Fev - The Saint Supporter

Said today that the reason he was hugging the boys was cos he supported the Saints as a kid and that Harvey was his idol. Perhaps we really should go after him and "bring him home" !!

my les foote

Allegedly he can be seen cheering the players as they go back up the race at the end of the '97 Prelim.

Win it for HIM!

see if he was hirdy- the reverse would have been made of it- as Huddo said-

just because he went to a few other siants before he go to Harves

if the stars had aligned differantly maybe he could have been the replacement for G ? but

I have said a few times recently I felt Fev would be one player who would go back to barracking equaly or even more for the team he barracked for as a kid rather than the team he played for.
Gerard Healey is the other that does this.

mick13

I posted this on the Carlton board a couple days ago. Looks like he read my post. :P
Fev barracked for the Saints as a kid, that may have something to do with it. He probly grew up idolising Harves, maybe Max...but I really doubt Milney. :P

I reckon it's fine, I think it's just cos it's Fev. If any other player did it there wouldn't be such a big fuss would there?p

saintbrat wrote:see if he was hirdy- the reverse would have been made of it- as Huddo said-

just because he went to a few other siants before he go to Harves

if the stars had aligned differantly maybe he could have been the replacement for G ? but

I have said a few times recently I felt Fev would be one player who would go back to barracking equaly or even more for the team he barracked for as a kid rather than the team he played for.
Gerard Healey is the other that does this.
Gerard has a soft spot for the Saints, who he barracked for as a kid, but I think his loyalties are
Swans
Demons
Saints
in that order.

The irony is that in football, it's quite acceptable to 'support' another team and 'play' for that team.

At Everton, everyone knows Leon Osman is a Liverpool supporter. It's just kind of accepted that's how it is. Gary Ablett, Phil Jevons, Mike Newell, Peter Reid and Dave Watson were all Liverpool fans.

Unfortunately, Liverpool has completely plundered Everton's supporter ranks far worse. Jamie Carragher, Robbie Fowler, Steve McMahon, Steve McManaman, Michael Owen, Ian Rush, David Thompson, Tony Warner and Stephen Wright are all Everton fans. :x

Other notable examples include Man Utd's Paul Scholes, who still attends Oldham games.

Even the original muppet himself, Wayne Rooney, says he'd like to come back to Everton one day.

Ironically, it's quite acceptable in football. People accept that loyalty isn't transferable; it doesn't follow paycheques or whatever else. If you're passionate about a club that's it, no matter who you play for.

Of course, then there's a whole generation of 'professionals' who don't really care for clubs, just for earning a wage from the game.

There's heaps of them around, but I've got a feeling that Fevola is a mad keen St Kilda supporter, and he can't shake it.

I reckon he's a bit like Wayne Harmes, who admits he couldn't shake his love for Richmond:
http://www.theage.com.au/news/sport/chi ... 54491.html

WAYNE Harmes is hardly your regular former league star given he now admits during his 169-game Carlton career he remained a Richmond supporter, that despite winning three premierships with the Blues "I was an employee of the Carlton Football Club and that's all".

Despite Harmes' dislike of what is happening to footy at the elite level he will keep a watchful eye on the MCG next Saturday when Carlton takes on Richmond. Will he be barracking for the Tigers? "Of course," said Harmes. "Richmond is my team. In fact as a kid I despised the Blues. Funny how things turned out isn't it."
Jokes aside how it would be 'impossible to love Carlton' (whatever), I think some players would always play for one club and support another.

That's not to say they can't play very well for that club, or show some loyalty - or Brendan Goddard would at Carlton and Stephen Salopek would be with us.

If Fev would come over for 80k a year for the next three years I would welcome him with open arms.

Has so much talent that numbskull.

98% of Fev's problems are between the ears.

THe other 2% has proven to be between his legs lol....

Couldnt resist sorry.

mick13

Lol, imagine if one of you guys got drafted to Carlton, I wouldnt mind going to Collingwood or Essendon, but Carlton...

It would be hard, but I think the reality of drafting and playing footy would overwhelm your original support.

Im sure that when he retires he'll support the Saints again though.

I reckon the big brewhah about Fev hugging our players is a load of crap. I mean Buckley should get a grip. He is the one that started all of this. What does is say about mankind if you can't show some sportsmanship.

And Ratten should also get a grip to come out and publicly have a crack at him about it also.

What a load of CRAP this whole story has been. You know Fev cops a bit but what he did with the Saints players after the game shows the man does have some integrity and real human spirit.

Good on ya Fev anyway but unfortunately because of the Knob that is Buckley this type of good sportsmanship will have now been stamped out of the game.

Cairnsman wrote:I reckon the big brewhah about Fev hugging our players is a load of crap. I mean Buckley should get a grip. He is the one that started all of this. What does is say about mankind if you can't show some sportsmanship.

And Ratten should also get a grip to come out and publicly have a crack at him about it also.

What a load of CRAP this whole story has been. You know Fev cops a bit but what he did with the Saints players after the game shows the man does have some integrity and real human spirit.

Good on ya Fev anyway but unfortunately because of the Knob that is Buckley this type of good sportsmanship will have now been stamped out of the game.
He shouldnt be hugging anyone after losing an important game of footy. Buckley as right. He should be hurting and a handshake should do. If one our players was to do it Saturday I would be very upset.

marksnsparks

If one our players was to do it Saturday I would be very upset.[/quote]

Fair go, we haven't lost yet!!

Hopefully, our players are dry rooting each other after the siren after a massive win.

Keep the faith

marksnsparks wrote:If one our players was to do it Saturday I would be very upset.

Fair go, we haven't lost yet!!

Hopefully, our players are dry rooting each other after the siren after a massive win.

Keep the faith[/quote]

cue dry rooting the television in celebration

you guys don't read much do you...or get around....it's common knowledge....or i thought it was....that fev was a member of our cheer squad....there has been plenty of footage shown over the years verifying that ffs...... :roll: :roll: :roll:

i think any team or coach would take fev.

the issue as always is how you get him and what you have to give up.

but i dont think his ability as a player is questioned.

Cairnsman wrote:I reckon the big brewhah about Fev hugging our players is a load of crap. I mean Buckley should get a grip. He is the one that started all of this. What does is say about mankind if you can't show some sportsmanship.

He shouldnt be hugging anyone after losing an important game of footy. Buckley as right. He should be hurting and a handshake should do. If one our players was to do it Saturday I would be very upset.
As ususal Buckley was just Big Noting himself, always has, always will. It took him a long time to work out how to get his peers to like him let alone respect him. Thats' why he has always been affectionately known as FIGJAM. It took a lot of work on behalf of Malthouse and the Collingwood football club to turn him into a likeable character. Even then it was only by 21 other players in the team and the blinded Collingwood supporters. Without the full time guidance he used to have by the aforementioned he will no longer be able to maintain the whole team ethos so how the f*** can his comments mean anything else other than, look at me. For this reason he will never be a good coach.

Bring back sportsmanship!

bozza1980

I really don't see the big deal.

Different people react differently.

You don't have to act like a spoilt child, ala Buckley when he was awarded the Norm Smith Medal in 2002, to be hurting after losing a big match.

The other point is that he socialises with quite a few of the St Kilda boys, why, after the match is run and won should he treat them any differently to a Wednesday afternoon??

bozza1980

Gerard has a soft spot for the Saints, who he barracked for as a kid, but I think his loyalties are
Swans
Demons
Saints
in that order.
I don't know the man but when he talks about St Kilda, I get the feeling that he his a Saints fan.

I don't quite get the same feeling when he talks about the other two.

That said, I must say I've never listened to him on AW, i'm basing it solely on "On the Couch", his footy comentary and his articles in the Hun.

bozza1980 wrote:
Swans
Demons
Saints
in that order.
I don't know the man but when he talks about St Kilda, I get the feeling that he his a Saints fan.

I don't quite get the same feeling when he talks about the other two.

That said, I must say I've never listened to him on AW, i'm basing it solely on "On the Couch", his footy comentary and his articles in the Hun.
He is a strong StKilda man - he's dad was our Social Club President for years : Des Healy.

I reckon it's StKilda - then Melb and then the Swans actually.

yep, when he writes negative things in the paper regarding the saints, you can almost read its tearing him up, and when he writes positive things, therre is almost joy. Sort of the reverse of phatpryck smyth.

I watch his tips on St Kilda closely usually, as he would seem more geniune than most.

As for Fev, closer to the end of his career than the start.

If there was a gun out there worth targetting, it would be Kerr, 10 years left in kerr, only a couple left in the f.ebola, both would cost about the same to trade in though, given st kilda's probable predicted position in the ladder.

F.ebola is one of the best forwards in teh competition, carlton would be willing to let go of him as they trade in 10 year players.

Kerr is in him early to mid 20s.

Kerr is 25, he'd be 26 by the time he was starting his contract.

He's been recorded talking to dealers, been busted for forging prescriptions and recently has developed a habit of missing games through suspension and soft tissue injuries.

If he fell in our lap I'd look at him but he's a highly risky prospect for the price you'd have to pay.

JeffDunne wrote:Kerr is 25, he'd be 26 by the time he was starting his contract.

He's been recorded talking to dealers, been busted for forging prescriptions and recently has developed a habit of missing games through suspension and soft tissue injuries.

If he fell in our lap I'd look at him but he's a highly risky prospect for the price you'd have to pay.
still, if we are going to target a gun, kerr definately has more to offer than cousins or f.ebola.

evertonfc wrote:The irony is that in football, it's quite acceptable to 'support' another team and 'play' for that team.

At Everton, everyone knows Leon Osman is a Liverpool supporter. It's just kind of accepted that's how it is. Gary Ablett, Phil Jevons, Mike Newell, Peter Reid and Dave Watson were all Liverpool fans.

Unfortunately, Liverpool has completely plundered Everton's supporter ranks far worse. Jamie Carragher, Robbie Fowler, Steve McMahon, Steve McManaman, Michael Owen, Ian Rush, David Thompson, Tony Warner and Stephen Wright are all Everton fans. :x

Other notable examples include Man Utd's Paul Scholes, who still attends Oldham games.

Even the original muppet himself, Wayne Rooney, says he'd like to come back to Everton one day.

Ironically, it's quite acceptable in football. People accept that loyalty isn't transferable; it doesn't follow paycheques or whatever else. If you're passionate about a club that's it, no matter who you play for.

Of course, then there's a whole generation of 'professionals' who don't really care for clubs, just for earning a wage from the game.

There's heaps of them around, but I've got a feeling that Fevola is a mad keen St Kilda supporter, and he can't shake it.

I reckon he's a bit like Wayne Harmes, who admits he couldn't shake his love for Richmond:
http://www.theage.com.au/news/sport/chi ... 54491.html

WAYNE Harmes is hardly your regular former league star given he now admits during his 169-game Carlton career he remained a Richmond supporter, that despite winning three premierships with the Blues "I was an employee of the Carlton Football Club and that's all".

Despite Harmes' dislike of what is happening to footy at the elite level he will keep a watchful eye on the MCG next Saturday when Carlton takes on Richmond. Will he be barracking for the Tigers? "Of course," said Harmes. "Richmond is my team. In fact as a kid I despised the Blues. Funny how things turned out isn't it."
Jokes aside how it would be 'impossible to love Carlton' (whatever), I think some players would always play for one club and support another.

That's not to say they can't play very well for that club, or show some loyalty - or Brendan Goddard would at Carlton and Stephen Salopek would be with us.

are you sure about owen and carragher?

I swear Gerrard says in his book that they grew up as reds before their days in the hunior development system, but i may also have misread so don't quote me on it.

very interesting that some of liverpools all time greats have followed everton as youngsters.

no wonder everton are referred to by scousers as the "bitters" as you would be a little bitter if you had all that talent taken away from you by your cross town rivals.

Dan Warna wrote:
JeffDunne wrote:Kerr is 25, he'd be 26 by the time he was starting his contract.

still, if we are going to target a gun, kerr definately has more to offer than cousins or f.ebola.
Probably true but it's also the reason we'd never get him.

Dan Warna wrote:

cousins is coming to st kilda.....not sure how i feel about that.....

Dan Warna wrote:

cousins is coming to st kilda.....not sure how i feel about that.....
I personally reckon that Cousins is a safer bet than Kerr. At least Cousins has been exposed and put through the ringer a bit. Like MG who has now settled right down - but Kerr is just a ratbag. He may be only 24 - but he needs to actually get pinged like Cousins and MG have been before he starts to repent!!