Jeez I'm....

Mooksy

Jeez I'm....

....sad. What could have been.

yeah its still shyte isnt it?

everytime I think...what was I doing a week ago....I remember gearing up for aflag and then one almight party...

Now I just think.....will we get there again? whose the real challenge coming from? what do we have to do to get better?

Seriously emotion gets you so far - we have some deficiencies.....not many...but some.....backline is good, midfield IMO lacks some genuine pace and 1 additional quality rotation who has FOOTSKILLS and can kick a goal, fwd line needs greater flexibility - we simply cant be "stop Roo stop st kilda"...

still gutted.

Cant watch the tape....still keep thinking bout missed goals,.,,,,and that moment that shitty point from Rooke went through and just sinking back in my seat thinking "thats it"..

Mooksy

I was at my parents' place tonight and they were going to put the replay on and I saw about 2 seconds of the last quarter and I felt ill. I don't think it'ssunk in for me yet.

We'll never get the bastard back either.

Even if we win one soon, you don't get that one back. It was ours, and we gave it to Geelong, handed them a flag.

f*** me!

its done
get over it
2010! 8-)

HarveysDeciple wrote:We'll never get the bastard back either.

Even if we win one soon, you don't get that one back. It was ours, and we gave it to Geelong, handed them a flag.

f*** me!
So true, still real gutted

Beej

It changes the course of history.

If we had beaten Geelong and then gone back to back in 2010, we're suddenly one of the greatest sides ever while Geelong is compared to Essendon circa 1999-2001 as having not lived up to their potential.

Imagine being around to see one of the greatest sides ever - and that side is St Kilda. Dreams are made of this.

I watched the pre game entertainment and that put me off my dinner, I couldn't eat it. Never watched any of the game though, that would be just to much.

Beej

There was another replay on Foxtel last night.

You should've seen the speed at which I skipped over the channel while looking for something to watch - like it was the porn channel and my parents were in the room.

Didn't catch a single glimpse of it.

True Blue Sainter

It's still devastating.

It really does change the course of history - had we won, we'd have the opportunity to create a "dynasty" and be compared with some of the truly great sides. As it stands, Geelong have seized their chance and now sit in that group. It makes me sick. That really should have been us. I can't stomach the replays.

The Saints are coming!

OLB wrote:It changes the course of history.

If we had beaten Geelong and then gone back to back in 2010, we're suddenly one of the greatest sides ever while Geelong is compared to Essendon circa 1999-2001 as having not lived up to their potential.

Imagine being around to see one of the greatest sides ever - and that side is St Kilda. Dreams are made of this.
Ok then, we will just have to win 2010, and then back it up in 2011...then we can say we at least won them in succession :wink:

f*** me!
i was walking out of the ground.....a guy in saint's gear ..about my own age looked at me and said....it doesn't matter.......i said...of course it matters......htf could a saints supporter say it didn't matter ffs.... :evil: :evil:

faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarK

f*** me!
i was walking out of the ground.....a guy in saint's gear ..about my own age looked at me and said....it doesn't matter.......i said...of course it matters......htf could a saints supporter say it didn't matter ffs.... :evil: :evil:
if it was ours and we gave it away then it never should have been 'ours' cos the doggies gave it away in the same fashion. funny game footy.

oh and yeah it hurts like fkn buggery...STILL

Watched last 10 minutes of the second quarter on Foxtel last night.

I know it has been said before but we should have been 4 goals up at halftime. The goals missed by Milne, McQualter, Milne again from a set shot, and then to a lesser extent Schneider (a hurried snap) were all very gettable.

God it burns.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
dals_da_bomb

gezz im..... having a really bad fortnight...

been sick for the last few months, had somewhat bad news the friday of the prelim...was unable to make it the game, but happly sent a close friend along..

recieved a call from my father that he had fantastic tickets to the grand final footy show x3 and no one to go with...not just that but free transport, meals and access to the after party...
i was in sunny qld where i was not able to even view the show, but was unaware of the tickets untik i check my phone the next morning..

with the illness unfortunalty had to leave work for an unknown amount of time... they hired some one the following friday, night before the big one. following one was able to hear both messages one afte the other.

centrelink (yeah those useless twits) are unable to assit with Sickness allowance at this stage for i recieved all my leave entitlements to a total of a huge $816. 8 weeks min before i can get a foot in the door.

grand final day... lets not go there

meet up with a old school friend for dinner last night, had a very nice dessert wine with her, drove out of the car park straight in to a booze bus, blew .051 which has left me with no licence for 6 months.

Funnly enough the agencies that centrelink referred me to are no longer in a position to help given my lack of licence now!

now for the exciting part, the day i get my licence back will be my last week for chemo, my hair may/should be on a comeback, also my birthday week--the big 24---also the first week of April which means that 2010 season should be off to a start ....

i have every reason to look forward to next year, and cannot wait another minute for this stinker september/october to roll the hell on!!!

(im not posting this looking for acknowledgments or alike, just nice to see a thread about how it really is!!)

The Tiger and the Lion may be more powerful, but the Wolf does not perform in the circus.
aussiejones

I feel for you ... Sept 08 I was given 12 mths to live..devastating .
Had an operation in Dec 08 , bit of plumbing work but could not remove the mass. Jan 09 started Chemo and Feb 09 Radiation .
Decided not to renew my membership in 09 as too sick.. What hurt was I got a call from Luke Ball asking why I had not renewed ..
Anyway ... 12 months on I am still here so chin up buddy ..... the Saints did us proud ...... 2010 who knows !!!

Fulham_Sainter

its done
get over it
2010!
This is what has been s**tting me off all week. This is an accept mediocrity type statement. Not having a go but I am sick of waiting for next year when we should have won the flag. Still making me sick and if we had of finished 8 lipped into the gf and played the game of our lives and just lost, I would have been proud of the boys. We rode 6 months of highs, more highs and a couple of minor stumbles to then hit the GF and lose a game we had by the balls. Not good enough, hence Lyon's speech that players should not come back if they don't want to improve. You could tell he was pissed off. Anyway end of rant and it will continue to hurt until summer farking hurrys up and gives us some reprieve weather wise anyway.[/quote]

i hear every word everyone is saying, dont get me wrong.
i had my moment
disbelief (i was absolutely sure we would win 100% SURE!)
anger (friggin cant kick the ones that count ffs!!)
sadness (f***....f*** f*** f***, tears, hugs..s***!)

now i think:
the journey starts again, around we go once more (and lets admit it, we would be here, going round again no matter what the result was, granted it wasnt the best)
the drafts, the picks, the pre season training, the who has improved?, the hunger, the fitness, the trial games, round one, mid season assessment, the last rounds, finals footy!!...its all to come around again

we all deal with it certain ways and i think thats good.
if people are still upset, angry...thats good, because thats you being you and thats what counts
just do what you do
8-)

for me?
it takes a day, maybe two until positive stuff starts to come back
it still hurts, but i deal with it..now im just already really hanging for next season to kick in

each to their own

Mooksy

Faaaaaaark!!!! Please let this last week be a bad dream. Still only sinking in really.

Halo-9
Location: Giving the fruit loops and powder puff supporters the finger everyday!

i too am gutted still,but also looking forward to next year already,its as rossy n rooy said,it will burn in the guts,if the boys have this same feeling and carrying that pain for next year for redemption,it will be a f**kin great year.

hope the marketing department has the slogan with ""redemption"" writtin in it somewhere next year :)

ST.KILDA are the BEST
So F**K all the REST

*BALLwagon Member #9*

SAINTS LOVE......................SAINTS FOOTY

In a way, as time goes on it's actually getting worse.

:shock: :cry:

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo
Beej

Had we won the flag this time around maybe the fire would've burnt out with the group never reaching the same heights again. They'd won their flag, they'd appeased their fans, what more is there to do? They've already achieved what they wanted to achieve in the game. Premiershiphangovertastic!

But, now the players know that bitter taste. They've cried, they've experienced the heartbreak first-hand and they vowed never to experience it again. More than ever before, they absolutely hate the thought of losing. This may inspire them to even greater things because they know how bad that day felt.

We may look back at September 26 2009 as the catalyst for a St Kilda dynasty.

Who knows...

To dal a bomb and aussiejones, shyte I hope its gets better for the both of you, gutted by the loss, but the loss compared to your probs is minor

Hope it works out for ye both of you

dals_da_bomb

stillwaiting,

thanks for the kind words :wink:

although it might seem silly, but footy and the saints really gets me through, or just something to concentrate on. i love it, being a passionate supporter really leaves me little time to sit round and sook or moan. (although i am prone to it every now and then :oops: )

im ready for another season next year, i - we all gotta get through the hard times, pull it together cos no way in hell am i missing a season!!

bring on 2010, its going be a big year, and ross said it himself if your not prepared to work...then get going!!! (im not crazy to assume he was talking to me!)

The Tiger and the Lion may be more powerful, but the Wolf does not perform in the circus.