St. Kilda v Collingwood first final - could u imagine??

johnpeterbudgefanclub

St. Kilda v Collingwood first final - could u imagine??

Seriously though.

The atmosphere and the like, playing at the 'G', would make this one hell of a match. A match that either u guys or us playing an interstate rival or other Melbourne based team in the finals could not rival.

Would be a promotor's and AFL (:evil: ) dream.

Agree and thoughts?

We would SMASH the absolute s*** out of them.

SaintBot

nothing would make me happier than to knock off the pies in a final...however nothing could make me more depressed than to lose to them in a final

i would definately not argue with this to be the case

brown-coat

Spinner wrote:We would SMASH the absolute s*** out of them.
How many teams have we smashed this year?

mcadam05

Re: St. Kilda v Collingwood first final - could u imagine??

johnpeterbudgefanclub wrote:Seriously though.

The atmosphere and the like, playing at the 'G', would make this one hell of a match. A match that either u guys or us playing an interstate rival or other Melbourne based team in the finals could not rival.

Would be a promotor's and AFL (:evil: ) dream.

Agree and thoughts?
Maybe we will play a final in the daylight now that would be nice 8-)

St.Kenny

We are just playin catch up footy. Gettin over run in the last quarters consistently if you havent noticed. Dont deserve to be there and frankly would be just as happy to start plannin for '08 after next Sat thsn fall in and embaress ourselves again. We're runnin on 1 piston

My behaviour is considered acceptable in some far off remote exotic countries...

Can't agree there Kenny, the last fortnight has shown glimpses of how well we can play.
Losing Attard & having Bally & X on one leg cost us any chance of running the game out, yet we still had a 10 minute period of domination in the last quarter.
Fiora kicks that goal, Vossy doesn't give away the 50 & we could have just about held them out.

St.Kenny wrote:We are just playin catch up footy. Gettin over run in the last quarters consistently if you havent noticed. Dont deserve to be there and frankly would be just as happy to start plannin for '08 after next Sat thsn fall in and embaress ourselves again. We're runnin on 1 piston
4 weeks ago I would have agreed with you even if my heart said NO.

We were losing to teams that we had on toast due to lack of effort.

We are still losing the last quarters, albeit by smaller amounts but not due to effort other than 5-10minutes. We ahve got to learn how to keep players on the park. We seemed to blessed (not) with this gift every year and generally just before finals time.

Once again Clarke corky), Attard (knee) fell short on the day strestching the midfield exchange and freed up opposition player movement. Despite this we still were competitive against a very good (albeit also under injury cloud) team. The difference is that their injured did not occur on game day other than Hanson. Judd was the known exception like Ball.

To me, making the finals is all about how much money the club can make, as we will really struggle to make an impact due to our poor fitness base (unless our opponents get match day injuries).

Is revenue split 50/50 in finals, or does the home team take all the bounty??

IMO this is an important issue, given our drop in membership

Winmarvellous

To me, making the finals is all about how much money the club can make
To me it's about being alive one more week in September, and dreaming the impossible dream just that little bit longer. Then getting smacked in the mouth and told to snap out of it :shock:

saintspremiers wrote:To me, making the finals is all about how much money the club can make, as we will really struggle to make an impact due to our poor fitness base (unless our opponents get match day injuries).

All clubs split the finals money as far as I know.

saintspremiers wrote:To me, making the finals is all about how much money the club can make, as we will really struggle to make an impact due to our poor fitness base (unless our opponents get match day injuries).

cool, well go Pies then, SMASH the Crows and boost your percentage above North so we can play Collingwood in the Elim final!!!

Ive not looked to clsoe at the new ladder...Can the pies slip if they lose, or do they get to choose their potential rival the follwoing week by winning or losing??

Oh..and Id much rather the Tiges win today than lose by 100 points. Reckon theyd have been pumped for that game for weeks. All a bit anti-climactic for them (and I wouldnt be surprised if they "rest a few")

Basically if Collingwood lose, they play against the Crows again the following week, at the MCG.

Otiman wrote:Basically if Collingwood lose, they play against the Crows again the following week, at the MCG.
No they will have to play Sydney at the G.

brown-coat wrote:
Spinner wrote:We would SMASH the absolute s*** out of them.
How many teams have we smashed this year?
very good point!
what is the biggest win of the year anyone? dogs by 50 or 40 wasnt it?
but if we end up playing the pies, i cant see us smashing them, actually i cant see us winning!

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

channelling 1992. :lol:

SaintBot wrote:nothing would make me happier than to knock off the pies in a final...however nothing could make me more depressed than to lose to them in a final
Hey Saintbot, that sign in your sig, was that you and your 3 mates that made it and got it confiscated by the security?

To be honest I’ve been thinking of this game as a possible scenario, and imagine how funny it would be if we pumped the Pies and sent them packing after we were relying on them to get us into the finals in the first place. Oh well, you can only hope :lol:

We’ve been too up and down this season for my liking, but I’m tired of saying “next year we’ll have it all together!â€

Well, I thought I'd never ever have to do this.. but...

GOOO PIES.... KILL EM PIES, FREE ROCCA!! GO PIES. After Friday night though - it's back to I hate the Filth.

riccardo

Think of all those tight, tough battles in the 1960's, would be a great atmosphere.

wildgoose

Maybe we should dedicate the whole week to Collingwood. :lol:

And hack pup is out again, bowled without troubling the scorers.
SaintBot

Armoooo wrote:
SaintBot wrote:nothing would make me happier than to knock off the pies in a final...however nothing could make me more depressed than to lose to them in a final
Hey Saintbot, that sign in your sig, was that you and your 3 mates that made it and got it confiscated by the security?
yeh mate...you one of those guys sitting directly behind us?

woooosaints

i seen u on tv saintbot do you feel proud