Round 3 team. Bring out the Minch.

Re: Round 3 team. Bring out the Minch.

Roberton had his calf strapped last week, and didn't look 100% in his movement late in the game. If there is a late change, it's likely to be a tall.

The good thing about Minchington is that he has excellent foot skills, and we can never have enough of that

tony74 wrote:
The_President wrote:Tony74 can you shed some light on the acres situation.

He mustn't be doing something In the team rules
Failed to execute one of the teams non negotiables. Twice.
Luckily no-one failed those last week against the dogs... We were superb.

Effort was fine last week. Ball use was atrocious. That's what killed us

The_President

tony74 wrote:

Can you expand on what it is?

If you look too far into it, you could start to think that maybe Acres has an attitude/ego issue.. Not that I'm ready too much into it

The_President

A lot is resting on Hickey and the mids this week.
They are going small down back after dropping Frost.

Brown and Reid will take Riewoldt and Bruce you'd assume.. That leaves Langdon, Williams and Co to deal with Paddy.

Get it in quick, get it in high and we're a chance

Some interesting named positions. Billings on the HF - he's been doing a lot of work on the wings. Maybe they want him to hit the scoreboard after our measly 5 goals last week. Savage on the wing - he seems to not quite know what to do when running it out of the backline. Gilbo half-back - he's struggled to be a good consistent onballer and we might need his go go gadget arms down back on Pies talls.

In Roberton's video interview on saints.com post match v the Bulldogs. He mentioned that his ankle (I think it was) caused him a problem during and after the PA game. In the interview he said he would see how it came up after the match (Bullies game), but was certain it would be ok.
Maybe he is again playing 'sore' with that foot/leg - could be a reason his form to date hasn't been quite up to last seasons standard ? And remember he didn't have a full pre-season and he mentions he only had the one NAB cup game, and feels he is just getting up to full fitness.

Maybe, he is the reason why Tom Lee has been named as emergency last week and for this weekend??
Maybe, Roberton, because of his niggle is being assessed after his final training run to see how he pulls up. Tom Lee would appear the logical one to take his place IMHO............. just surmising this because of what Roberton said in that interview.

The_President

loris wrote:In Roberton's video interview on saints.com post match v the Bulldogs. He mentioned that his ankle (I think it was) caused him a problem during and after the PA game. In the interview he said he would see how it came up after the match (Bullies game), but was certain it would be ok.
Maybe he is again playing 'sore' with that foot/leg - could be a reason his form to date hasn't been quite up to last seasons standard ? And remember he didn't have a full pre-season and he mentions he only had the one NAB cup game, and feels he is just getting up to full fitness.

Maybe, he is the reason why Tom Lee has been named as emergency last week and for this weekend??
Maybe, Roberton, because of his niggle is being assessed after his final training run to see how he pulls up. Tom Lee would appear the logical one to take his place IMHO............. just surmising this because of what Roberton said in that interview.
I was sitting above the benches on the weekend.

Robbo came off and got plenty of massage and stretching on his glute/high hammy

Quite concerned, after last weeks soft tackling effort I thought we might have gone a big bigger in the mid with acres to actually have a tackle affect the disposal.
I think there are a few mid tier players that would be fired up to perform this week with the likes of lee and acres knocking. Surely Richo can only ignore them for so long before they question their future here. If our mids don't get on top you can pencil in our back line playing Cloke into form given the size advantage.

Geary needs to lock down Fasolo.

That is his only job.

Do that and we are on the way.

Griggsy wrote:Quite concerned, after last weeks soft tackling effort I thought we might have gone a big bigger in the mid with acres to actually have a tackle affect the disposal.
I think there are a few mid tier players that would be fired up to perform this week with the likes of lee and acres knocking. Surely Richo can only ignore them for so long before they question their future here. If our mids don't get on top you can pencil in our back line playing Cloke into form given the size advantage.
Put him on the Nepean Hwy and Minch will tackle the cars

I'm starting to raise my eyebrows more and more every-time the teams are announced...

I don't like it

bigred wrote:
mad saint guy wrote:I'm really hoping Minch gets a crack at playing as an inside mid as well as stints in the forward line. He dominates clearances in the VFL and if he gets his hands on the footy 20+ times that will do wonders for his confidence.
this.
Coach will demand Minch only plays in the fwd 50 to avoid being shown up.

tony74 wrote:

deleted. only because i like dragit.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Thu 07 Apr 2016 10:53pm, edited 2 times in total.

Con that's rough mate - delete.

This s*** isn't Tony's fault.

tony74 wrote:

Disgraceful post

maverick wrote:
tony74 wrote:

Disgraceful post
delete.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Thu 07 Apr 2016 11:22pm, edited 1 time in total.

maverick wrote:
tony74 wrote:

Disgraceful post
By tone? agree. We have a clique of older players and coaching staff excusing their own pathetic performances and publicly slagging off 20yo kids.
You are the disgrace con. No doubt about it.

satchmo wrote:
maverick wrote:
tony74 wrote:

Disgraceful post
By tone? agree. We have a clique of older players and coaching staff excusing their own pathetic performances and publicly slagging off 20yo kids.
You are the disgrace con. No doubt about it.
You don't think 'disgrace' is a tad of an exaggeration?

"We have a clique of older players and coaching staff excusing their own pathetic performances and publicly slagging off 20yo kids."

There's the exaggeration.

We got belted and only made one change, Pies win a thriller and stillmake 4 changes...

I'd rather see Membery, Acres or Lee in this team to increase our size and strength. Glad to see Minch get his chance, pity Geesham didn't grab his opportunity...but I still reckon he'll be good.

Personally, I'd prefer to see Acres ahead of Webster.

We really need Hickey to get some control this week. Thinking 70% of his Port Adelaide game. We really need him to own Grundy around the ground.

I've been talking up Minch for a couple of weeks because I really think he has a game that is good enough to be a very good player.

He is good on the burst outside while still being able to win his own in tight. He has the body to run through tackles and his disposal is sound. I am not expecting him to be a superstar but he is most definitely dangerous around goal and really adds some FLEXIBILITY to our rotations.

The word around here was that they wanted him to get his tank sorted, if that is true then clearly the goal is to get him into the midfield.

I have real hopes for this kid. He could be an absolute beauty.

Just my 2 cents. This is most definitely a winnable game.

I hope I am wrong but I just do not see that bringing in a 179cm player who has been selected just 10 times at AFL level since debut in 2013 is going to impact - even allowing for the number of possessions in VFL Practice games over the last 2 weeks.

IF he is such a champion how come he has not cemented his position since debut in 2013?

The reputation he carries on here just does not sit with me - and that includes his performances at AFL level where, from memory, he kicked a couple of early goals in one match and was then negated having no further impact - then dropped, again.

In my view, the final roll of the dice.

Not that he is any orphan when you have Templeton, Savage, Ross, Lee, Geary, Delaney, Curren, Membrey, Webster, Murdoch, Wright, Saunders, Shenton, Sinclair and Weller on the List.

And before you "hammer" on Ross, he just can not run - so he is purely poor insurance for Dunstan and Acres.

Goose is king wrote:Glad a good ball user comes in. I agree Bluthy I'm conserved about us playing Cloke back into form like last year.
I hope we arent playing Fisher this year with the view of him playing 22 games. I would hope he is only around so Goddard doesn't have to play all 22 games. Why haven't we given Goddard a chance to take a scalp (even an out of form one)
Because Hugh is nowhere near up to it at the moment.
He will be a great player, just not ready yet!