, Wheatley and Whelan.

Then there is the G factor. First game at the G for the Saints. Many Saints supporters would be keen to see how well they play there given the media hype.

Having said all that, I don't expect to see 40,000 turn up.

linz

I can't see them running out of hot sausage rolls or pies.

I'll be praying for no injuries but I want the players to risk death to get the ball to tune up for the finals.

Sigh :roll: :roll: What a dichotomy!!

I once spent a year in Adelaide, I think it was on a Sunday.