Saints greatest give-aways?

We have read about the duds, how about players we foolishly lost? Roy Cazaly, Ian Stewart, Val Perovic and Russel Greene spring to mind. Any others?
Last edited by Furphy on Thu 29 Nov 2007 12:20pm, edited 2 times in total.

Well you're living up to your name there, Furphy.

Try the 'edit' button on your post to clean up any mistakes, or to add or remove anything should you so choose.

To add my own, Nicky Winmar lost to the Bulldogs. Such a sad way for a guy so much part of saints history to retire with another club.

The answer is the free pen I received in the mail a few weeks ago with my re-join package

Couldn't work it out at first, then the penny dropped - BEAUT!!

Well, the next day at work, let me tell you

First there was the parading, the gloating, the peacock-era... oh, how green they were... this was followed in the coming days by a measured campaign of lightning-fast subliminal redwhiteblack flashes that left colleagues dizzy and humming Oh When The Saints with a detached resigned look about them...

Tyler Durden would be proud... received a nasty letter from Epilepsy Australia regarding this, wrote back advising them to loosen up...

I've also taken to doing magic tricks with it whilst waiting at a red

It's nearly all broken up now, but by god what a sweet ride

Yes, the pen - the greatest give-away EVER

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo
Apu

Quixote wrote:The answer is the free pen I received in the mail a few weeks ago with my re-join package

First there was the parading, the gloating, the peacock-era... oh, how green they were... this was followed in the coming days by a measured campaign of lightning-fast subliminal redwhiteblack flashes that left colleagues dizzy and humming Oh When The Saints with a detached resigned look about them...

Tyler Durden would be proud... received a nasty letter from Epilepsy Australia regarding this, wrote back advising them to loosen up...

lol , post of the year!!! :D

Tim Allen - his second season, 1992, suggested he had a decade-long career ahead of him.

Should have been kept; lost his way after he left.

casey scorp

Dean Rice

Matty Lappin
Carl Ditterich
Gary Sidebottom
Joel Smith

evertonfc wrote:Tim Allen - his second season, 1992, suggested he had a decade-long career ahead of him.

Tim Allen I think used to brain freeze in the seniors.

in the magoos he could take soaring marks, kick it 60 metres, throw himself into packs and was real leadership material.

in the seniors it all dissapeared, missed 15 metre shots at goal, missed sitter marks.

I think today the coaching would be more professional with kids like that.

everyone saw his tremendous talent and after a stint with geelong and hawthorn he was done.

concur that anyone who used to rock up early and see tim allen dominate at CHF thought you beauty a star coming through.

anyone who saw Nathan Burke in the magoos probably thought who is this dudley do little.

nathan burke = superstar veteran of st kilda and one of the all time greats.
Tim Allen = coodabeen shoodabeen.

Dan Warna wrote:
evertonfc wrote:Tim Allen - his second season, 1992, suggested he had a decade-long career ahead of him.

Tim Allen I think used to brain freeze in the seniors.

in the magoos he could take soaring marks, kick it 60 metres, throw himself into packs and was real leadership material.

in the seniors it all dissapeared, missed 15 metre shots at goal, missed sitter marks.

I think today the coaching would be more professional with kids like that.

everyone saw his tremendous talent and after a stint with geelong and hawthorn he was done.

concur that anyone who used to rock up early and see tim allen dominate at CHF thought you beauty a star coming through.

anyone who saw Nathan Burke in the magoos probably thought who is this dudley do little.

nathan burke = superstar veteran of st kilda and one of the all time greats.
Tim Allen = coodabeen shoodabeen.
Agreed.

I guess Lockett, Spider and Big Bazza may be worth a mention?
The Wakelins may have been handy too

Suprised that Lockett didnt get a mention until the post above.

Craig O'Brien?

I know he wasn't the same player anymore, but it was a shame David Grant finished his career in Demon colours.

Quixote wrote:The answer is the free pen I received in the mail a few weeks ago with my re-join package

I reckon the Sainters lanyard is better, and the kid loves the tin box with the Saints logo on the lid, uses it as a pencil box. :roll:

Dean Rice = 2 GFs and a premiership medal
Wakelin 1 = 2 GFs with collingwood
Waken 2 = 1 premeriship and 2 prelims with Port
Craig Obrien = 50 goal forward offered 200k over 3 years by Sydney
Tony Lockett = GF with Sydney
Matty Lappin = GF with Carlton
Barry Hall = 2 GFs 1 premieship with Sydney
James begley = suffered personal issues and returned home before retiring.
Heath Black = mr porky pie teller

are recent give aways.

robbie muir

Ian Stewart
Val Perovic
Carl Ditterich
Glenn Elliott
Garry Sidebottom
Nicky Winmar
Tony Lockett
Barry Hall
Peter Everitt
Joel Smith
Matthew Lappin

sabras

supersaints wrote:The Wakelins may have been handy too
Needed them both for the prelim against the swans in 06!!!!

f****** watson!

CeilidhSaint

I am glad you brought up Heath Black - let's cut to the chase, he said the worst thing he ever did was come to us but he always seemed to do pretty well and apart from the Roo dust up (not uncommom at FC's) seemed reasonably friendly with the players.
The statement at the time was his WA g/f wanted to go home..he is a Victorian though.
Wazz the truth?
...and please, no legal threats about telling the truth, surely it can't be that bad can it.....?

TB 1 - The Brightest Light on the Darkest Night - we miss you.
Think Globally, Act Sainterly
I have Phil Narkle's helmet
CeilidhSaint

We also need to delineate here players who left of their own accord (eg Plugger) and those who we knew were no good or were past it but we weasled something out of.
Wayne Thornborrow to Richmond still makes me chuckle.
On te other hand, Russel Morris from Hawthorn was a very good import who became a Saints man, which is rare.
Hated Russel Greene going the other way before that though.

TB 1 - The Brightest Light on the Darkest Night - we miss you.
Think Globally, Act Sainterly
I have Phil Narkle's helmet
riccardo

CeilidhSaint wrote: The statement at the time was his WA g/f wanted to go home..he is a Victorian though.
Wazz the truth?
It was his wife, actually, and she was later quoted on radio saying that was untrue.

I never thought he was a nice guy - bit of a stand offish snob, actually.

Dunkley the Swans FB

Matthew Carr now has 158 games...only 28 with us...

We had Andrew Dunkley?
When?!

SaintBot

n1ck wrote:We had Andrew Dunkley?
When?!
made me curious

i found this
He believed he performed well in his early years, drawing on his rejection at St Kilda to inspire him, but he failed to do well enough to carve his name into the mind of Ron Barassi. The coach thought he was Darren Holmes, a strong key-position player who later returned to Lavington, before stepping down after the 1993 season.
http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2003/ ... 51205.html

Wow have no recollection of that at all...

n1ck wrote:We had Andrew Dunkley?
When?!
Played under 19's for us. We got rid of him and he played country footy and then was drafted the the swans.