Wayne Carey named football's greatest

wanker of all time, by the biggest wanking reporter of all time.

What a crock!

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/ ... 42,00.html

jill

Agree Mocca. Why do we Never hear Harvey's name in any of these discussions? Through no fault of his own the only things he hasn't won are an Anzac Day medal, the Coleman , Norm Smith and a premiership medal. Hopefully he can add 2 of these to his brilliant and consistant career this season.

To be fair, he hasnt released the list yet.

We dont know where he ranked Harves.

TimeToShineFellas

n1ck wrote:To be fair, he hasnt released the list yet.

We dont know where he ranked Harves.
Ranked 30th n1ck

Other Saints:-

6th - Tony Lockett
11th - Ian Stewart
23rd - Darrel Baldock
26th - Alex Jesaulenko (we'll claim him!)

TimeToShineFellas

TOP 10

1. Wayne Carey
2. Leigh Matthews
3. Ted Whitten
4. Gary Ablett
5. Jason Dunstall
6. Tony Lockett
7. John Nicholls
8. Graham "Polly" Farmer
9. Kevin Bartlett
10. Greg Williams

TimeToShineFellas wrote:TOP 10

1. Wayne Carey
2. Leigh Matthews
3. Ted Whitten
4. Gary Ablett
5. Jason Dunstall
6. Tony Lockett
7. John Nicholls
8. Graham "Polly" Farmer
9. Kevin Bartlett
10. Greg Williams
dunstall and carey better than lockett? gimme a break

dermie wrote:"Blokes like (Jason) Dunstall and (Tony) Lockett were supreme in their positions, but they were only there because they really couldn't play anywhere else," he said.
why would you play lockett anywhere else? remains the best and most awesome player i've seen by quite a bit
Last edited by bigcarl on Thu 06 Mar 2008 7:25am, edited 1 time in total.

TimeToShineFellas

bigcarl wrote:dunstall and carey better than lockett? gimme a break
Here is the rest of the list

11. Ian Stewart
12. Bill Hutchison
13. Dick Reynolds
14. Bob Skilton
15. Haydn Bunton
16. Peter Hudson
17. Simon Madden
18. Royce Hart
19. Michael Voss
20. James Hird
21. Gordon Coventry
22. John Coleman
23. Darrel Baldock
24. Malcolm Blight
25. Bruce Doull
26. Alex Jesaulenko
27. Syd Coventry
28. Jack Dyer
29. Ron Barassi
30. Robert Harvey
31. Kevin Murray
32. Barry Cable
33. Stephen Kernahan
34. Nathan Buckley
35. Stephen Silvagni
36. Bob Rose
37. Dick Lee
38. Bob Pratt
39. Peter Matera
40. David Dench
41. Doug Wade
42. Ben Cousins
43. Michael Tuck
44. Francis Bourke
45. Len Thompson
46. Glen Jakovich
47. Garry Wilson
48. Albert Collier
49. Wayne Schimmelbusch
50. Jack Mueller

There are other 'curious' selections besides the Saints ones we are highlighting.

Kevin Bartlett and Greg Williams rated higher than Bobby Skilton and Hayden Bunton?

In the end, it is just Sheahan's opinion.

BTW, to Dermott (Harvey is a sad case) Brereton, I seem to recall "only 1 position" Tony Lockett winning a game for Victoria against SA when moved into the RUCK.
Last edited by Mr Magic on Thu 06 Mar 2008 7:34am, edited 1 time in total.

this sort of crap is only written to create discussion and controversy. i'm guilty of falling for it ... again

but like most of us bigcarl we love to see our players rated high by people other than sainters.

Good to see he has Harves above Buckley

Duggie

Sheahan has always and always will be a complete fraud.
He has always worshipped Carey.
The joke on Sheahan is that there are about a dozen names in that full list who he would never have seen play! :lol:

A Saint Forever!

I've got the same top three as Sheahan - in exactly the same order.

Carey is the greatest player of all time; I don't like the fact that scandal and what not has tarnished his memory.

He dominated for a decade; his eight year period from 1993-2000 was unlike anything the game has seen.

He is the only player I've 'feared' could kill us.

I'm happy with the rankings afforded to Lockett and Harvey - I just cannot believe Ablett was ranked at #4, and just as disappointed Dunstall cracked it at #5.

Also, Greg Williams ahead of Ian Stewart? Questionable.

But it's all just opinion. And Moccha, to call a bloke a wanker - on the basis of his opinion on football - is incredibly immature.

evertonfc wrote:And Moccha, to call a bloke a wanker - on the basis of his opinion on football - is incredibly immature.
I think Mike has earnt that title through many many years of stupid prejudiced comments.
I have no doubt he is biaised against us.

Dunstall ahead of Lockett :shock: :shock:

Dunstall ahead of Hudson :shock:

Whoops, there I go, sucked in by the comments of a Wanker !

saintbrat wrote:but like most of us bigcarl we love to see our players rated high by people other than sainters.

Good to see he has Harves above Buckley
I agree.... Buckley is always talked up, along with Hird and Voss, but he is the one i had the most question marks on... Dont mind seeing Hird and Voss ahead of Harvs, premiership medals go a long way, but Harvs ahead of Bucks is spot on...

Lockett was a far far superior player to Dunstall, but again, premiership medals may have played a part..

No Robbie Flower was a shock for me.. As was Cousins in the list..

Enrico_Misso wrote:I have no doubt he is biaised against us.
Then how to do you explain the glut of positivity he heaps on us for four years (2003-2006?)

Fair dinkum, I reckon Mike's been extremely kind - borderline soft - on St Kilda.

I disagree that Dunstall and Ablett should be rated ahead of Lockett, but that's my opinion. So I disagree with Mike...so effin what? Doesn't make he or I a wanker.

People need to chill out a bit. An opinion article, unless it's written by the increasingly desperate Patrick Smith, isn't really cause to attack someone's character. But that's the beauty of the Internet and anonymity - everyone is desperate to be the first behind the grassy knoll.

Mike largely gives us a great run. And even when he does criticise us, what do you want him to do? Pretend that finishing 9th is a great result?

In the words of Barks....FAIR DINKUM....

leigh matthews far and away superior to Carey.

in footballing ability, goal kicking, field play, and pretty sure leigh would kill carey in a fight, which shagging carey's missus.

I'm, just glad he didn't put Hird in the top 10 like Scotty Palmer did

Collingwood supporters are gonna be filthy Buckley is after Voss, Hird and Harvey, they were spewing when Scotty Palmer didn't rate Collingwood players 1, 2 and 3 (fair dinkum)

Dunstall better than Lockett - dreaming

The_Dud wrote:I'm, just glad he didn't put Hird in the top 10 like Scotty Palmer did

Collingwood supporters are gonna be filthy Buckley is after Voss, Hird and Harvey, they were spewing when Scotty Palmer didn't rate Collingwood players 1, 2 and 3 (fair dinkum)

Dunstall better than Lockett - dreaming
Palmers was a joke... after i scanned through and saw Judd in there it lost all credibility.. that guy should stick to his punchlines instead of undertakng an analysis..

geez a fair amount of talent in there.

very hard to pick players you haven't seen, on reputation.

I mean how do dictate the worth of keith Miller who played for victoria, and NSW, could and did play anywhere on the field he wanted to, and thrash his opponent, kick a bag of goals and run back into defence and take game saviing marks?

and the guy played footy fun when he felt like it and spanked the opposition generally, if some lady hadn't kept him up all night, or the races weren't on the next day, or he wasn't playing for victoria or australia in the cricket or he didn't have to bomb berlin, or there wasn't a particularly fun game of baccarat on in the city....

still from the players i've seen, leigh Matthews clearly the best by a long shot, Michael Voss close behind as dominant players.

perhaps Carey would be the best CHF of the 90s, but I dont think he was that far ahead of brereton, kernahan and loewe, although carey played in two premierships and loewe in only one GF.

Carey also used to switch in and out of FF with longmire, but I concur with brereton that Carey was often well held by quality defenders, regularly.

Perhaps Sheahan heard that Carey was compiling a list of best ever footy reporters?

No other logical reason for Carey to be at the top of that list.

riccardo

GrumpyOne wrote:Perhaps Sheahan heard that Carey was compiling a list of best ever footy reporters?

No other logical reason for Carey to be at the top of that list.
Sheehan is well documented to be infatuated with Carey, will never say a cross word about him and clearly loves him to bits.

But its just his opinion, that fact that inferior players are listed above Harvey just because he isn't media savvy or in love with himself (a la Hird, Voss) proves Sheehan, and other hacks, only love those who love themselves.

Jockovich in top 50?

i wouldnt even find a spot for him in the current StKilda list

It's a damn hard job coming up with a list like that, particularly when you cannot know every player in every era.

Here's my Top 20 going from what I have heard and what I have seen.

1. Gary Ablett
2. Leigh Matthews
3. Wayne Carey
4. Ted Whitten
5. Tony Lockett
6. John Nicholls
7. Ian Stewart
8. Robert Harvey
9. Simon Madden
10. Royce Hart
11. Peter Hudson
12. James Hird
13. Gordon Coventry
14. Darrel Baldock
15. Michael Voss
16. John Coleman
17. Dick Reynolds
18. Hayden Bunton
19. Bobby Skilton
20. Greg Williams

Jason Dunstall doesn't make my top 20, neither does Nathan Buckley. Dermott Brereton was close as I always admired his play. Others like Len Thompson, Robert Flower, Chris Judd....close

Ben Cousins in Top 50 of all time? Gun player, but not for me. Michael Tuck was also lucky. He had longevity, but he was a good ordinary player for mine.

John Murphy never gets a mention in these things and he was a gun.