I hope X stays.

karnak

I hope X stays.

I really hope X stays, I've always found him a joy to watch, so much poise. I really feel that we're better off that we're keeping him and trying to get him to the point where he is as good as well all know he can be.

Sam Gilbert you are an EXCITEMENT MACHINE!

It would be sad to see X go because he was one of the faces of the resurrection of the club, his talent, poise, pace and ability to turn a game looked like it was going to play a vital role in our future success.

However it has not eventuated and he's not the player we thought he would be.

If the right deal arises I would take it, if not, give him one more year to prove himself.

I hope he stays.

He must have been close to senior selection again when cruelly doing his knee this year.

Has ability and skills to burn, and allegedly had been running well leading into the finals, so a strong pre-season could see him back to his best.

Other players have come back from knees and we now have the best fitness guru going round.

mightysainters

Let's face it he has no trade value and he's done imo....

His body isn't up to it and is still as skinny as he was when drafted just hasn't got a hard body and he suffers for it. He's not an AFL player Lyon recognised this and was only going to select him if he set the VFL alight which he was making in roads with and IF his body could hold up but alas his body broke down again.

karnak

doing a knee is hardly body breaking down,

it wasn't a soft tissue injury, these things just happen.

Sam Gilbert you are an EXCITEMENT MACHINE!
henno

If he goes, we could be losing picks #2 and #5 from the 2001 'Super' Draft.

saints 2011.

mightysainters wrote:Let's face it he has no trade value and he's done imo....

His body isn't up to it and is still as skinny as he was when drafted just hasn't got a hard body and he suffers for it. He's not an AFL player Lyon recognised this and was only going to select him if he set the VFL alight which he was making in roads with and IF his body could hold up but alas his body broke down again.
he did a knee mot soft tissue

could be the fittest and do a knee

but yes he has had issues...............no trade value though....

will be a bargain for Bris.....if comes good

he is the one I believe pushing the move........

A NEW START his view.

talking about swapping him for a fourth round draft pick is f****** outrageous
Last edited by stinger on Wed 07 Oct 2009 6:42pm, edited 1 time in total.

Would be a shame to lose him.

Cruelled by soft tissue dramas when everyone at the club was having soft tissue dramas.

IMO if he could stay fit he would easily be in our best 22 come end of season 2010.

Mooksy

Re: I hope X stays.

karnak wrote:I really hope X stays, I've always found him a joy to watch, so much poise. I really feel that we're better off that we're keeping him and trying to get him to the point where he is as good as well all know he can be.
I don't. What's he ever done?

boneless23

The deal is a straight swap for X with about pick 60.

I dont understand why we would entertain this trade apart from a salary cap related issue.

I so hope it doesnt go ahead...he seems like such a high quality person who is great to have around the footy club especeially when he is fit and firing.

henno wrote:If he goes, we could be losing picks #2 and #5 from the 2001 'Super' Draft.

yep...and i blame the coaches for both wanting to go.....

henno wrote:If he goes, we could be losing picks #2 and #5 from the 2001 'Super' Draft.
Yeah imagine if we got:
Judd(3) instead of Ball (2)
Bartel (7) instead of X (5)

reckon we would not be still rolling out 1966....

chook23 wrote:he is the one I believe pushing the move........

A NEW START his view.
Interesting, hadn't heard that, I wonder how badly he'll be boo'd by Saints supporters if that's the case... :roll: :wink:

I hope it is just paper talk. It makes no sense to me that we would give up our first round pick for a fast player, then accept a 4th round pick for X who is probably our fastest player now.

yep...and i blame the coaches for both wanting to go.....
Who cares who you blame you clueless old crone :roll:

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

SaintWodonga wrote:
Yeah imagine if we got:
Judd(3) instead of Ball (2)
Bartel (7) instead of X (5)

reckon we would not be still rolling out 1966....
Yup - which coach was in charge when we picked those two up?

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Probably not much at all. Players usually only get booed when they have been a significant part of their respective clubs.

When fringe players move on, most ppl just shrug their shoulders.

X is somewhere in the middle of someone significant to our last 8 years and a fringe player.

OK sorry - for some stupid reason I thought he'd been a really good ambassador, played 105 games for us and been a great clubman through thick and thin, had taken big knocks and bled for the club.

:shock:

But I guess if he wants out, then that's ok by me.

PS I reckon he's a fantastic person and if he wanted to go, then I won't boo him.

Iceman234 wrote: PS I reckon he's a fantastic person and if he wanted to go, then I won't boo him.
Who would boo X - maybe our own supporters when he was with us.

They will have to be content in booing Raph

Why are you so sure that he wants to go? Have we seen anything from the club, or just the article in the paper?

borderbarry wrote:Why are you so sure that he wants to go? Have we seen anything from the club, or just the article in the paper?
I've seen nothing except a post above - and my opinions were based on "if" he wanted to go.

Milton66

The only reason he would go is if he was told he wasn't a required player.

Given our game style, I suspectthat a fit X will be a most required player.

Hotel De Los Muertos: Your room is ready... Care to step inside?

borderbarry wrote:Why are you so sure that he wants to go? Have we seen anything from the club, or just the article in the paper?
no and it's not making any of the trade updates on radio

Do you think he may have also knocked on Lyon's door?