It's not Lyon's fault!!

NeXuss

It's not Lyon's fault!!

The person that changed our course and prevented us from winning, or at least having 3 more years as a genuine contender, is Rod Butthead. As I have said many times before, only to be banned from here, Butthead should never have been allowed to sack Grant Thomas. The sacking of GT destroyed the fabric of our club.

Grant Thomas was the right person for the job. The players respected him and more importantly, St.kilda football club was respected by all the other teams. Don't worry about what the media and people in generall were saying, they were saying those things because they feared that we were going to win the flag.

The only thing that stopped us were injuries. That was the only area that GT failed in. If he had've convinced BUTTHEAD to spend more money we would've won the 2005 premiership and possiby the 2006 flag as well.

Yes GT was good at injury management. Heard him talking on Saturday about Essendon's current spate of soft tissue injuries with his advice being to adopt some of GT's trainng methods :shock: :shock:

I am sure that Knights will be rushing to take up that advice.

Re: It's not Lyon's fault!!

NeXuss wrote:The person that changed our course and prevented us from winning, or at least having 3 more years as a genuine contender, is Rod Butthead. As I have said many times before, only to be banned from here, Butthead should never have been allowed to sack Grant Thomas. The sacking of GT destroyed the fabric of our club.

Grant Thomas was the right person for the job. The players respected him and more importantly, St.kilda football club was respected by all the other teams. Don't worry about what the media and people in generall were saying, they were saying those things because they feared that we were going to win the flag.

The only thing that stopped us were injuries. That was the only area that GT failed in. If he had've convinced BUTTHEAD to spend more money we would've won the 2005 premiership and possiby the 2006 flag as well.

Yawn.

NeXuss wrote: The only thing that stopped us were injuries. That was the only area that GT failed in.
Ever bothered to take a look at our recruiting under Thomas numbnuts?

pfft.................I thought you were going to follow the bombers :roll:

You are a fair dinkum bone monkey!

plumtire

its not lyons fault

:!: of course its lyons fault :!: He picks the team and the gameplan he has the responsibility to inspire the players and get them up for battle
he cant hide behind injuries as an excuse he has had a full season to adjust to being head coach and he is not delivering anything that inspires confidence at the moment that is the truth :!:

NeXuss

I also forgot to mention that Andrew Dimwit robbed us of playing in the 2004 Grand Final. He should introduce a law that says anyone running onto the field of play will be fined $10,000.

The ground invasion after Gehrig's 100th goal changed the course of the first quarter against Port. We would have lead by 30 points but instead only lead by 5 points.

We should have played Brisbane in the Grand Final that year. That's what really annoys me when posters bag GT. If we had a little bit of good luck we could have won 3 flags but instead, we had a little bit of bad luck.
Last edited by NeXuss on Mon 14 Apr 2008 1:56pm, edited 1 time in total.

plumtire

its not lyons fault

:shock: whats a bone monkey? :!:

congorozides

Re: its not lyons fault

plumtire wrote::!: of course its lyons fault :!: He picks the team and the gameplan he has the responsibility to inspire the players and get them up for battle
he cant hide behind injuries as an excuse he has had a full season to adjust to being head coach and he is not delivering anything that inspires confidence at the moment that is the truth :!:
The only regular player under the age of 21 we have blooded in 5 years is Gilbert. END OF DEBATE. This is a very poor record and u will find it is the worst in the AFL.

whos at fault for that appalling record? everyone at the club should be ashamed of that. from recruitment to training staff to coaches etc etc etc. Just plain not good enough. Geelong have a very similar aged list to us but have still introduced selwood, tomahawk, gamble, stokes, blake, mackie in that time.....

everyone is to blame.

St.Kenny

Yeah ever bothered to consider our recruiting......forget where we were on the ladder....it was our recruiting that really matters. In fact stuff the premiership.....as long as we can win the award for the best recruiters I will be absolutely ecstatic.

My behaviour is considered acceptable in some far off remote exotic countries...

St.Kenny wrote:
Yeah ever bothered to consider our recruiting......forget where we were on the ladder....it was our recruiting that really matters. In fact stuff the premiership.....as long as we can win the award for the best recruiters I will be absolutely ecstatic.
IF you were being prosecuted for being accused of being a "know nothing, numbnutted, flaggetating flog", I'd say "your honour, I rest my case, find the defendant, guilty as charged"

FAIR DINKUM

the only thing butterss did wrong was not giving GT the arse sooner - is RL the coach to deliver us the flag ... i dont know time will tell but GT definatly wasnt the man to do it people forget ore start of the downward spiral was while GT was still coaching 2006 we were lucky to make the finals and we put up less then a wimper in them it would of served us better to have not made it

Grant Thomas has respect?

Not sure I agree with that statement. With his constant 'headlines' in the media, I'm pretty sure he's getting close to Aka-level laughing stock.

lol we lose 2 games and nexxuss is back.

should we turn it around and start winning, watch the cockroach dissapear back under the floorboards.

absolutely creaming himself with joy at our recent poor form.

can anyone remember anything nexxuss posted during the preseason useless cup? did he post druing the first 2 weeks?

I can't remember if he did, can you?

frikken cockroach.

you are a disgrace nexxuss, a leach, a cockroach etc.

as I've said before 99% of folks want st kilda to succeed, you sir are amont the 1% of posters who enjoy failure.

go join the french infantry they specialise in your sort of skill.

Little Dozer
Location: Forward Pocket, Outer side, Linton Street end or bay 38 Waverley

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:the only thing butterss did wrong was not giving GT the arse sooner - is RL the coach to deliver us the flag ... i dont know time will tell but GT definatly wasnt the man to do it people forget ore start of the downward spiral was while GT was still coaching 2006 we were lucky to make the finals and we put up less then a wimper in them it would of served us better to have not made it
I was glad Thomas was sacked but at least we played some good football under his coaching. Only injuries during the final against Melbourne stopped us from winning that game, it was a very hard loss to take.

Little Dozer wrote:
st_Trav_ofWA wrote:the only thing butterss did wrong was not giving GT the arse sooner - is RL the coach to deliver us the flag ... i dont know time will tell but GT definatly wasnt the man to do it people forget ore start of the downward spiral was while GT was still coaching 2006 we were lucky to make the finals and we put up less then a wimper in them it would of served us better to have not made it
I was glad Thomas was sacked but at least we played some good football under his coaching. Only injuries during the final against Melbourne stopped us from winning that game, it was a very hard loss to take.
the writing was on the wall well befor the melbourne final we have become stale we are over reliant on our stars and when they get beaten we have no one willing to step up in 2006 we had injurys to blame but the same problems existed and over reliance on our stars to get the job done we sat there year after year spouting "once we get hammil back" when as a team we should of been looking for a viable replacement for him . we lost Black for fiora and in effect lost a hard at it long kick for a soft as butter

Saintlyone

Oh I get it. RL hasnt even made the finals and he's a better coach than RL. I think just maybe some people here have a hiddedn agenda....but maybe i'm just drawing a long bow. .....Lead us on Barks, RL and co..... youre all doing a great job!!!!!

congorozides

its not RL or GT. The whole club is to blame.

last 5 years have been a disgrace. As i said 1 regular player under 21 has been blooded. That is a disgrace from the CEO to the boot studders.
Time to face facts. you cant win a preiership with an annual influx of QUALITY talent. and that requires training, recruiting, nurturing, building, teaching. everything. and we aint done it. in the last 5 years we hae ahd some abysmal failures. too many to list.

But can someone tell me the names of players that are no longer at the club that have been through in the past 5 years (m clarke, mcgough, brooks, watts etc etc etc)

people who reckon i am "panicking" and we are going to just come good have their heads in the sand and up their own asses.

we wont make the 8.

Here we go -bloody Grant Thomas appears again..an ex-coach of this club who couldn't get a champion team into a Grand Final -should have been chopped at the end of 2004 after that failure alone.
I still expect we will improve gradually and consolidate by mid season under RL, with some young guys getting blooded - we don't need to peak this early in the season.

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:
Little Dozer wrote:
the writing was on the wall well befor the melbourne final we have become stale we are over reliant on our stars and when they get beaten we have no one willing to step up in 2006 we had injurys to blame but the same problems existed and over reliance on our stars to get the job done we sat there year after year spouting "once we get hammil back" when as a team we should of been looking for a viable replacement for him . we lost Black for fiora and in effect lost a hard at it long kick for a soft as butter
Gee this seems all to familiar at the present! Has anything actually changed?

NeXuss

Gee this seems all to familiar at the present! Has anything actually changed?
Nothing has changed on this forum, but there has been a slight shift. There are about 65% of posters still wearing "ROSE-COLOURED-GLASSES", and 35% who can finally see clearly now.

At the end of RL's contract St.kilda should go crawling back to Thomas and re-hire him as Head Coach. That's the only chance we have of getting our club back on track. If we don't, we will spend the next 6 years out of the 8 and those million dollar losses will be back again.

Attention Dan.....nobody is hurting more than me and your constant abuse towards me shows how much your hurting as well.

GT as head coach, what do we need another failure? No thanks. Where's Westaway -is he still part of this club? I notice how prominant Cat president Costa was at Geelong when they had a big soul-search and turned around last year..he was up front, vocal and laid it down the line to supporters, players and the coach. I feel like this club is now run by a soul-less pack of wimps who don't want to stand on any toes.

spert wrote:should have been chopped at the end of 2004 after that failure alone.
Ahhh yes, there it is. The good old St.Kilda culture, alive and well!!

NeXuss wrote: The only thing that stopped us were injuries. That was the only area that GT failed in.

pfft.................I thought you were going to follow the bombers :roll:

You are a fair dinkum bone monkey!
I thought we had the best list in the comp in 2006? That was aoccring to you of course. It coached itself to the top 4. According to you, I think you even suggested your Grand Mother could have coached our list to the finals in 06.

Perhaps you should forward her number to Matthew Drain?

NeXuss

spert wrote:GT as head coach, what do we need another failure? No thanks. Where's Westaway -is he still part of this club? I notice how prominant Cat president Costa was at Geelong when they had a big soul-search and turned around last year..he was up front, vocal and laid it down the line to supporters, players and the coach. I feel like this club is now run by a soul-less pack of wimps who don't want to stand on any toes.
You call him a failure!!!! He got us to 2 prelims and an elimination final in consecutive years. At the time nobody admited it but now it is accepted by the wider football community that St.kilda did not win at least 1 flag because of the constant injury woes.

How is that a failure spert?

NeXuss wrote:
spert wrote:GT as head coach, what do we need another failure? No thanks. Where's Westaway -is he still part of this club? I notice how prominant Cat president Costa was at Geelong when they had a big soul-search and turned around last year..he was up front, vocal and laid it down the line to supporters, players and the coach. I feel like this club is now run by a soul-less pack of wimps who don't want to stand on any toes.
You call him a failure!!!! He got us to 2 prelims and an elimination final in consecutive years. At the time nobody admited it but now it is accepted by the wider football community that St.kilda did not win at least 1 flag because of the constant injury woes.

How is that a failure spert?

Doesn't matter. Sack first, ask questions later.

The St.Kilda way.