OFFICIAL: Saints Vs Fremantle Teams Round 4

ST KILDA v FREMANTLE
St Kilda
B: James Gwilt, Zac Dawson, Sam Gilbert
HB: Steven Baker, Sam Fisher, Brendon Goddard
C: Leigh Montagna, Clinton Jones, Nick Dal Santo
HF: Andrew McQualter, Jason Blake, Adam Schneider
F: Jarryn Geary, Michael Gardiner, Stephen Milne
Foll: Steven King, Jason Gram, Lenny Hayes
I/C (from): David Armitage, Raphael Clarke, Robert Eddy, Brett Peake, Farren Ray, Rhys Stanley, Jack Steven

In: Clarke, Eddy, Steven, Stanley
Out: Nick Riewoldt (hamstring)

Fremantle
B: Jay van Berlo, Chris Tarrant, Adam McPhee
HB: Greg Broughton, Luke McPharlin, Roger Hayden
C: Anthony Morabito, David Mundy, Paul Hasleby
HF: Michael Johnson, Matthew Pavlich, Stephen Hill
F: Des Headland, Chris Mayne, Hayden Ballantyne
Foll: Aaron Sandilands, Michael Barlow, Paul Duffield
I/C (from): Matthew de Boer, Ryan Crowley, Dylan Roberton, Steven Dodd, Alex Silvagni, Clancee Pearce, Rhys Palmer

In: Palmer, Pearce, Roberton, Tarrant
Out: Nick Suban (ankle)

New: Dylan Roberton (Dandenong)

So who do we think it will be. Maybe Eddy, he has been emergency all the year and can play up forward.

I think Stanley as there is no McEvoy and RL will not two experienced ruckman to take on Sandilands and co.

Saint Bev wrote:So who do we think it will be. Maybe Eddy, he has been emergency all the year and can play up forward.
I think that Eddy is the least likely of the 7 on the bench.

Re: OFFICIAL: Saints Vs Fremantle Teams Round 4

Ralphy wrote:ST KILDA

I/C (from): David Armitage, Raphael Clarke, Robert Eddy, Brett Peake, Farren Ray, Rhys Stanley, Jack Steven
A fair bit of rising talent there....

saintDal

I think it will be Clark in. Rotating Clarke, Fisher and Gwilt through the forward line might be a good tactic as they can all play back and forward.

Nice to see Steven named even if he misses the cut.

thirty-seven!?

Saint Bev wrote:So who do we think it will be. Maybe Eddy, he has been emergency all the year and can play up forward.
I think that Eddy is the least likely of the 7 on the bench.
I think i say that every time he gets a game... haha...

But it'd be great to combat the loss of Roo by displaying even just one of our rising stars - and i don't mean just for the hell of it (only if deserved), but i know i would be coming to the game even more excited on Sunday if i knew Steven or Stanley were lining up!

Gee a good match up to watch will be Baker - Ballantyne

Ballantyne gives plenty of cheek and Baker does not take sh1t from anyone

Who do posters think CJ will match up on?

Duffield, Mundy or Barlow

Clarke for sure. Despite Stanley's athleticism and undoubted talent, I expect the safer bet to be laid and that means Raph to the back six and I'm guessing Fisher to CHF. At least to start. That combo opens up heaps of felxibility too.

Strong effort needed in the wake of Roo's departure, you'd reckon. Probably not the time for a punt on a kid. Different if it was Richmond maybe?

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

St Fidelius wrote:Gee a good match up to watch will be Baker - Ballantyne

Palmer?

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'
Milan Faletic

I think Clarke will be in for versatility.

Stanley is a forward.

Clarke can release BJ and even Fisher to go forward.

Big responsibility for Stanley without Kosi and Roo.

Anything is possible though.

Steven in for Mini?

sainta

So no-one thinks Blake will start at HF? lol Didn't he kick 3 in a quarter against the Hawks a couple of years ago?

He hasn't been the whipping boy for a few years now so can't really picture him outside of defence these days.

sainta wrote:So no-one thinks Blake will start at HF? lol Didn't he kick 3 in a quarter against the Hawks a couple of years ago?

Was in the ruck at the time...

Longwayfromhome

What has Clarke given the club that sways most on this site to pick him as the most likely in this week ?
Not much, IMO.
I seem to remember Clarke responsible for the first two goals to Geelong in last years GF. Leave him where he belongs. In the Two's.
An opportunity exists to inject some youth into our squad. Let's not make the mistake of going for something tried instead of something new.
remember, Saints footy isn't about who, it's about all doing their bit for this wonderful club.

Leave your ego's in the locker when you start and pick them up again when you retire
karnak

Raph with a bit of confidence is easily in our best 22. And with Fisher moving up forward we want to bring a tall into the backline, he ticks the boxes.

Sam Gilbert you are an EXCITEMENT MACHINE!

What has Clarke given the club that sways most on this site to pick him as the most likely in this week ?
Not much, IMO.
I seem to remember Clarke responsible for the first two goals to Geelong in last years GF. Leave him where he belongs. In the Two's.
An opportunity exists to inject some youth into our squad. Let's not make the mistake of going for something tried instead of something new.
remember, Saints footy isn't about who, it's about all doing their bit for this wonderful club.
So if Clarke is picked, do you think that the wool has been pulled over the coaches eyes?

If Clarke is picked he's the best available player - but go ahead bag a saints player and make your miserable contribution to the club (legend)

groupie1

If anyone read too much into what gets said on this forum, one would think we needed 46 players in the backline to 'release Goddard forward.'

First it was Fisher, then Ray, Gilbert, R Clarke, now Gwilt... Jesus F Christ Goddard has been released from permanent backline duties already.

Does anyone have an opinion that doesn't come straight out of the Herald Sun that week?

This whole 'release Goddard forward' business reminds me of the Max Hudghton 2008 nonsense. 'Geez this guy's good. Been around for a while and is now coming into his own.' bulls***. He's been around for a while and has been kicking arse all along.

If we gonna have a forum we should be more knowledgable than the monkeys who write our sports columns in the newspapers.

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga

groupie1 wrote:If anyone read too much into what gets said on this forum, one would think we needed 46 players in the backline to 'release Goddard forward.'

First it was Fisher, then Ray, Gilbert, R Clarke, now Gwilt... Jesus F Christ Goddard has been released from permanent backline duties already.

Does anyone have an opinion that doesn't come straight out of the Herald Sun that week?

This whole 'release Goddard forward' business reminds me of the Max Hudghton 2008 nonsense. 'Geez this guy's good. Been around for a while and is now coming into his own.' bulls***. He's been around for a while and has been kicking arse all along.

If we gonna have a forum we should be more knowledgable than the monkeys who write our sports columns in the newspapers.
Ha! Had this very convo with a mate of mine. I argued that Goddard has been playing 'released' for ages. His response was 'yeah the whole thing reeks of Free Shapelle'. It'll never happen because it doesn't need to happen.'

His metaphor doesn't really work if you think about it too much, but with a few under the belt at the time it seemed pretty funny...

groupie1

Selections for this week:
ST KILDA v FREMANTLE
St Kilda
B: James Gwilt - to release Goddard forward
Zac Dawson - to release Goddard forward
Sam Gilbert - to release Goddard forward
HB: Steven Baker - to release Goddard forward
Sam Fisher - to release Goddard forward
Brendon Goddard - to release Goddard forward
C: Leigh Montagna - to release Goddard forward
Clinton Jones - to release Goddard forward
Nick Dal Santo - to release Goddard forward
HF: Andrew McQualter - to release Goddard forward
Jason Blake - to release Goddard forward
Adam Schneider - to release Goddard forward
F: Jarryn Geary - to release Goddard forward
Michael Gardiner - to release Goddard forward
Stephen Milne - to release Goddard forward
Foll: Steven King - to release Goddard forward
Jason Gram - to release Goddard forward
Lenny Hayes - to release Goddard forward
I/C (from): David Armitage - to release Goddard forward
Raphael Clarke - to release Goddard forward
Robert Eddy - to release Goddard forward
Brett Peake - to release Goddard forward
Farren Ray - to release Goddard forward
Rhys Stanley - to release Goddard forward
Jack Steven - to release Goddard forward

St Fidelius wrote:Gee a good match up to watch will be Baker - Ballantyne

mundy, was very good against the cats

groupie1 wrote:Selections for this week:
ST KILDA v FREMANTLE
St Kilda
B: James Gwilt - to release Goddard forward
Zac Dawson - to release Goddard forward
Sam Gilbert - to release Goddard forward
HB: Steven Baker - to release Goddard forward
Sam Fisher - to release Goddard forward
Brendon Goddard - to release Goddard forward
C: Leigh Montagna - to release Goddard forward
Clinton Jones - to release Goddard forward
Nick Dal Santo - to release Goddard forward
HF: Andrew McQualter - to release Goddard forward
Jason Blake - to release Goddard forward
Adam Schneider - to release Goddard forward
F: Jarryn Geary - to release Goddard forward
Michael Gardiner - to release Goddard forward
Stephen Milne - to release Goddard forward
Foll: Steven King - to release Goddard forward
Jason Gram - to release Goddard forward
Lenny Hayes - to release Goddard forward
I/C (from): David Armitage - to release Goddard forward
Raphael Clarke - to release Goddard forward
Robert Eddy - to release Goddard forward
Brett Peake - to release Goddard forward
Farren Ray - to release Goddard forward
Rhys Stanley - to release Goddard forward
Jack Steven - to release Goddard forward
Maybe Goddard will play back :)

karnak

I'm looking forward to Roo coming back into the side so that we can release Goddard forward.

Sam Gilbert you are an EXCITEMENT MACHINE!

karnak wrote:I'm looking forward to Roo coming back into the side so that we can release Goddard forward.
If we can go all the way this year there'll be a lot of releasing going on! :lol: :lol: :lol:

groupie1

karnak wrote:I'm looking forward to Roo coming back into the side so that we can release Goddard forward.
ha ha ha... f****** brilliant comedy

Longwayfromhome

Hey PJ. If Clarke is the best available player then we are in a bit of strife.
If you don't like what I have put forward then boo hoo on you. Suck it in big fellow, we don' all have to be on the same tram.

Leave your ego's in the locker when you start and pick them up again when you retire